#CoverReveal Knock Knock by Chris Merritt @bookouture @DrCJMerritt

Hello lovelies, I’m very excited to be bringing you a cover reveal for Knock Knock the new novel by Chris Merritt but first a little about the book:

Natasha Mayston wasn’t expecting anyone to knock on her door so late at night and she has no idea that the face staring back at her is the last one she’ll ever see…

As Detective Dan Lockhart is called to a wealthy London street to investigate Natasha’s death, he’s startled by the similarity to another case. Noticing the cable-tie restraints and the tiny scratches on Natasha’s wedding finger, Dan already knows what he will find if he looks in her throat – the small metal ball which choked her to death. He knows for sure that this isn’t the killer’s first victim and that he will strike again.

Months earlier, Kim Hardy was found in the same position in a hotel across the city – the same cable ties around her wrists, lacerations on her left hand and the same silver ball in her throat. But Kim’s murderer was caught and sent to prison – did they arrest the wrong man? Fearing that he’s dealing with a serial killer, Dan calls in psychologist Lexi Green to help with the case.

Then another body is discovered just days later, just as Lexi finds a clue online leading to the killer. Dan and his team aren’t convinced she’s found the right man, but Lexi reaches out to the suspect, putting herself in unthinkable danger. Dan thinks he knows who’s next on the killer’s list. But can he reach her before it’s too late?

Fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Cara Hunter will love this thrilling new series from Chris Merritt. From an explosive start to a heart-stopping finale, you will not want to put this book down!

 Sounds fantastic right? I know I’m looking forward to reading it!

Now here is the gorgeous cover:

Knock-Knock-Kindle

You can pre-order your copy here:

https://geni.us/B0848XBLB3Cover

About The Author: 

Hello! I’m a British author whose crime thrillers combine psychology, suspense, and characters you care about.CURRENT PHOTO

All my novels are set in London, where I live. My first trilogy starred Zac Boateng and Kat Jones, two detectives motivated by family, who tackle organised crime and police corruption. LAST WITNESS, the second Boateng and Jones book, reached #13 in the UK Kindle chart in 2019.

My second series features detective Dan Lockhart – an ex-soldier with a missing wife – and psychologist Dr Lexi Green, an American living in London. These novels are darker, more psychological serial-killer cases, with romantic relationships as a central theme.

I began writing fiction in 2014, after previous careers as a diplomat, based in Iraq and Jerusalem, and later as a psychologist working with victims and perpetrators of crime. I specialised in treating Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), which sparked my interest in telling stories about how people cope when faced with extreme adversity.

Now, I spend most of my time writing novels and drinking coffee while *thinking* about writing novels. When I’m not writing, I love climbing and playing basketball.

You can find out more about my work at www.cjmerritt.co.uk or follow me on Twitter @DrCJMerritt

 

The Children of Never (A War Priests of Andrak Saga) by Christian Warren Freed #Review #TheChildrenofNever #WarPriestsofAndrakSaga @ChristianWFreed @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Title: The Children of Never: A War Priests of Andrak Saga by Christian Warren Freed

Date Published: 30th July 2018

Genre: Fantasy

Description:

The war priests of Andrak have protected the world from the encroaching darkness for generations. Stewards of the Purifying Flame, the priests stand upon their castle walls each year for 100 days. Along with the best fighters, soldiers, and adventurers from across the lands, they repulse the Omegri invasions. 

But their strength wanes and evil spreads. 

Lizette awakens to a nightmare, for her daughter has been stolen during the night. When she goes to the Baron to petition aid, she learns that similar incidents are occurring across the duchy. Her daughter was just the beginning. Baron Einos of Fent is left with no choice but to summon the war priests.

Brother Quinlan is a haunted man. Last survivor of Castle Bendris, he now serves Andrak. Despite his flaws, the Lord General recognizes Quinlan as one of the best he has. Sending him to Fent is his best chance for finding the missing children and restoring order. Quinlan begins a quest that will tax his strength and threaten the foundations of his soul. 

The Grey Wanderer stalks the lands, and where he goes, bad things follow. The dead rise and the Omegri launch a plan to stop time and overrun the world. The duchy of Fent is just the beginning. 

The follow up to the L Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future award winning short: The Purifying Flame, the Children of Never is an all new novel set in a world of raw imagination. Get your copy today!

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Children-Never-Priests-Andrak-Saga/dp/1387986074/ref=sr_1_1?crid=2ZTILN1AVQ06Q&keywords=the+children+of+never+christian+warren+freed&qid=1579528523&sprefix=the+children+of+never%2Caps%2C292&sr=8-1

 

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Children-Never-Priests-Andrak-Saga/dp/1387986074/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=the+children+of+never+christian+warren+freed&qid=1579529018&sr=8-1

The Children of Never banner

Review:

I want to thank Emma at damppebbles blog tours for inviting me on this tour and providing with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

In the duchy of Fent, children are going missing, snatched from their beds by a man brought back to life by magic. After a ghostly vision, Baron Einos, the ruler of Fent has no choice but to petition the legendary Priests of Andrak for help but the missing children is just the beginning of his woes… 

The Children Of Never is a dark yet epic fantasy with plenty of magic, mystical beings, battles and even a little bit of mystery thrown in there.

I don’t read that much fantasy but I found reading this book it didn’t matter, it just pulled me in from the start with its air of mystery and intrigue. I also appreciated the fact that the story wasn’t overly convoluted and I found it easy to follow.

I have just found out that this is the follow up to a short story,The Purifying Flame, something I didn’t realise as I was reading it but I found it fine to read as a standalone.

The writing was descriptive and I could picture things vividly as I read. There was also a large cast of characters and points of view during the book but I managed to follow each of their stories easily, as they were well rounded and unique.

One of the strongest characters, to me, was Lizette. Grieving for her missing child, she uses it to fuel her determination to see an end to the once dead man and get the Baron, to take notice of the villagers plight.

I did have a couple of issues. There was a tendency to switch POV within chapters, even within the same paragraph on occasion, without any real warning. Also, I felt the ending was a little rushed compared with the rest of the story but of course that’s just my opinion.  

If you enjoy your fantasy novels with a dark edge to it, then I would recommend The Children of Never.

About The Author:

Christian W. Freed was born in Buffalo, N.Y. more years ago than he would like tonew author shot 1 remember. After spending more than 20 years in the active duty US Army he has turned his talents to writing. Since retiring, he has gone on to publish over 20 military fantasy and science fiction novels, as well as his memoirs from his time in Iraq and Afghanistan, a children’s book, and a pair of how to books focused on indie authors and the decision making process for writing a book and what happens after it is published.

His first published book (Hammers in the Wind) has been the #1 free book on Kindle 4 times and he holds a fancy certificate from the L Ron Hubbard Writers of the Future Contest. Ok, so it was for 4th place in one quarter, but it’s still recognition from the largest fiction writing contest in the world. And no, he’s not a scientologist.

Passionate about history, he combines his knowledge of the past with modern military tactics to create an engaging, quasi-realistic world for the readers. He graduated from Campbell University with a degree in history and is pursuing a Masters of Arts degree in Digital Communications from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

He currently lives outside of Raleigh, N.C. and devotes his time to writing, his family, and their two Bernese Mountain Dogs. If you drive by you might just find him on the porch with a cigar in one hand and a pen in the other. You can find out more about his work by following him @ https://www.facebook.com/ChristianFreed or on Twitter @christianwfreed.

Social Media:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ChristianWFreed

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ChristianFreed 

Blog: https://christianwfreed.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8137590.Christian_Warren_Freed

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/-/e/B005HP3EOW

damppebbles blog tours

The Cure by Patricia Ann Bowen @WoodsgalWrites @rararesources #BlogTour #AuthorInterview

Hello lovelies! Today on I’m bring you a great Q&A with Patricia Bowen as part of the blog tour for her book The Cure (big thanks to Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for the invite) but first a bit about the book:

THE CURE EBOOK COVER COMPLETE

Title: The Cure: Time Heals Only So Much by Patricia Ann Bowen 

Date Published: May 2019

Genre: Time travel romance/Suspense

Description:

TWO PEOPLE HARBORING SECRETS…

A stranger from the future comes to Paige’s cabin in rural Georgia with a treatment for her early onset Alzheimer’s disease. He bargains with the skeptical patient to give her The Cure if she’ll conduct a longitudinal study for him, proving his drug’s efficacy to a future world full of clients that need it. Faced with her dire diagnosis, he might be her only hope. She grapples with the side effects of his offer and learns to suppress her own dangerous truth: trust no one.

Seldom lucky in love, Paige finds herself competing with her best friend for his attention, knowing there can be no good end for their stolen moments of passion. Can she stay under the radar of the medical and legal communities to carry out his requests? And how will their complicated pasts bring them together physically, emotionally and professionally in a successful, if unethical, partnership?

Many lives will be changed, but at what cost… and to whom?

You can buy your copy here: 

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Cure-Time-Heals-Only-Much-ebook/dp/B07S37YNHC/

US – https://www.amazon.com/Cure-Time-Heals-Only-Much-ebook/dp/B07S37YNHC/

The Cure Full Tour Banner

Q&A with Patricia Ann Bowen

Can you tell me a little bit about your book? 

The Cure is my first major attempt at fiction after writing all sorts of nonfiction in the corporate world (speeches, ads, articles, training material, contracts, etc.). It’s about a woman with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease who meets a man from the future with its cure. He is not exactly the person he seems to be, and a complicated relationship develops between the two, and between the woman’s lifelong friend.

Where did the inspiration for your book come from? 

I was at a meeting of Sisters in Crime when the leader asked the audience to write a quick book blurb and share it. I’d been doing a lot of volunteer work with senior citizens, and my dad had recently passed away with dementia, so the topic of Alzheimer’s was top of mind. I raised my hand with an idea, the audience applauded, and two long years later I published the book.


If you could describe your book in one sentence what would it be? 

The Cure is a hopeful fantasy about a health plague that is ravishing the world.


What is a typical writing day like for you? 

I try to write one thousand words each morning, or work on revisions. When I get bored or stuck I write short stories, then I come back with fresh ideas for the novel.

If you could recommend just one book to read what would it be and why? 

Thoreau’s Walden changed my life. I fell in love with the writing, became an English major, wound up living in the woods for twenty-five years, and became an author of fiction in retirement from the corporate world.

Who are your favourite authors? 

Pascal Garnier, Elena Ferrante, Patricia Highsmith, Flannery O’Connor, and more.

Tell me something interesting about yourself (that’s not in your author bio!) 

Don’t tell anyone I just became a great-grandmother to a delightful child in Australia.

What are you currently working on? 

I’m finishing a second book in the trilogy, tentatively titled Legacy of The Cure, and gathering ideas for a third.

About The Author:

Patricia Bowen writes novels, novellas and short stories, mostly about women withThe Cure - PAB photo complicated lives. She’s been a copywriter, business owner, coach, marketing manager, and held corporate jobs in international business. She pens gardening articles for her local newspaper, and grants to support her local library. Her recent writing has appeared in the Table for Two anthology, The Sun magazine, and earned honourable mention in several contests. The Cure is her first full published work of fiction.

Social Media Links –website is www.patriciabowen.com, on Twitter @WoodsgalWrites, on Facebook @WoodsgalWrites

Darkness On The Fens by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks #BookReview

Title: Darkness On The Fens by Joy Ellis

Date Published: 16th July 2019

Publisher: Joffe Books 

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

Do you love addictive detective mysteries? Then try this book by a multiple #1 best-selling author now. You won’t be able to put it down. It’s a totally enthralling read.

A SERIAL KILLER ON A POISONOUS MISSION PUSHES NIKKI AND HER TEAM TO BREAKING POINT

Revellers are flocking into Greenborough for the yearly Dark Greenborough Festival, a three-day event celebrating local folklore, superstition and the darker side of life.

What the public doesn’t know is that there has been a warning sent to the police, saying that Greenborough will be a very dangerous place this year. The anonymous letter ends with the Latin phrase, Mors certa, hora incerta: Death is certain, the hour uncertain.

DI Nikki Galena and her team soon discover this is no hoax, as people start dying from what appears to be alcoholic poisoning. Things rapidly escalate, and as the deaths get more horrific, Nikki realises they have a serial killer in their midst.

A NIGHTMARE HUNT FOR A KILLER DURING THEIR BUSIEST TIME OF THE YEAR.

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the heart-stopping ending.

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

Review:

Another book that’s been sitting gathering dust on my NetGalley shelf. I heard the next in the series is next month so I thought I had best read this one!

Before I go on I will point out this is the tenth in the series, but it can be read as a standalone without feeling like you’ve missed too much.

A serial poisoner nicknamed the Coachman is terrorising the streets of Greenborough during the annual Dark Greenborough festival, targeting unsuspecting revellers. Nikki Galena and her team are on the case but it’s proving a bit too much for her team. Will she manage to solve it before one of her team takes matters too far?  

Darkness on The Fen is a dark police procedural with a bit of a creepy edge to it.

The mystery was really intriguing and packed with tension, I had no idea who the culprit was until it was revealed. Plus I loved the addition of Eve Anderson, Nikki’s mum, and her band of ‘wrinklies’ getting in on the investigating, they gave it a little bit of light relief with their easy banter and humour. I really would love to see Eve get her own series!

Darkness On The Fens is a fantastic addition to this series and I’d highly recommend it if you love police procedurals.

About The Author:

Joy Ellis grew up in Kent but moved to London when she won an apprenticeship with thejoy ellis prestigious Mayfair flower shop, Constance Spry Ltd.

Many years later, having run her own florist shop in Weybridge, Ellis took part in a writer’s workshop in Greece and was encouraged by her tutor, Sue Townsend to begin writing seriously. She now lives in the Lincolnshire Fens with her partner Jacqueline and their Springer spaniels, Woody and Alfie.

#BlogTour #Review A Dark Matter by Doug Johnstone @doug_johnstone @OrendaBooks @annecater #ADarkMatter #Edinburgh #TheSkelfs

Title: A Dark Matter by Doug Johnstone

Date Published: 23rd January 2020

Publisher: Orenda Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Description:

After an unexpected death, three generations of women take over the family funeral-home and PI businesses in the first book of a brilliant, page-turning and darkly funny new series.

The Skelfs are a well-known Edinburgh family, proprietors of a long-established funeral-home business, and private investigators. When patriarch Jim dies, it ’s left to his wife Dorothy, daughter Jenny and granddaughter Hannah to take charge of both businesses, kicking off an unexpected series of events.

Dorothy discovers mysterious payments to another women, suggesting that Jim wasn’t the husband she thought he was.

Hannah’s best friend Mel has vanished from university, and the simple adultery case that Jenny takes on leads to something stranger and far darker than any of them could have imagined.

As the women struggle to come to terms with their grief, and the demands of the business threaten to overwhelm them, secrets from the past emerge, which change everything… It’s a compelling and tense thriller and a darkly funny, warm portrait of a family in turmoil.

A Dark Matter BT Poster

Review:

I want to thank Anne Cater for inviting me on this epic blog tour and Orenda books for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Wow, A Dark Matter was a complex, dark and utterly fantastic!

There is so much crammed into the just over three hundred pages of this novel, it’s difficult to know where to start, there’s just never a dull moment!

Here’s a sentence I never thought I’d write; funeral directing private investigators are what crime fiction has been missing. Genuinely I don’t think I’ve come across this concept before, especially as all the main characters are all women, and I’ve read a lot of crime fiction over the years.

There are several mysteries run side by side through the novel, each one of them intriguing in their own right. After her husband Jim’s death, Dorothy finds that he’s been sending money every month to a mystery woman. An elderly man thinks his carer is stealing from him so he wants cameras set up to spy on her. Jenny gets involved in an adultery case that seems to be more complicated than she first thought. Jenny’s roommate Mel goes missing but it doesn’t get taken seriously by the police so she decides to investigate herself. 

The family dynamic really makes a dark matter. We follow three generations of the Skelf family, seventy year old Dorothy, forty five year old Jenny and Hannah who is in her twenties. Each one of these characters, at times are not all that likeable but they felt really and flawed.

A Dark Matter is an original, dark and gripping read, I can’t wait to see if there’s a second book. 

About The Author:

Doug Johnstone is the author of ten novels, most recently Breakers (2018),

which has been shortlisted for the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Novel of the Year. Several of his books have been bestsellers and award winners, and his work has been praised by the likes of Val McDermid, Irvine Welsh and Ian Rankin. 

He’s taught creative writing and been writer in residence at various institutions – including a funeral home – and has been an arts journalist for twenty years.

Doug is a songwriter and musician with five albums and three EPs released, and he plays drums for the Fun Lovin’ Crime Writers, a band of crime writers. He’s also player manager of the Scotland Writers Football Club. 

He lives in Edinburgh.

#BlogTour Q&A Sixty Minutes by Tony Salter @rararesources @TonyOxford #AuthorInterview

Hello lovelies! Today I have a fabulous Q&A with author Tony Salter, plus a giveaway to win a copy of Sixty Minutes (see bottom of the post) but first a little about the book:

Sixty Minutes - Kindle Cover

Title: Sixty Minutes by Tony Salter

Date Published: 29th October 2019

Genre: Thriller

Description:

Five different people. Five separate lives. Sixty minutes to bind them for ever.

Hassan, Jim, Shuna, Dan and Nadia come from very different worlds. If life were straightforward, their paths would never cross. But our lives are rarely that simple and, as the clock ticks away the minutes of a single hour on a July morning, fate draws all five together in a headlong rush towards disaster.

Who are the heroes and who are the villains?

Tony Salter’s latest novel leaves us guessing right up to the last page.

You can buy your copy here:

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Sixty-Minutes-nail-biting-race-against-ebook/dp/B07WNRLHGR/

US – https://www.amazon.com/Sixty-Minutes-nail-biting-race-against-ebook/dp/B07WNRLHGR/

Q&A with Tony Salter

Can you tell me a little bit about your book? 

Sixty Minutes is my fourth novel and is somewhat different from my others although it is still very much a thriller. Without giving too much away, I am quite limited, but the novel explores the actions of five very-different characters over a one-hour period. The reasons for each character to be present  (and any connections between them) appear as the story progresses. 

We learn to know and understand all of the characters, although they are not all totally likeable. We see different sides to them, some of which are hopefully unexpected.

The core plot which drives the tension over the sixty minute period is reasonably obvious early on, but the way it plays out remains uncertain until the end. I wasn’t sure how it would finish myself until I reached the final chapters.

It is not trying to be a deep philosophical book, but it does touch onto some some sensitive themes and will hopefully make readers think a little once they’ve finished.

Where did the inspiration for your book come from? 

I imagined the final scene (I can’t remember exactly why) and wrote it as a short story. I then realised that there was much too much room for cliché and stereotype in the short story format and decided to try to address the issues in detail and head on. I am aware that I am setting myself up for accusations of cultural appropriation, but don’t believe it is right to restrict an author’s imagination in that way. I don’t mind if a reader feels my characters aren’t real or even if they think the plot is dull and boring (actually I do mind – a lot), but do believe that an author should have the right to create characters who have very different backgrounds and experiences to the author’s own.

If you could describe your book in one sentence what would it be? 

A tight tense literary thriller which will keep you gripped until the final page.

What is a typical writing day like for you? 

I would normally write at a standing desk for four to five hours after breakfast. I set myself a target of 1500 words, but am happy to stop at 1200 or so, if I’m not feeling focused or if I have  other plans. I might sometimes do an hour or two in the afternoon but not as a rule. I do my basic research and check emails as I go. (thereby breaking the author’s golden rule of not being connected to the internet while writing)

If you could recommend just one book to read what would it be and why? 

Just now, Wake by Anna Hope

Who are your favourite authors? 

Kate Atkinson, Kazuo Ishiguro, David Mitchell, Salman Rushdie … an impossible question!

Is writing your only job? If not, what is your other job? 

I consider writing to be my full-time job now, but am also Chairman of a travel technology company which gives me the luxury of being able to write when I want to.

Tell me something interesting about yourself (that’s not in your author bio!) 

When I was almost eighteen, I hitched down to the South of France from the UK with a friend. We slept on the beach in Cassis and woke up to find that everything we had  was gone. Passports, money, clothes – the lot. It made for an interesting holiday!


What are you currently working on? 

I am working on a new thriller which features one of the characters from Sixty Minutes, Nadia. This will be released in 2020

I am also working in the background on a historical  novel based on my grandmother’s diary which describes her journey from Brighton to Harbin in Manchuria in 1915 (via Newcastle, Norway Sweden, Petrograd and the Transsiberian Express). The book will also cover the six years she spent in Harbin, where she married my grandfather and gave birth to (and lost) her first son. This will probably take a couple of years to complete.

Sixty Minutes Full Tour Banner

About The Author:

Tony’s latest thriller, Sixty Minutes, was released on 29th August 2019. Tony is the author of bestselling psychological thriller, Best Eaten Cold. He writes pacy contemporary thrillers which explore different themes, but all share Tony’s thought-provoking plots and richly-painted characters. Sixty Minutes is his fourth novel. His second novel, The Old Orchard – a gripping family thriller – was published on the 7th of November 2017 and the sequel to Best Eaten Cold, – Cold Intent – was published in November 2018. Highlights of his early career include (in no particular order) three years as an oilfield engineer in the Egyptian desert, twelve years managing record companies for EMI Music in Greece, India and across Eastern Europe, running a caravan site in the South of France and being chauffeur to the French Consul in Sydney. Having survived the Dotcom boom, he went on to be a founder of the world’s largest website for expatriates, a major music publisher and a successful hotel technology business. In amongst this, Tony found the time to backpack around the world twice (once in his twenties and once in his fifties), learn six languages (including Norwegian and Greek) and to find a beautiful Norwegian wife. He now lives in Oxfordshire and writes full-time. He has recently turned sixty and is married with three children and five grandchildren. You can find out more about Tony at www.tonysalter.com 

Social Media Links 

https://twitter.com/TonyOxford 

https://www.facebook.com/tonysalterauthor/

https://www.instagram.com/tonysalter2017/

Giveaway to Win 5 x PB copies of Sixty Minutes (Open INT)

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then Rachel’s Random Resources reserves the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time Rachel’s Random Resources will delete the data.  I am not responsible for dispatch or delivery of the prize.

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494327/?

#BlogTour #Review A Messy Affair by Elizabeth Mundy @ElizabethEMundy @rararesources

AMessyAffair_BFINAL

Title: A Messy Affair by Elizabeth Mundy

Date Published: 2nd January 2020

Publisher: Constable

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

The only way is murder…

Lena Szarka, a Hungarian cleaner working in London, is forced to brush up on her detective skills for a third time when her cousin Sarika is plunged into danger.

Sarika and her reality TV star boyfriend Terry both receive threatening notes.  When Terry stops calling, Lena assumes he’s lost interest. Until he turns up. Dead. Lena knows she must act fast to keep her cousin from the same fate. 

Scrubbing her way through the grubby world of reality television, online dating and betrayed lovers, Lena finds it harder than she thought to discern what’s real – and what’s just for the cameras. 

You can buy your copy here:

UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Messy-Affair-Lena-Szarka-Mysteries/dp/1472126394

US – https://www.amazon.com/Messy-Affair-Lena-Szarka-Mysteries/dp/1472126394

A Messy Affair Full Tour Banner

Review:

This is the third in Lena Szarka series but it can be easily read as a standalone, something I can attest to as I haven’t read the first two. After reading a messy affair the other books in the series have been added to my wishlist.

Lena’s life in London is going from strength to strength, with her own cleaning business but she finds herself in the middle of another mystery after her cousin receives threatening letters as she’s dating a reality TV star Terry Tibbs.

Terry turns up dead but the police think it’s an accident but Lena isn’t convinced. It’s up to her to find out what really happened and stop her cousin from getting hurt.

A Messy Affair is an addictive and entertaining mystery from beginning to end! 

There were plenty of twists and turns, red herrings, even a little bit of romance, all the things I expect from a cosy mystery, but with it being set on the bustling streets of London it made it more gritty which I enjoyed.

I really liked the character of Lena. She’s strong, determined, a hard worker with a big heart who doesn’t suffer fools gladly. Her cousin Sarika, on the other hand, slightly got on my nerves but she’s quite a young character and hopefully she’ll grow as the novels go on.

There were also a few Hungarian words, food etc worked into the story which added that extra bit of authenticity to the characters. 

I just could get enough of A Messy Affair! I will definitely be picking up the other novels in this series when I can.

About The Author:

Elizabeth Mundy’s grandmother was a Hungarian immigrant to America who raised fiveE Mundy profile pic children on a chicken farm in Indiana. Elizabeth is a marketing director for an investment firm and lives in London with her messy husband and two young children. She writes the Lena Szarka Mysteries, featuring a Hungarian cleaner as detective. 
http://www.elizabethmundy.com

Social Media Links – 

Twitter, Facebook and Instagram @ElizabethEMundy

www.elizabethmundy.com