The Vanishing of Margaret Small by Neil Alexander @neilalexander_ @emblabooks #DebutNovel

Title: The Vanishing of Margaret Small by Neil Alexander

Publisher: Embla Books

Date Published: 16th November 2022

Genre: Literary fiction

Description:

Meet Margaret Small: 75, plain spoken and a Cilla Black super fan. Shortly after the death of her idol, Margaret begins receiving sums of money in the post, signed simply ‘C’. 

She is convinced it must be Cilla, but how can it be? To solve the mystery of her benefactor Margaret must go back in her memories almost 70 years, to the time when she was ‘vanished’ to a long-stay institution for children with learning disabilities. 

An absorbing and page-turning mystery with a dual timeline, The Vanishing of Margaret Small takes readers into a fascinating past, and introduces an unforgettable literary heroine. 

Perfect for fans of Libby Page and Gail Honeyman.

Review:

I want to thank Tracy Fenton and Embla books for my ARC copy of the vanishing of Margaret Small. All opinions are my own.

I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump, so I decided to read out of my usual genre and, having heard such good things about the vanishing of Margaret Small, I thought I’d give it a go.

The vanishing of Margaret Small is a wonderful written story told in dual timelines. The modern day part of the story focuses on Margaret’s life in 2015 just after the death of her idol Cilla Black and she receives letters from a mysterious C. This brings up a lot of memories from her past, which she had tried to block out, from when she was ‘vanished’ as a child and taken to live in St Mary’s, an institution for people with disabilities.

Margaret was a marvellous character who I honestly just wanted to give a big hug to. She was so well written and realistic. Every time I was reading, I felt like I could hear her voice, a bit like she was talking to me through the pages.

She has a tough old time through the story, just because she was born a bit different from the rest of us. I rooted for her to get her happy ending and I’m glad to say that she did, but not in the way I had imagined.

There are some tough subjects covered in the book, particularly around the way people with any form of disability were treated, but the author handles it with compassion and care.  

The Vanishing of Margaret Small is an absolute gem of a novel which I’d highly recommend if you enjoy a story with a lovable main character who drives the story. 

About The Author:

Much of the inspiration for Neil Alexander’s debut novel, ‘The Vanishing of Margaret Small’, came directly from the voices of people with a learning disability, and the incredibly moving first person accounts of living in long stay institutions, which he heard while working for the UK charity Mencap. Neil, who has a Masters degree in English Literature from the University of Kent at Canterbury, began his career working in health journalism. Originally from Northern Ireland, he now lives in the seaside town of Whitstable in Kent. He currently teaches English part-time and is working on his second novel. You can follow Neil on Twitter @neilalexander_ and Instagram @neilalexanderwriter

BBNYA Semi Finalist Spotlight: #TheHurtleOfHell by Simon Edge @simonjedge @BBNYA_Official #BBNYA2022 #BookBlogger

Hello lovelies! Today I’ll be shining a spotlight on The Hurtle of Hell by Simon Edge as part of the blog blitz organised by The Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award. 

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 50 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner. 

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Title: The Hurtle of Hell by Simon Edge

Publisher: Lightning Books

Length: 272 Pages

Genre: Commercial Fiction, LGBTQ+

Age Category: (New) Adult

Date Published: 1 November 2018

Description:

Gay, pleasure-seeking Stefano Cartwright is almost killed by a wave on a holiday beach. His journey up a tunnel of light convinces him that God exists after all, and he may need to change his ways if he is not to end up in hell.

When God happens to look down his celestial telescope and see Stefano, he is obliged to pay unprecedented attention to an obscure planet in a distant galaxy, and ends up on the greatest adventure of his multi-aeon existence.

The Hurtle of Hell combines a tender, human story of rejection and reconnection with an utterly original and often very funny theological thought-experiment. It is an entrancing fable that is both mischievous and big-hearted.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.ca/Hurtle-Hell-Atheist-Featuring-Confused-ebook/dp/B07G32YX5L (Canada)

https://www.amazon.com/Hurtle-Hell-Atheist-Featuring-Confused-ebook/dp/B07G32YX5L (USA)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Hurtle-Hell-Atheist-Featuring-Confused-ebook/dp/B07G32YX5L (UK)

Or add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/39305396-the-hurtle-of-hell 

About The Author:

Simon Edge was born in Chester and read philosophy at Cambridge University.

He was editor of the pioneering London paper Capital Gay before becoming a gossip columnist on the Evening Standard and then a feature writer and critic on the Daily Express. He has an MA in Creative Writing from City University, London, where he also taught literary criticism.

He is the author of five novels, all published by Lightning Books: The Hopkins Conundrum, longlisted for the Waverton Good Read Award, The Hurtle of Hell, A Right Royal Face-Off, Anyone for Edmund? and The End of the World is Flat.

He lives in Suffolk.

Twitter/Insta: @simonjedge

#BookReview The Linchpin Writer: Crafting Your Novel’s Key Moments by John Matthew Fox

Title: The Linchpin Writer: Crafting Your Novel’s Key Moments by John Matthew Fox

Date Published: 26th October 2022

Genre: Non Fiction/Writing Advice

Description:

In every novel there are pivotal places that can make or break a book. Write them well, and you’ll have your readers begging for a sequel. Write them poorly, and your book will get scathing reviews and sell only a handful of copies. These pivotal places are “linchpin moments,” and in this book you’ll learn how to nail these moments.

Based on real advice from editing hundreds of novels, John Matthew Fox guides writers through the process of creating a novel that soars in the reader’s imagination. After reading this book, you’ll be a better storyteller, a better self-editor, and a better writer.

In this book you’ll learn how to:

Flood your readers with strong emotions

Create memorable beginnings and endings

Describe characters for the first time

Make readers swoon in romantic scenes

Kill off characters (without enraging your readers)

Harness the element of surprise.

Review:

I want to thank John Matthew Fox for my ARC copy of The Linchpin Writer. All opinions are my own. 

Lately I’ve read a good deal of writing advice books to hone my craft as a writer, so I was interested in what The Linchpin Writer had to offer.

The Linchpin Writer is part memoir, part writing advice with helpful literary examples and exercises scattered throughout to help you along the way. If I were to compare it to another novel, it would be On Writing by Stephen King except this has a lot clearer writing advice in it.

There is also a uniqueness to the novel. I’ve not read another novel that handles such a broad amount of subjects, from why you want to be a writer to writing your first paragraph and first dialogue, even to making time for your writing.

This book really challenged me, in a good way, about the way I’d been writing, in particular when it came to character description, which is my current nemesis. I would also very much recommend this book if you are in the editing stages of your novel, rather than doing a first draft, to help strengthen the story.

As I was reading, I found there was a bit of a literary angle to the book. As a lover of crime fiction, many of the fiction examples used I’d either never read or even heard of. Also, when discussing steamy/romantic scenes, the tone came across as kind of snobby, but of course, that’s just my opinion.

The Linchpin Writer is a book full of practical writing advice, interesting anecdotes and great if you’re looking for help to sharpen up your writing skills.

About The Author:

John Matthew Fox is the author of “I Will Shout Your Name,” (Press 53) and has won the Shenandoah Prize for Fiction, the Third Coast Fiction Contest, and won 2nd place in the Chicago Tribune Nelson Algren Award. He provides courses and editing for writers at Bookfox, which has received mentions from The Guardian, Los Angeles Times, Publisher’s Weekly, and The Huffington Post, and earned an MFA from the University of Southern California and an MA from New York University.

#BookBlitz The Automobile Assassination (The Erdington Mysteries 2) by MJ Porter @coloursofunison @rararesources #BookPromo #HistoricalMystery

Hello lovelies! Today I’m hosting a Q&A with the lovely MJ Porter to celebrate the book birthday of their book The Automobile Assassination as part of the blog blitz organised by Rachel’s Random Resources: 

Title: The Automobile Assassination (The Erdington Mysteries 2) by MJ Porter

Date Published: 25th November 2021

Genre: Historical Mystery

Description:

A 1940s mystery

Erdington, September 1944

As events in Europe begin to turn in favour of the Allies, Chief Inspector Mason of Erdington Police Station is once more prevailed upon to solve a seemingly impossible case.

Called to the local mortuary where a man’s body lies, shockingly bent double and lacking any form of identification, Mason and O’Rourke find themselves at Castle Bromwich aerodrome seeking answers that seem out of reach to them. The men and women of the royal air force stationed there are their prime suspects. Or are they? Was the man a spy, killed on the orders of some higher authority, or is the place his body was found irrelevant? And why do none of the men and women at the aerodrome recognise the dead man?

Mason, fearing a repeat of the cold case that dogged his career for two decades and that he’s only just solved, is determined to do all he can to uncover the identity of the dead man, and to find out why he was killed and abandoned in such a bizarre way, even as Smythe demands he spends his time solving the counterfeiting case that is leaving local shopkeepers out of pocket.

Join Mason and O’Rourke as they once more attempt to solve the impossible in 1940s Erdington.

You can buy your copy here: 

https://books2read.com/TheAutomobileAssassination

Q&A with MJ Porter:

Can you tell me a little bit about your book? 

The Automobile Assassination is a book set in the early 1940s in Erdington, England. It follows Detective Inspector Mason as he tries to solve a strange case involving a naked body found in a woodland close to a local airfield, which carries no identification. He, and his sergeant, O’Rourke, need to find the man’s identity and then solve how he came to be murdered and why his body was dumped where it was. 


Where did the inspiration for your book come from? 

It’s a bit of a strange one, but my Dad told me to watch a black and white film about the motorbikes they used to make for the AA motoring organisation, which just happened to be close to where my first mystery book (The Custard Corpses) took place. I also visited one of the few surviving AA sentry boxes close to where I lived and decided I had to write a story about it. I found the AA sentry boxes to be very evocative of the time period, as are the sidecars the patrol men used, and they look pretty amazing as well.


If you could describe your book in one sentence, what would it be? 

An automotive 1940s murder mystery 


What is a typical writing day like for you? 

I get up at 7.30 am, and try and start writing before 9 am. My aim is to hit my word count for that day by 12noon so that I can spend the afternoon editing or working on a different project. I try and squeeze a bit of exercise in there, and I get a bit grumpy if my morning goes off track. I’m driven by a set word limit for the day, and as soon as I reach it, I tend to switch off until 9 am the next day. I don’t manage this every day, but this is my perfect ‘ideal.’

If you could recommend just one book to read, what would it be and why?

Just one book. That’s a tough one. I’m going to say Dragonflight by Anne McCaffrey because it’s the one book I’ve read multiple times and never fail to enjoy. I don’t usually reread books, so the fact that I feel the urge to pick it up repeatedly must mean it’s pretty special to me. 


Who are your favourite authors? 

My favourite Golden Age mystery writers are David Stafford, Catherine Coles and L B Hathaway. I love period mysteries.


Tell me something interesting about yourself (that’s not in your author bio!)

I’m a Formula 1 fan, which perhaps explains why I wanted to write about cars in the 1940s in The Automobile Assassination. 


What are you currently working on? 

I am currently working on my Saxon historical fiction series and writing a non-fiction book, but I do plan on getting back to the twentieth century soon. I have a few ideas brewing, but I need to let them percolate for a while longer yet.

Thank you for such fabulous questions and for hosting me on your blog. 

And a big thank you to MJ Porter for answering my questions! I will definitely be checking out their books as I do love a good historical mystery!

About The Author:

MJ Porter is the author of many historical novels set predominantly in Seventh to Eleventh-Century England, as well as three twentieth-century mysteries. Raised in the shadow of a building that was believed to house the bones of long-dead Kings of Mercia, meant that the author’s writing destiny was set.

Social Media Links – 

Website: www.mjporterauthor.com/www.mjporterauthor.blog   

Twitter: https://twitter.com/coloursofunison 

Facebook: www.facebook.com/MJPorterauthor 

LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mj-porterauthor/ 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/m_j_porter/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/coloursofunison/ 

BookBub: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/mj-porter 

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/MJ-Porter/e/B006N8K6X4/ 

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7163404.M_J_Porter

Linktr.ee: https://linktr.ee/MJPorterauthor 

BBNYA Semi Finalist Spotlight: You Need Me by Sharon Bairden @sbairden @BBNYA_Official #BBNYA2022 #BookBlogger

Hello lovelies! Today I’ll be shining a spotlight on You Need Me by Sharon Bairden as part of the blog blitz organised by The Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award. 

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 50 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner. 

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Title: You Need Me by Sharon Bairden

Publisher: Red Dog Press

Length: 316 Pages 

Genre: Psychological Thriller, Domestic Noir

Age Category: Adult

Date Published: 12 October 2021

Description:

Your secret didn’t die with me.’

The mysterious note tucked inside the pages of a recently returned book leaves librarian, Morag McLaughlin, chilled to the bone. She knows it was meant for her.

Someone out there knows her darkest secrets and they could destroy everything.

Torn apart from her own family, she will stop at nothing to create a perfect new one.

Why are they all so ungrateful? She’s only looking after them…

Isn’t she?

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.ca/You-Need-Me-Sharon-Bairden-ebook/dp/B09J92FNQR (Canada)

https://www.amazon.com/You-Need-Me-Sharon-Bairden-ebook/dp/B09J92FNQR (USA)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/You-Need-Me-Sharon-Bairden-ebook/dp/B09J92FNQR (UK)

Or add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/58711634-you-need-me 

About The Author:

By day Sharon Bairden manages in a small local independent advocacy service and has a passion for human rights; by night she has a passion for all things criminal. She blogs over at Chapterinmylife and is delighted to be crossing over to the other side of the fence to become a writer.

Sharon’s debut novel, Sins of the Father, was published in November 2020 and is published by Red Dog Press

You Need Me, was released on October 2021, also published by Red Dog Press

You can follow Sharon on Twitter @sbairden 

BBNYA Semi Finalist Spotlight: #Silenced by Jennie Ensor @Jennie_Ensor @BBNYA_Official #BBNYA2022 #BookBlogger

Hello lovelies! Today I’ll be shining a spotlight on Silenced by Jennie Ensor as part of the blog blitz organised by The Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award. 

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 50 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner. 

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Title: Silenced by Jennie Ensor

Publisher: Hobeck Books

Length: 358 Pages

Genre: Crime, Thriller

Age Category: Adult

Date Published: 7th December 2021

Blurb

A teenage girl was murdered on her way home from school, stabbed through the heart. Her North London community is shocked, but no one has the courage to help the police, not even her mother.

It’s DI Callum Waverley’s first major case as a senior investigating officer – can he break the code of silence that shrouds the case?

This is a world where the notorious Skull Crew rules through fear. Everyone knows you keep your mouth shut or you’ll be silenced – permanently.

This is Luke’s world. Reeling from the loss of his mother to cancer, his step-father distant at best, violent at worst, he slides into the Skull Crew’s grip.

This is Jez’s world too. Her alcoholic mother neither knows nor cares that her 16-year-old daughter is being exploited by V, the all-powerful leader of the gang.

Luke and Jez form a bond. Is it friendship, love or fear that brings them together? Can Callum win their trust, or will his own demons sabotage his investigation? And can anyone stop the Skull Crew from ensuring all witnesses are silenced?

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B09KJPQY4P/ (Canada)

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09KJPQY4P/ (USA)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B09KJPQY4P/ (UK)

Or add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/59342142-silenced 

About The Author:

A Londoner with Irish heritage, Jennie Ensor writes emotionally-charged psychological suspense and thrillers, and darkly comic fiction.

She began her writing career as a journalist and loves to tackle controversial issues in her novels: Islamic terrorism, Russian gangsters and war crimes in Blind Side (a thriller set in the year of London’s 2005 terror attacks), abuse and sexual exploitation in The Girl in His Eyes. Not Having It All is a darkly humourous novel about love and relationships, not having children and the perils of family life.

Jennie’s fourth book Silenced published December 2021 with Hobeck Books – a crime thriller with a strong psychological element that ventures into the shadowy world of teen-exploiting gangs and police corruption.

Ms Ensor lives with her husband and an Airedale terrier. She writes short stories and poetry as well as novels, her poem Lost Connection placed second in its category in the 2020 Fish Lockdown Prize. In her spare time (?) Jennie reads widely, sings choral music, practices yoga and cycles the punishing local hills. Evenings, she’s often collapsed in front of a TV crime drama with a bar of chocolate/glass of strong alcohol.

You can find out more about Jennie and her books on her website https://jennieensor.com or follow her on social media.

Amazon author page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Jennie-Ensor/e/B01IXCE0HU?ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1&qid=1668948540&sr=1-1

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/JennieEnsorAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Jennie_Ensor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jennieensor/

An Ear for Trouble (Riverbend K-9s Book 2) by K.T. Lee @rararesources @KTLeeWrites #BookSpotlight #CozyMystery

Hello lovelies! Today I have a book spotlight for An Ear For Trouble by K.T. Lee as well as a giveaway to win an e-copy of the book (open internationally). But first, a bit about the book:

Title: An Ear for Trouble (Riverbend K-9s Book 2) by K.T. Lee 

Date Published: 18th October 2022

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

Elise Butler is a wildlife biologist who enjoys her stable (if somewhat predictable) job in finance at the World Wildlife Trust. However, when the veterinarian at Riverbend Animal Conservation Center goes missing, Elise offers to help the unlucky wildlife Conservation Center get back on its feet. Not only will the job in Riverbend, Indiana let her get back to her roots of working with animals, but it’s also a short drive from her sister’s workplace at Riverbend K-9 Academy, a training center for some of the FBI’s best explosive detection dogs.

FBI Special Agent Finn Cooper and his canine partner, Sedona, are chasing a well-funded animal trafficking ring. After an injury sidelines Finn from official FBI undercover work, he goes to work at Riverbend K-9 Academy to stay busy while he recovers…and to investigate his only remaining lead in the animal trafficking case.

Just as Elise begins to settle into life in Riverbend, her sister asks her to help the K-9 Academy by fostering one of their puppies. Finn is eager to keep Elise focused on training Zeke, the enthusiastic German shepherd puppy earmarked to become Riverbend’s first wildlife detection K-9, and keep her well away from his quiet animal trafficking investigation. Zeke quickly proves himself an expert both at chewing shoes and sniffing out clouded leopards. When Zeke starts finding scents where they don’t belong, Elise and Finn begin to realize that the Conservation Center may be more criminal than unlucky. And if Elise doesn’t keep her nose out of it, she might be the next target.

An Ear for Trouble is Book 2 in the Riverbend K-9 Series. All books in the Riverbend K-9 Series may be enjoyed as standalone novels or as a series.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon

Kobo

Apple Books

Google Play

Barnes and Noble

About The Author:

K.T. Lee is a writer, mom, and engineer who grew up on a steady diet of books from a wide variety of genres. She’s the author of multiple books, including those in the Riverbend K-9 Series and The Calculated Series.

Social Media Links – 

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KTLeeWrites 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/ktleeauthor/ 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ktleewrites 

Giveaway to Win 10 x e-copies of An Ear For Trouble (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494537/?

BBNYA Semi Finalist Spotlight: Strangest Day So Far by GV Pearce @GV_Pearce @BBNYA_Official #StrangestDaySoFar #BBNYA2022 #BookBlogger

Hello lovelies! Today I’ll be shining a spotlight on Strangest Day So Far by GV Pearce as part of the blog blitz organised by The Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award. 

This year, the Book Bloggers’ Novel of the Year Award (BBNYA) is celebrating the 50 books that made it into Round Two with a mini spotlight blitz tour for each title. BBNYA is a yearly competition where book bloggers from all over the world read and score books written by indie authors, ending with 10 finalists and one overall winner. 

If you want some more information about BBNYA, check out the BBNYA Website https://www.bbnya.com/ or take a peek over on Twitter @BBNYA_Official. BBNYA is brought to you in association with the @Foliosociety (if you love beautiful books, you NEED to check out their website!) and the book blogger support group @The_WriteReads.

Title: Strangest Day So Far by GV Pearce

Publisher: Improbable Press

Length: 186 Pages

Genre: Supernatural, M/M Romance

Age Category: Adult

Date Published: 31 January 2021 

Description:

Life-changing injuries, a shared hospital room, a monster at the door – can you think of a better way to fall in love?

Ronan Cox sets aside his peculiar past to pursue his military career. Then he’s shot down over an Iraq desert, meets an eldritch being, and wakes up in an American hospital.

Byron Slain, aka Benjamin Williams, aka the tattooed, pierced pretty boy in the bed beside Ronan’s, has his own strange story, but no time to tell it when a clawed cryptid comes scratching at their hospital door. 

And then things start getting really strange.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon

https://www.amazon.ca/Strangest-Day-Eldritch-Roads-Novel-ebook/dp/B08W9FYXFT/ (Canada)

https://www.amazon.com/Strangest-Day-Eldritch-Roads-Novel-ebook/dp/B08W9FYXFT/ (USA)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Strangest-Day-Eldritch-Roads-Novel-ebook/dp/B08W9FYXFT/ (UK)

Or add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56638120-strangest-day-so-far 

About The Author:

GV Pearce – Gen is the author of the queer supernatural romance novels Ghost Story and Strangest Day So Far. Several years spent working in animal welfare have left them with an endless supply of tales too ridiculous to be fiction. Perhaps one day they’ll put those stories into a book. In the meantime, Gen can usually be found wandering the Yorkshire Moors in search of cool rocks, inspiration, and a decent cup of coffee. To find out more visit – https://gvpearce.co.uk/ 

Stone Cold Killing (Detective Dove Milson 4) by D.E. White @JoffeBooks @DEWhiteAuthor #GuestPost #BlogTour

Hello lovelies! Today I have a fantastic guest post from D.E White all about writing as part of the blog tour organised by Jill at Books ‘n’ all Promotions. But first, a little about D.E. White’s latest book:

Title: Stone Cold Killing by D.E. White

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 9th November 2022

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

DISCOVER THE LATEST EDGE-OF-YOUR-SEAT CRIME THRILLER FROM BESTSELLING AUTHOR D.E. WHITE.

The baby was in the middle of the road. Cocooned in a car seat, tiny face suddenly, violently, illuminated by the headlights.

Detective Dove Milson has to swerve to avoid the baby’s car seat in the middle of the road. Ten metres up the road, a car has crashed in a ditch. Detective Steve Parker rushes to the car, while Dove attends to the baby.

But the baby is just a doll, and the driver is missing. There is a trail of blood leading into the woods.

As they’re searching the scene, gunshots are fired. A shadowy figure crashes through the woods. Steve is shot. Then a body is found nearby.

Alice Cartwright, the driver of the abandoned car, has been murdered, a carved stone heart placed in her mouth.

She’s not the first victim. And she won’t be the last.

A stone cold killer is on the loose. Detective Dove Milson is in a race against time to stop them killing again.

This electrifying crime thriller is perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, K.L. Slater, Robert Bryndza, Helen Fields, Helen H. Durrant and Angela Marsons.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT D.E. WHITE:

“An ingenious thriller where the tension is rising with every page. D.E. White yet again shows her immense talent for compelling story writing with a plot so taut it grabs you from the first page. Brilliant!” Victoria Dowd, award-winning author of The Smart Woman’s Guide to Murder

“Dove is an immensely strong and determined person and is well supported by her colleagues. The pace doesn’t flag and twists and surprises hold the attention to the final pages.” Mystery People

“This mystery thriller novel is wrapped in loads of sinister suspense and will have you clambering to the edge of your seat . . . full of twists and turns you would never expect!” The Daily Mirror

Another cracker of a book.” Aileen G.

