Murder At The Country Club (Kitty Underhay 9) by Helena Dixon @NellDixon @bookouture #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: Murder At The Country Club by Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 17th June 2022

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

Kitty Underhay is playing doubles… with death.

Kitty Underhay is accompanying her fiancé, Matthew Bryant,and Bertie, his new cocker spaniel, on an outing to Torbay Country Club. However, the delightful day soon turns to disaster. Walking Bertie in the shaded grotto after an exhilarating archery demonstration, Kitty makes an unsporting discovery: the body of their host, Sir William Winspear, with an arrow in his back.

When the local inspector falls foul interviewing female witnesses, Kitty steps up to the mark. And she quickly discovers that Sir William had threatened one of the guests, dashing Russian dancer Ivan, who is dependent on him for patronage. When Kitty overhears a damning conversation between Ivan and his sister, the case seems clear. But the next day Ivan is disqualified as he is found face down in the pool…

The race is on for Kitty to find the real killer, but she must keep her head in the game if she is to outwit this cunning murderer. And when the final score comes in, will it be ‘killer: three, Kitty: zero’…?

A completely gripping, suspenseful and utterly cozy historical mystery! The perfect read for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B09S3QXFYDsocial 

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with a copy of Murder at the country club in exchange for an honest review.

I can’t quite believe that this is the ninth book in the Kitty Underhay series, I just can’t get enough of these books!

While each novel contains a standalone mystery, there is a secondary storyline concerning Kitty’s missing mother that runs through the books, so I would recommend reading previous books first for the best experience.

It’s so nice to catch up with Kitty, Matthew and their investigations. This time she’s looking into the death of Sir William Winspear. He was an odious man and there’s no shortage of suspects for the pair. When a second death occurs, just the day after, it throws their investigation into turmoil. Will this finally be the case that stumps Kitty and Matthew?

I always know when I pick up one of Helena Dixon’s books that I’m in for an entertaining story, full of untrustworthy suspects and a puzzling mystery to put my amateur detective skills to the test.

The question of the future for Kitty came up in this book, as she and Matthew are soon to be married and whether she will take over running the Dolphin hotel. This would mean giving up her investigations entirely, so let’s hope that doesn’t happen!  

Murder at the country club is a great addition to this already fantastic series, I can’t wait for the next book!

About The Author:

Helena Dixon splits her time between the Black Country and Devon. Married to the same man for over thirty five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, and a crazy cockapoo. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 and Love Story of the Year 2010 as Nell Dixon. She now writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime. Nell enjoys hearing from readers and you can read her news and contact her via her website at http://www.nelldixon.com

Social Media

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Instagram:  https://www.instagram.com/helenadixonuk 

Bookouture Email Sign Up: https://www.bookouture.com/helena-dixon

Author: Ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: