#BlogTour #Giveaway #Review Flying by the seat of my knickers by Eliza Watson @ElizasBooks @rararesources

Hi lovelies! Not only do I have a review today, I also have a fabulous giveaway which is open internationally (details at the bottom of this post) but first a bit about the book:

Flying by the Seat of my Knickers final USA title

Title: Flying by the seat of my knickers by Eliza Watson

Date Published: 20th February 2016

Genre: Humour/women’s fiction

Description:

Why run from your troubles when you can fly instead? 

When Caity Shaw is fired from her first job that doesn’t require an elf uniform, her older sister, Rachel, an event planner, hires her to work a meeting in Dublin. Caity jumps at the opportunity to travel abroad and escape her pathetic life. However, even four thousand miles from home, there’s no avoiding debt collectors, an overbearing mother, and haunting memories of a controlling ex.

While in Dublin, Caity suffers a series of humiliating mishaps, causing her to lose even more faith in herself. Caity struggles to earn Rachel’s respect—and to keep Declan, her hot Irish coworker, at arm’s length. Declan repeatedly saves Caity’s butt and helps boost her self-confidence, making it difficult to keep her distance from the charming womanizer. When Declan helps her research her Irish grandmother, Caity discovers the mysterious past of the courageous woman she barely knew might hold the answers to her future.

Flying by the Seat of My Knickers will be Free worldwide for the duration of the blog tour on 21st April:

It’s available on all Amazon sites here’s US and UK:

US: https://www.amazon.com/Flying-Knickers-Travel-Mishaps-Caity-ebook/dp/B01C1YGTMA

UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Flying-Knickers-Travel-Mishaps-Caity-ebook/dp/B01C1YGTMA

KOBO: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/flying-by-the-seat-of-my-knickers

AppleBooks: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/flying-by-the-seat-of-my-knickers/id1309645540?mt=11

B & N: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/flying-by-the-seat-of-my-knickers-eliza-watson/1123454668?ean=2940157829667

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Eliza_Watson_Flying_by_the_Seat_of_My_Knickers?id=piJ1DwAAQBAJ&hl=en

Flying By The Seat of my Knickers Full Tour Banner

Review:

I want to thank Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on this blog tour.

I pick up this book awhile ago, because I just loved the title but unfortunately it’s been sitting on my kindle for a while now but like most things I haven’t got around to it until now.

Caity has just escaped from her controlling ex, in desperate need of money, she takes a job with her sister at her event planning business.

She jumps at the chance to go to Dublin for a week but when she gets there she gets into mishap after mishap.

Can Caity get her self confidence back and put her past behind her?

This is quite a short and fun read, which is set in Ireland, a place I’ve always wanted to visit. While at times it is light hearted, it also covers the serious topics of toxic relationships and emotional abuse.

Caity is flawed and slightly vulnerable character, who seems to have disaster after disaster. I did keep wishing something would go right for her but on the other hand I couldn’t help but giggle at some of the things that went wrong.

I have to be honest at time I felt it was hard to like Caity because she felt quite judgy towards other women yet she kind of falls at the feet of Declan when he gives her the slightest bit of encouragement…it just slightly irked me.

Overall flying by the seat of my knickers is quirky and entertaining read, perfect if you’re looking to escape from reality for a few hours.

About The Author:

Eliza Watson is a USA Today Bestselling Author. When Eliza isn’t traveling for her job as an Flying By the Seat of My Knickers - Eliza Watson's Author Picevent planner, or tracing her ancestry roots through Ireland, she’s at home working on her next novel, bouncing ideas off her husband, Mark, and her cats Frankie and Sammy. Learn more about Eliza’s books at elizawatson.com.

Social Media Links –

https://www.facebook.com/ElizaWatsonAuthor/?ref=bookmarks

https://twitter.com/ElizasBooks

https://www.pinterest.com/authorelizawatson/

Giveaway:

Win Irish wool blanket from Avoca Mills in Ireland. – Open Internationally:

Flying by the Seat of my Knickers - Giveaway Prize 400 x 400

Just click the link below to enter:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/391e20c86/?

Advertisements

#BlogTour Trotterdown by Stewart Giles @stewartgiles @Books_n_all #promo #review

Hello lovelies! Today I’m going to be re-sharing my reviews of The perfect murder and the backpacker (sadly I have not gotten around to reading the beekeeper yet) as part of the launch of Totterdown, the first three books of the detective Harriet Taylor series but first a little about the collection:

Title: TROTTERDOWN (the first three Detective Harriet Taylor thrillers) by Stewart Giles

Date Published: 18th April 2019

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

Do you like gripping thrillers that are a little different? Meet Detective Harriet Taylor in this gripping series set in Cornwall From #1 best-selling author: Stewart Giles.

Three gripping thrillers in one, great value, box set.

BOOK ONE: THE BEEKEEPER

Alice Green is a beekeeper in the small Cornish village of Polgarrow. She lives with her pet jackdaw in a beautiful cottage not far from the sea. One evening, Alice finds something strange under the hollyhock bush in her garden. The gruesome discovery will change everyone’s lives. And then Alice’s best friend Milly disappears…

BOOK TWO: THE PERFECT MURDER

Two cats are found mutilated in the same town. Detective Harriet Taylor is reluctant to investigate, but then one of their owners is killed a bizarre way that same day. Harriet and the team step in. The dead woman has four words written on her neck — four very ambiguous words. Then another body turns up with the same words written on it. Harriet fears the worst — a serial killer is on the loose in the small Cornish town of Trotterdown.

BOOK THREE: THE BACKPACKER

A girl’s body is found hidden in a remote spot of a Cornish Farm. The same farm that a young girl ran towards to escape her pursuer many years before. Who would kill a young backpacker who hurt nobody? Is there a link between this and a mystery from many years ago?

If you like Police Procedurals, then this is a series you won’t want to miss.

THE SETTING

Trotterdown and the surrounding villages is a fictional village in Cornwall.  It is typical of Cornish villages with remote farms and sleepy Cornish stone cottages.  However, the area is steeped in history and the residents of the quaint cottages have their share of myths and secrets making it the ideal setting for this series.

THE DETECTIVE

DC Harriet Taylor had only been married for 2 years when her philandering husband was killed in a car crash. It is common knowledge around the station that the woman who died next to him was his latest lover. Harriet transferred to Trotterdown to escape the gossip and sympathetic looks. She is now finding her way around Cornwall and getting to know the other members of the team.

Blog Tour Banner (4)

The Perfect Murder; My review:

The quiet village of Trotterdown in Cornwall may have a serial killer on the loose…

The book opens with DC Harriet Taylor and her colleagues complaining that it’s too quiet but they should be careful what they wish for! Two cats are mutilated which they don’t take seriously until one of the owners is found murdered later the very same day. Another death follows then another, all linked by the four strange words written on their neck.

This book is part of a series, and the first I’ve read by this author, but can be read as a stand alone.

I would recommend if you have the first, The Beekeeper, on your reading list, you should read that first as this novel contains some minor spoilers.

What I liked about this book was it didn’t take itself too seriously with a nice smattering of black humour. It was fast paced and easy to read. I did find a few of the killings a little far fetched but they seemed to be well researched and could possibly happen in real life.

The Backpacker; My review:

Harriet Taylor is spending some much need rest time sailing with her new boyfriend pathologist Dr Jon Finch when a call comes in they’ve found a body of a young woman up at Landell’s farm. It turns out to be Frenchwoman Lauren Moreau, an avid hiker out to walk the coast to coast trail nearby. While investigating they unearth a second body which has been there for much longer.

With her hands full and short staffed Harriet can’t get the second body out of her mind. Are the two deaths linked and who is the mystery dead man?

So this is third in the DC Harriet Taylor series and the second I’ve read, but it can be read as a stand alone. Personally I would probably recommend starting at the beginning with The Beekeeper just to get a better understanding of the characters and setting.

Sometimes I love diving back into a series with familiar characters that I am already familiar with and enjoy. The book isn’t that long but there’s plenty packed into it! With the fast pace I absolutely flew through it, I could not stop turning those pages!

Harriet is still as determined for justice as usual, although she is suffering from insomnia and headaches but that won’t stop her cracking the case! I adored the fact that she has found a new relationship with Jon Finch after the one with her husband ended so badly.

I also want to note there is quite a few sailing terms in the book but there’s a handy glossary of terms at the front, now if someone asked me what a jib sheet was, I now know what the heck they’re talking about!

There’s two storylines, one from 1996 and one from the present that are weaved together well. I did really enjoy the two narratives, each one as interesting as the other but I think they needed signposting a little better. What I mean to say is 1996 chapters were labelled but the present was not making it a little jarring when it changed eras.

Also I felt the ending was a little rushed compared to Stewart Giles other books but it is well worth a read.

I would recommend this for fans of police procedurals with a strong female lead.

About The Author:

After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live. After AnnSG Author photo (4) dropped a rather large speaker on my head I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.

Three years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor Cornwall series. The Beekeeper hit the shelves and hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well. The third in the series, The Backpacker I have self-published and there are plenty more to come.

Unworthy, the ninth Smith instalment was followed by a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers. Entitled The Enigma, it brings together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.

Miranda is something totally different. A stand-alone psychological thriller, it is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before. A new Smith/Harriet book is in the pipeline as is the 10th Smith instalment.

Links:

Website: www.stewartgiles.com

Twitter: @stewartgiles

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

You can join the Stewart Giles reader club by completing this form https://mailchi.mp/a64f6de4c541/sgreadersclub

#BookReview Dead Memories by Angela Marsons @bookouture

Title: Dead Memories (Kim Stone 10) by Angela Marsons

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 22nd February 2019

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

She ruined their lives. Now they’re going to destroy hers.

Someone is recreating every traumatic point in your life. They are doing this to make you suffer, to make you hurt and the only possible end game can be death. Your death.’

On the fourth floor of Chaucer House, two teenagers are found chained to a radiator. The boy is dead but the girl is alive. For Detective Kim Stone every detail of the scene mirrors her own terrifying experience with her brother Mikey, when they lived in the same tower block thirty years ago.

When the bodies of a middle-aged couple are discovered in a burnt-out car, Kim can’t ignore the chilling similarity to the death of Erica and Keith – the only loving parents Kim had ever known.

Faced with a killer who is recreating traumatic events from her past, Kim must face the brutal truth that someone wants to hurt her in the worst way possible. Desperate to stay on the case, she is forced to work with profiler Alison Lowe who has been called in to observe and monitor Kim’s behaviour.

Kim has spent years catching dangerous criminals and protecting the innocent. But with a killer firmly fixed on destroying Kim, can she solve this complex case and save her own life or will she become the final victim?

The heart-stopping and totally addictive new crime thriller from multi-million copy number one bestseller Angela Marsons will have you completely hooked.

Review:

Usually I say this could be read as a stand alone but this book does contain a lot of villains from earlier novels which may spoil them for you if you haven’t read them, so I recommend you read the other books in the series first. You’re probably thinking but that’s nine other books but I can guarantee that if you love fast paced, action packed novels you will enjoy this series.

I absolutely flew through this book, with Angela Marsons usual short, sharp chapters and compelling storyline it was hard to put down.

I’m calling this book Kim Stone greatest hits, or maybe greatest heartaches would be a better way to put it. A killer is recreating all the past traumatic events in her life, starting with the death of her twin brother.

Kim really goes through it in this book. She never one for showing feelings, preferring to keep everything inside, it all bubbles to the surface and we get a rare show of raw emotion.

My only issue with the whole book was the ending, I wasn’t entirely convinced by the motive or in fact the killer itself but that didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the book.

Overall Dead Memories is a whirlwind of a novel, with plenty of thrills and spills that is a must read series for fans of police procedurals.

About The Author:

Angela Marsons is the Wall Street Journal and USA Today bestselling author of the DI Kim Stone series and her books have sold more than 3 million in 3 years.angela marsons

She lives in the Black Country with her partner, their cheeky Golden Retriever and a swearing parrot.

She first discovered her love of writing at Junior School when actual lessons came second to watching other people and quietly making up her own stories about them. Her report card invariably read “Angela would do well if she minded her own business as well as she minds other people’s”.

After years of writing relationship based stories (The Forgotten Woman and Dear Mother) Angela turned to Crime, fictionally speaking of course, and developed a character that refused to go away.

She is signed to Bookouture.com for a total of 16 books in the Kim Stone series and her books have been translated into more than 27 languages.

#BlogTour #GuestPost The Witness by Kevin Marsh @Books_n_all

Today, as part of the blog tour for The Witness, I’m bringing you a guest post from author Kevin Marsh but first a little about the book:

Title: The Witness by Kevin Marsh

Date Published: 22nd April 2013

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Description:

Landscape artist Josie MacDonald is coming to the end of her stay in Scotland. Whilst out on a painting trip early one morning she witnesses a horrific murder.
Mr Mac, the deranged killer, is aware that she has seen him at work and sets out to kill her but Josie manages to escape by plunging desperately into the North Sea.
Mr Mac, convinced that she has perished, discovers a few days later that she has survived and sets out to track her down. He follows her to London where he subjects her to terrible psychological torment as one by one her friends are drawn into the nightmare.
Josie returns to Scotland in order to discover the truth where her worst fears are realised. With time running out and a killer on the loose she must survive long enough to bring their horrifying ordeal to an end.

BLOG TOUR - THE WITNESS

The Inspiration behind The Witness Kevin Marsh:

The Witness, my second book, published in 2013 was my first attempt at writing a psychological thriller. Since then I have written two more thrillers with some of the key characters appearing in both. Josie gets a mention in all the books but has yet to feature again in a story of her own. (I have some ideas)!

The inspiration behind The Witness came sixteen years ago when visiting my sister who lived in a village close to Spey Bay. One day we walked into the bay and I was struck by its natural beauty and wildlife. The history of the place also interested me, there was evidence of ship building, salmon fishing and crofter life. (The visitor centre also did a wonderful hot chocolate with marshmallows)!

I spotted an artist sitting on the bank painting a water colour of the old iron railway bridge spanning the River Spey. This is when Josie MacDonald, my main character was born. I knew that something terrible must happen in this beautifully peaceful place so my imagination took over and I knew I had the beginnings of a thrilling novel.

I was drawn in completely by Josie and the terrible events that followed her painting trip in Scotland. At the time I was learning to paint and my subject was portraits so I decided to paint Josie. The portrait brought Josie to life and the painting was used and the cover for the book.

Spey Bay is a small settlement in Moray, Scotland. It is situated on the each coast where the River Spey flows into The Moray Firth.

For more information about Spey Bay and The Witness visit my website.  www.kevinmarshnovels.co.uk

Box Canvas 500mmX500mm painted in acrylic and finished cover:

About The Author:

Kevin Marsh was born in Canterbury in 1961. He lived and went to school there attending the Technical College, (now Canterbury College), as an apprentice sheet metal worker. During hisKevin Marsh author photo five years of training he worked in a small local company with his father and brother. In 1981 he was married and moved to Whitstable, (his father’s home town).

His first novel, The Belgae Torc, book 1 in the Torc Trilogy, was launched on 30th June 2012 with his second book, The Witness, a psychological thriller, being published in March 2013. The Gordian Knot is the second part of the Torc Trilogy and was published in July 2014

Cutting the Gordian Knot (The Final Solution) is the final book in the Torc Trilogy and was published in July 2016.

He has recently retired from teaching steel fabrication and welding and moved to the beautiful Kent countryside to focus on writing and painting. 

Website: http://www.kevinmarshnovels.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/kevin.marsh.1069

#BlogTour #Review The Golden Hour by Malia Zaidi @MaliaZaidi @damppebbles #LadyEvelynMysteries #damppebblesblogtours

Title: The Golden Hour (Lady Evelyn Mysteries #4) by Malia Zaidi

Date Published: 26th March 2019

Genre: Historical Mystery/Cosy Mystery

Description:

London 1927

Lady Evelyn Carlisle has barely arrived in London when familial duty calls her away again. Her cousin Gemma is desperate for help with her ailing mother before her imminent wedding, which Evelyn knew nothing about! Aunt Agnes in tow, she journeys to Scotland, expecting to find Malmo Manor in turmoil. To her surprise, her Scottish family has been keeping far more secrets than the troubled state of their matriarch. Adding to the tension in the house a neighbour has opened his home, Elderbrooke Park, as a retreat for artistic veterans of the Great War. This development does not sit well with everyone in the community. Is the suspicion towards the residents a catalyst for murder?

A tragedy at Elderbrooke Park’s May Day celebration awakens Evelyn’s sleuthing instinct, which is strengthened when the story of another unsolved death emerges, connected to her own family. What she uncovers on her quest to expose the truth will change several lives forever, including her own.

With the shadow of history looming over her, Evelyn must trust in her instinct and ability to comb through the past to understand the present, before the murderer can stop her and tragedy strikes again.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Golden-Hour-Evelyn-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B07NQRQH8L/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=1552557558&sr=8-1

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Golden-Hour-Evelyn-Mystery-Mysteries-ebook/dp/B07NQRQH8L/ref=sr_1_fkmrnull_1?keywords=the+golden+hour+malia+zaidi&qid=1552557603&s=gateway&sr=8-1-fkmrnull

The Golden Hour Blog Tour

Review:

So this is the fourth in the Lady Evelyn Carlisle mystery series but having not read the first books in the series, I can say it can be read as a stand-alone, as the author gives enough background about the character without spoiling the other books.

At a loose end after finishing her degree, Lady Evelyn finds herself travelling to Scotland to see her Aunt Iris who her cousin Gemma claims is acting strangely. When she arrives at Malmo Manor there is an underlying tension which may have something to do with Elderbrooke Park which has been opened up to injured veterans of the Great War.

In an attempt to win over the villagers, Elderbrooke park is opened up to the public as part of the May day celebrations but tragedy strikes as Lady Evelyn stumbles across the body of a young girl.

Can Lady Evelyn stop the murderer before they strike again?

The Golden Hour really reminds me of the classic whodunnits, especially Dorothy L Sayers, with it’s vivid descriptions, red herrings and an upper class sleuth.

Lady Evelyn is a fascinating character, educated at Oxford, a rarity even for those women with money in those days, she also suffered a terrible loss of her parents when she was young. There’s also a kindness to her, not shying away from the wounded soldiers living in Elderbrooke park, when most people looked upon them with suspicion and scorn.

I do feel however, at times it was a little slow and you get a little distracted from the mystery by Lady Evelyn and her families problems but of course that’s just my opinion.

Overall The Golden Hour is an intriguing story, for those who enjoy a mix of historical fiction and some good amateur sleuthing.

About Malia Zaidi:

Malia Zaidi is the author of the Lady Evelyn Mysteries. She studied at the University of Version 2Pittsburgh and at the University of Oxford. Having grown up in Germany, she currently lives in Washington DC, though through her love of reading, she resides vicariously (if temporarily) in countries around the world.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/MaliaZaidi

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pg/maliazaidiauthor/about/?tab=page_info

Website: https://www.maliazaidi.com/

Blog: https://www.princessandpen.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/14197546.Malia_Zaidi

damppebbles blog tours

#BlogTour #Excerpt #DeathBeforeCoffee by Desmond P. Ryan @RealDesmondRyan #damppebblesblogtours

Hello lovelies and welcome to my stop on the blog tour for Death before coffee, today I’ll be bringing you an exclusive excerpt, but first a little about the book:

Title: Death Before Coffee (Mike O’Shea 2) by Desmond P. Ryan

Date Published: 8th February 2019

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

By 2:27 on a Thursday afternoon, the one-legged man from Room 8 at 147 Loxitor Avenue has been beaten to death with a lead pipe. Twenty-eight minutes later, Detective Mike O’Shea is testifying in a stuffy courtroom, unaware that, within an hour, he will be standing in an alleyway littered with beer cans and condoms while his new partner—the man who saved his life thirteen years ago—flicks bugs off of a battered corpse with a ballpoint pen. When a rogue undercover copper prematurely hauls in the prime suspect, Mike blows a fuse, resulting in an unlikely rapport developing between him and the lead homicide detective sergeant, a woman known for her stilettos and razor sharp investigative skills. At the end of his seventy-two-hour shift, three men are dead and Mike O’Shea is floating in and out of consciousness in an emergency room hallway, two women by his side.

Death Before Coffee, the second book in the Mike O’Shea Crime Fiction Series, weaves a homicide investigation through the life of an inner-city police detective intent on balancing his responsibilities as a son, brother, and newly single father with his sworn oath of duty. When faced with death, Mike is forced to make decisions that stir up old memories, compelling him to confront his demons while fighting the good fight.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Death-Before-Coffee-OShea-Fiction-ebook/dp/B07NJNYGP3/ref=asap_bc?ie=UTF8

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Death-Before-Coffee-OShea-Fiction-ebook/dp/B07NJNYGP3/ref=sr_1_7?keywords=death+before+coffee&qid=1552730233&s=gateway&sr=8-7

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/gb/en/ebook/death-before-coffee-1

Death Before Coffee Blog Tour

Excerpt:

But for the screeching of the tires as Amanda wove in and out of traffic, the car was silent again.

Michael!” Amanda yelled. “Fucking talk to me, Michael!”

Huh?”

Your son, Mike. Tell me about your son. Yeah, I know. Go fuck yourself!Amanda yelled out the window as she narrowly escaped being T-boned by a car that had the right-of-way as she raced through yet another red light. “Where the hell is a cop when you need one? An escort would be nice about now,” she muttered to herself. Then, “Tell me about your son, Mike. What’s his name?”

Max, zizz namez Max,” Mike slurred.

Okay. Tell me about Max.”

Nothing.

Don’t you fucking die on me, Mike! Stay with me! Max? How old is he?” Amanda was practically screaming at Mike.

Sev’n… sev’nteen.”

What colour is his hair?”

Red.”

His eyes. What colour are your son’s eyes, Mike!”

Wha…?”

How tall is he?”

Silence.

Mike! Tall. How tall is Max?”

Mike was losing consciousness fast. Amanda shoved his slumping body off her in a last-ditch attempt to find that goddamn police light that she knew must be somewhere in this car. She reached behind her but found nothing.

How fucking tall is Max, Michael? Michael, wake up!”

With the next turn, Mike’s body fell back onto Amanda’s right side. He wasn’t answering any of her questions now.

Holy fuck, Mike! Talk to me!!”

Amanda’s foot was as far down on the accelerator as she dared press it. With both hands on the wheel, she maneuvered the car through the streets, over sidewalks, through red lights.

Holy fuck! How far away is this goddamned hospital? Fuck. Don’t die, Mike! You can’t die. None of us signed up for that. Don’t let those bastards win. We’re the good guys. We win. We gotta win. You gotta live. I cannot bury you. I will not bury you. I will not let them bury you. Fuck you, Mike O’Shea. Fuck you!”

Amanda could hear sirens. Lots of sirens. The road seemed to clear ahead of her. She raced through red lights, marked scout cars now blocking on-coming traffic. She was going too fast for a marked car to get in front of her as an escort, but she could see officers in the distance on foot, waving cars and pedestrians out of the way as she approached. As she got closer to the hospital, every intersection was closed so that she could get through. It was officially another emergency run.

Don’t you die on me, mister,” Amanda whispered, releasing one hand from the steering wheel to gently rub Mike’s head, leaving the other glued to the wheel as she sped through traffic towards the hospital. “We’re all out here for you, buddy. You gotta live, okay? You gotta make it. You’re too good a cop to go out like this. Not now. Please, not now.”

The car screeched around the final corner before Amanda fishtailed into the ambulance bay. A group of scrubs surrounded the waiting gurney. The team quickly removed Mike from the car and whisked him inside, leaving Amanda alone, sitting behind the wheel of the car, shaking, tears streaming down her face.

Don’t die, Mike. Please don’t die,” she whispered through her tears. “Every time one of us dies, a piece of each of us dies. And I’m running out of pieces.”

About Desmond P. Ryan:

For almost thirty years, Desmond P. Ryan worked as a cop in the back alleys, poorly-lit DesAuthorPhotolaneways, and forgotten neighbourhoods in Toronto, the city where he grew up. Murder often most unkind, assaults on a level that defied humanity, and sexual violations intended to demean, shame, and haunt the victims were all in a day’s work. Days, evenings, midnights–all the same. Crime knows no time.

Whether as a beat cop or a plainclothes detective, Desmond dealt with good people who did bad things and bad people who followed their instincts. And now, as a retired detective, he writes crime fiction.

Real Detective. Real Crime. Fiction.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RealDesmondRyan

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DesmondPRyan/

Website: https://realdesmondryan.com/

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.co.uk/l/B07H9MMV81?_encoding=UTF8&redirectedFromKindleDbs=true&ref_=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1&rfkd=1&shoppingPortalEnabled=true

 


#CoverReveal Genesis: Vision Of A New World (Terra Nova 2) by D. Ellis Overttun @neoverttun

Hello lovelies! Today I’m excited to be sharing with you the cover makeover for Genesis: Vision of a new world (Terra Nova book 2) by D. Ellis Overttun, but first a little about the book:

Title: Genesis: Vision of a new world (Terra Nova book 2) by D. Ellis Overttun

Date published: 13th August 2018

Genre: Sci-fi

Description:

A light streaking across the predawn sky, an explosion and an impending menace from above, seemingly unrelated events but connected to space-time distortions predicted by an obscure scientific paper over 250 years ago. That same paper has predicted an end to the universe.

Has the unthinkable become a reality?

The ruling-class Celesti see the danger as real and imminent since planet Arkos could become compromised in as little as 1,000 years. To them, that is one lifetime. That same timeframe is ten lifetimes to the servile-class Gendu. To them, the threat does not even exist.

There are those within the Celesti who see the Gendu as a more immediate threat. Their solution is to genetically engineer a more pliant servant class and leave Arkos for an unknown planet. Is that even possible?

But will it even matter? The leaders of the Celesti, the Transcended, know a terrible secret: The Celesti are dying.

Against this backdrop of extinction lies the politics of power. A new leader has just assumed her role as the head of the Gendu Houses. However, she is an outsider. Will she be accepted or will she be cast out as an interloper?

Also, the leader of the most powerful religious organization on the planet is missing and presumed dead. It is the opportunity of a lifetime for anyone bold enough to seize the moment. Who will fill this void? Someone with a hunger for influence and privilege? Or someone with a calling for higher purpose?

Finally, there is a prophecy from the Codices of Taru which foretells of a time of darkness when the “head will be cleaved from the body” that will announce the coming of the “Deceiver”. Ancient superstition or a vision of the future?

Genesis: Vision of the New World tells this story in vivid detail, an evolution of the narrative begun in Universe: Awakening. As part of this journey, it takes a fascinating look into the world of the Gendu and introduces readers to a host of new characters and relationships. It is a potpourri of science, political intrigue and discovery driven by characters with selfish and selfless motives.


Here is the old cover:

20180713 Genesis - Old Cover (400 DPI)

Now I’ll reveal the new one:

20190330 Genesis - New Cover (400 DPI)

Ta Da! Like the first cover this was also designed by his lovely wife Natasha who you can find on Twitter at @neoverttun.

About The Author:

I grew up in a town in the Midwest, my mother was a bookkeeper for a small HVAC company and my father was a draftsman. At university, I studied chemistry. However, when I graduated, I did not (or could not) pursue that vocation because I was terrible in the lab.

I have been a storyteller ever since I can remember. It started as a way to get out of trouble and evolved as a way to entertain those around me. My first recollection of writing prose was in elementary school when I had to write a short essay about a picture from a magazine. (Mine was a freshly baked loaf of bread.) In grade 7, I penned two short stories for a school writing competition. One was entitled “My Funny Cousin”, a descriptive piece about a relative (a little older than me) who stayed with us one summer. My mother very quickly killed that story. At the time, it didn’t make sense to me because she told me she thought it was very funny. It was only later that I figured out that I could have replaced “Funny” with “Flamboyant” in the title. So, it was back to the drawing board. My second attempt was a collection of anecdotes about the life of my maternal grandfather titled “The Hilarious Things My Grandfather Did”. That one went on to win.

My first complete novel was a story about a soldier of fortune in the age of horse and bow. At the time, I had contact with people in the entertainment business in California. The feedback I got was that I should take one of the chapters and expand it into a novel. That made no sense to me. What the heck did that mean? How could you expand something so small into something big? So, I never pursued it. However, the comment stuck with me. It was only much later that I figured out that it meant that I should never rush the telling of a story.

This brings us to the present and the Terra Nova Series. (Book 2 has just been published and Book 3 is in progress.) I write for an audience of one: my wife. She loves the stories. Now, all I have to do is get 99,999 more like her and I’ll have a hit!