“I couldn’t stop reading, I had to know what happened next!” Amy

DETECTIVE DOVE MILSON SERIES
Book 1: GLASS DOLLS
Book 2: THE ICE DAUGHTERS
Book 3: THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS
Book 4: STONE COLD KILLING

Guest Post: 

D.E. White On Writing:

Fitting writing around family commitments and my two businesses is tough. Any writer will say the same, and sometimes we do need a bit of a break because there aren’t enough hours in the day (or night!), but we always come back to it. I firmly believe, as a writer, you should be loving your stories, your plots, you should be thinking about your readers, and what they will enjoy, and if this isn’t happening, something is wrong. In between Detective Dove Milson books 4 and 5, I wrote a standalone. It was a crime thriller I just needed to get out. In terms of creativity, it absolutely ignited my love of plot and twist again, and as such I am now flying through Dove’s next gritty episode. Of course, I couldn’t do any of this without an amazing agent, publisher and my long-suffering and supportive family and friends. Equally, I am so lucky to have the best readers ever!

My favourite place to write is on a long haul flight. Stone Cold Killing was mostly written on a flight to and from San Diego, and in the intervening jet-lagged 48 hours between outbound and inbound. There is something wonderful about stocking up with snacks, copious amounts of tea and coffee and knowing you have eleven hours to just write. I do feel a slight sliver guilt when I see the passengers either side of me trying to sleep on night flights, but I do try to type quietly!

My writing day typically starts with a 6am alarm call to get the kids organised for school and sort out the animals/house stuff. By 9am, I’m usually back home for a quick dog walk, run/yoga session before I settle down at my computer for 10am. I start will emails, social media and this takes around half an hour. Then the writing starts. I will do around 2,000 words a day on a first and second draft, but by the time I’m on my third draft I’m going for quality and plot twists.

I have a quick break for lunch and crack on before I pick up the kids. Then, after dinner, I’m usually ferrying the kids around the various clubs, so between 6.30pm and 10.00pm I will often use the car as a mobile office, and either finish up my emails, update socials, or if I’m behind on my word count, get on with the work in progress.

By 10.30pm I’m in bed reading the latest pick from my tbr pile. I find, whatever genre, this always calms me down and allows me to escape from whatever deadlines are looming.

My ideal day would probably be spent on the beach, with a huge pile of books, a few pina coladas and a burger and chips for lunch!

The pets always get involved in my day. Currently I have a chocolate Labrador, two cats, four ducks and three chickens. I also occasionally look after next doors’ ancient horses. 

Running is such a great way to destress and come up with plot ideas! Either that or browsing  good bookshop or library for new reads.

About The Author:

Daisy White started writing fifteen years ago, scribbling ideas on napkins at work on the night shift. After various jobs, including working as cabin crew, in a hospital, a supermarket, and as a 999 call handler for the ambulance service, she began writing full time in 2018.

She writes cosy crime as Daisy White, including the Amazon bestselling RUBY BAKER MYSTERIES (Joffe Books), and psychological thrillers as D.E. White; REMEMBER ME and THE FORGOTTEN CHILD (HarperCollins). 

Her latest book, THE FORGOTTEN CHILD, was released on kindle, audiobook and paperback in October 2019, and charted at number 15 in the US Amazon Kindle Top 100. It has been described as ‘…an explosive gangland thriller.’

Daisy’s new police procedural, GLASS DOLLS, featuring DC Dove Wilson, will be published by Joffe Books in 2020. She is also working on a new cosy crime series and another standalone psychological thriller.

Rep’d by Lina Langlee at the Kate Nash Literary Agency.

BOOKS BY D. E. WHITE

DETECTIVE RUBY BAKER SERIES:

BEFORE I LEFT

BEFORE I FOUND YOU

BEFORE I TRUST YOU

DOVE MILSON SERIES:

GLASS DOLLS

THE ICE DAUGHTERS

THE ABBERLEY BEACH MURDERS

FOLLOW D. E. WHITE ON

AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM
GOODREADS

Hot Ash by Russ Colchamiro @AuthorDudeRuss @RRBookTours1 #RRBookTours #BookPromo

Angela Hardwicke is back and this time she’s taking on her toughest mystery yet! Read on for more info about Hot Ash by Russ Colchamiro!

Title: Hot Ash (Angela Hardwicke 3) by Russ Colchamiro

Publication Date: September 6th, 2022

Genre: Sci-Fi Mystery

Description:

Intergalactic private Angela Hardwicke is Eternity’s most daring spy for hire…

Following the mysterious and ill-timed death of her elderly husband, Camille Engquist was set to inherit the family’s real estate development company. But her stepkids stole it from her first. Or so she claims.

As Hardwicke and her protégé Eric Whistler dive into the world of affordable housing, synthetic concrete, and corporate succession planning, their investigation put them face-to-face with the haves and have-nots, a new form of cocaine, a boundary-pushing neurobiologist, a majestic domed city and a violent conspiracy that stretches farther and deeper than they ever could have imaged. But the most insidious betrayals are sometimes closer to home.

In Hot Ash, Russ Colchamiro’s most action-packed Sci-Fi mystery yet, Angela Hardwicke must grapple with the worst pain of all—that the people we love are the ones we should fear most.

And don’t miss the first two books in the series, Crackle and Fire and Fractured Lives!

Add to Goodreads 

Purchase Here!

About the Author:

Russ Colchamiro is the author of the rollicking space adventure, Crossline, the zany SF/F backpacking comedy series Finders Keepers: The Definitive EditionGenius de Milo, and Astropalooza, and is editor of the SF anthology Love, Murder & Mayhem, all with Crazy 8 Press.

Russ lives in New Jersey with his wife, two ninjas, and crazy dog Simon, who may in fact be an alien himself. Russ has also contributed to several other anthologies, including Tales of the Crimson KeepPangaeaAltered States of the UnionCamelot 13, TV Gods 2, They Keep Killing Glenn, Thrilling Adventure Yarns, Camelot 13, and Brave New Girls.

Russ Colchamiro | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads 

Book Tour Schedule

November 14th

R&R Book Tours (Kick-Off) http://rrbooktours.com

@accio_mischief (Review) https://www.instagram.com/accio_mischief/

@latishaslowkeylife (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/latishaslowkeylife

On the Shelf Reviews (Spotlight) https://ontheshelfreviews.wordpress.com

Stine Writing (Spotlight) https://christinebialczak.com/

@alexis.reads__  (Spotlight) https://instagram.com/alexis.reads__?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y=

November 15th

@ashe_and_ink (Review) https://www.instagram.com/ashe_and_ink/

Bunny’s Reviews (Review) https://bookwormbunnyreviews.blogspot.com/

@readingwithwrin (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/readingwithwrin/

Rambling Mads (Spotlight) http://ramblingmads.com

Sophril Reads (Spotlight) http://sophrilreads.wordpress.com

November 16th

@amanda_coffee_books (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/amanda_coffee_books/

Breakeven Books (Spotlight) https://breakevenbooks.com

@beastreader (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/beastreader/ 

@definitelynotreading (Spotlight)  https://www.instagram.com/definitelynotreading/

@calmstitchread (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/calmstitchread/ 

November 17th

@amber.bunch_author (Review) https://www.instagram.com/amber.bunch_author/

@books.and.salt (Review) https://www.instagram.com/books.and.salt

The Faerie Review (Spotlight) http://www.thefaeriereview.com

Freelance Writer, Janny C (Spotlight) https://freelancewriterjannyc.com/

November 18th

@hazels_bookstagram (Review) https://www.instagram.com/hazels_bookstagram/?igshid=YmMyMTA2M2Y%3D

I Smell Sheep (Spotlight) http://www.ismellsheep.com/

 Books Blog (Spotlight) www.booksblog.co.uk

@mandioyster (Spotlight) https://www.instagram.com/mandioyster/ 

Book Tour Organised By:

R&R Book Tours

%d bloggers like this: