#BlogTour #Extract The Fault by Kitty Sewell #TheFault #KittySewell @honno @damppebbles #damppebblesblogtours

Hello lovelies! My second post of the day is an exclusive extract from The Fault by Kitty Sewell as part of my stop on the blog tour. First a little about the book:

Title: The Fault by Kitty Sewell

Publisher: Honno Press

Date Published: 18th July 2019

Genre: Thriller

Description:

Chilling thriller set on Gibraltar – at the heart of The Rock are secret tunnels, hard to navigate and even harder to escape. Sebastian is a civil engineering prodigy and his latest project is his most ambitious to date: to build a new city on the sheerest face of The Rock. His fiancee, Eva, a diver, is entranced by the penisula’s hidden depths and concerned that her lover doesn’t push himself beyond human limits in his desire to see his dream realised. Mimi, still in her teens, is desperate to spread her wings and chafing at the limits placed on her movements by her overprotective older brother. When Mimi gets into a relationship with a neighbour intent on fighting the new development, Sebastian’s precarious mental health spirals out of control putting them all in danger. When Mimi is lost amidst their twists and turns the race is on to find her before the water rises.

The Fault Blog Tour banner.png

Extract:

The tunnel seemed totally straight for a good twenty minutes of walking, then turned forty-five degrees to the left. She glanced behind her and the pinprick of daylight was no more. Solid rock enclosed them. They moved on, past openings and passages as black and endless as gateways to the underworld.

At an arched six-way intersection, he took a right into a much narrower tunnel and though she resisted, he pulled her firmly along. They hunched their shoulders and ducked to protect their heads from jutting rock edges.

Oh, God, I think that’s enough now.’ A small rivulet of sweat ran down the small of her back. She shivered and tried to steady her voice. ‘Let’s turn back.’

I said I would show you something amazing.’

She was no chicken; at least she refused to show it. Confronting one’s fear – that was her personal motto.

They turned left into a hole in the wall and descended a long set of circular stairs hacked out of the stone. Down and down they went. She felt almost relieved. With some luck, he’d have her out of this mountain and into open air at sea level, maybe right into Casemates Square. She’d seen strange vaults and openings all over the town: all seemed to lead into the Rock.

The stairs ended and they were in another tunnel.

Enough now,’ she said through gritted teeth. ‘I’m not exactly enjoying this.’

This one was dug out during the siege in 1713. Further down there are even older tunnels. They say one of them runs under the strait all the way to Morocco. Can you believe it?’ He was trying to be chatty but his voice was flat and muted in the narrow space. She didn’t want any more damned history, but even so, preferred him talking.

It seemed to her they’d roamed the tunnels for well over an hour, but time could be warped by the lack of indicators. She rarely wore her watch so how could she tell? Maybe it had grown dark outside, maybe it was night. She opened her mouth to ask him, but changed her mind.

She remembered how a guy she’d dated had recounted a pot-holing expedition in France. The group had carried a spool of white string. One end had been tied to a rock at the entrance of the cave and they’d unravelled the spool as they descended along crevasses, crawled on their stomachs through passages and abseiled down chasms, so that it would guide them back out. He’d felt as if his whole existence had been hanging by a thread – ha, ha – but the possibility of losing the white string and getting trapped in the bowels of the Earth had convinced him never to go caving again as long as he lived.

She pulled at his sleeve. ‘How the hell can you remember which way to go?’

I know these tunnels like the back of my hand.’

Really?’

Yes, really.’

And to get back out?’

You’ve asked me that already.’

Seemed preoccupied and was no longer in the mood for reassuring her. Another droplet of moisture ran down her back, yet her skin felt cold and there was a lump in her throat. She swallowed quickly several times, but the lump persisted.

You said it’d take an hour,’ she whispered.

Yes, well, it will if you actually walked. You’re so slow I might as well carry you.’

Lay off! I’m not slow.’

Come on then.’

He grabbed her wrist again and she stumbled along behind him. They were almost running but it seemed somehow effortless.

Aren’t we going downhill?’

No.’

It feels like it. God, I hate this.’

He was quiet for a long while. Too quiet. Then he spoke into the silence. ‘You know I love you, don’t you?’

She stopped short and yanked her wrist from his grasp,

About The Author:

Kitty Sewell was born in Sweden, and has had four successive nationalities, living in the Canary Islands, Central and South America, Canada, England, Wales and Spain where she now lives inkitty sewell the mountains of Andalucía. She is a successful sculptor, and bestselling author. Her books have been translated into 15 languages and she has been short-listed for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award, the Wales Book of the Year, Winner of the “People’s Choice” BBC Radio Wales Prize, and the Bertelsmann Book Clubs International Book of the Month. She also writes as Kitty Harri. With Honno she has published Ice Trap (2005, later bought by Simon & Schuster) and Hector’s Talent for Miracles (2007) as Kitty Harri.

Social Media:

Website: https://kittysewell.com/

Purchase Links:

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Fault-Kitty-Sewell/dp/1909983993/ref=sr_1_1?crid=3RKRQCAYH95SW&keywords=the+fault+kitty+sewell&qid=1565083205&s=gateway&sprefix=the+fault+kitty+%2Caps%2C143&sr=8-1

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Fault-Kitty-Sewell-ebook/dp/B07TGKJV5S/ref=sr_1_1?crid=1WHHZ2BAKDLEX&keywords=the+fault+kitty+sewell&qid=1565083546&s=gateway&sprefix=the+fault+kitty+%2Caps%2C198&sr=8-1

Waterstones: https://www.waterstones.com/book/the-fault/kitty-sewell/9781909983991

Hive: https://www.hive.co.uk/Product/Kitty-Sewell/The-Fault/23651304

Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Fault-Kitty-Sewell/9781909983991


Advertisements

#BlogTour #GuestPost Q&A Noah’s Lament by Jim Ody @Jim_Ody_Author

Hello lovelies! My first post of the day is a fantastic Q&A with Jim Ody as part of the blog tour for his latest book Noah’s Lament but first a little about the book:

Title: Noah’s Lament by Jim Ody

Date Published: 15th August 2019

Genre: Young Adult

Description:

Noah Thomas is seventeen and his world is flawless. He’s handsome, his grades are great

and he’s in love with his best friend Rosie. All is perfect until his dad is caught having an affair with Rosie’s mum.

Unable to cope, his mum runs back to America to a place called Escape; taking him with her. Now, broken hearted in a foreign country, he’s no longer the popular ace student and is struggling to fit in.

Tahli is a troubled soul. Dark and mysterious, she attaches herself to Noah. Instead of finding his feet, he thinks he’s losing his mind. Slowly, he begins to spiral out of control.

In the place that everybody escapes to, could Noah be the first to have a reason to get away?

image1 (2)

Q&A with Jim Ody:

1. Where did the inspiration for Noah’s Lament come from?

The interesting thing about Noah’s Lament is that I had defined parameters. This is #28 of a long running series set in the Colorado town of Escape. This meant that there was a lot of information that I had to be mindful of in regards to lay out, and business owners and locals. I had free rein for the genre, and story content, but everything else had to fit nicely into the series.

At first, I found this a daunting task, but as the story evolved, I became less worried about the details, and more about intertwining the backstory. This was the first time I had a go at writing a YA novel. I was careful to keep to my usual dark style, whilst watering down the content so as it could be in secondary school libraries.

2. If you could describe your book in one sentence what would it be?

A dark take on the a-fish-out-of-water scenario, with a bit of a twist.

3. Out of all the characters in Noah’s Lament, did you have a favourite to write?

Stevie is a great character. He is the new next-door neighbor to Noah in Escape. He is a nerd who instantly sees Noah as a hero. When he gets angry he shouts, “Flat White!” instead of a profanity.

4. What is your favourite genre to write and why?

I touch on many genres, but most are shoot-offs of dark psychological/thrillers. I love to lead the reader, and then whip them around when an unexpected ending. I deal in the relationships of people, as they are so fascinating. Humans do such strange things depending on what their goal is. I observe and use the characters I see in real life to help tell my stories.

5. What is a typical writing day like for you?

I work full time as a Business Analyst, and have three children, therefore my writing starts usually at about 8:30pm. I write for about two hours. It might be new chapters of going back over the writing from the night before. I’ve got into the habit of doing this every day of the week (apart from Saturdays as I tend to watch boxing!).

6. If you could recommend just one book to read what would it be and why?

This is a very hard question. I’m sure my answer would change every six months. Currently, I love You by Caroline Kepnes. I think the raw observational narrative is a good example of exceptional writing. I would also add The Bottoms by Joe R Lansdale as it’s thought-provoking, touching, and funny telling the tales of turn or the century America where money allowed the rich to bully the poor, racism and sexism was accepted, and yet a poor family, does it’s best to get through it. Wonderful emotive writing.

7. Who are your favourite authors?

Again, I have many. The two I’ve mentioned (Caroline Kepnes & Joe R Lansdale), also Dean Koontz, and CJ Skuse. I have to stop there because once I get started, I cannot stop. I enjoy authors who are not scared to push boundaries and who have a unique voice.

8. Tell me something interesting about yourself (that’s not in your author bio!)

I play the drums. I’m self-taught and have played them since I was seventeen (a long time ago!), I even played a couple of gigs! I am a huge fan of music, but it’s the beats and rhythm that I really feel. I listen to music to calm me down when I am feeling anxious. At work, if I cannot put music on then you will see me spinning my pen like a drum stick. I’ve perfected three different ways to spin them.

9. What are you currently working on?

I’ll keep this brief. I have a book called Mr Watcher coming out in November (this is a cross between You and Eyes Wide Shut), then another book coming out in January called The Revenge of Lisa Lipstick (This is a dark revenge vigilante/thriller). However, I’m currently writing a book called The Loss. This is about an accident that affects the lives of three people forever. The story deals with the effects of each character, and eventually comes back in full circle, as we find out the whole truth. Then, I have a more adventure/thriller called Mystery Island, which is about the relationship of a couple who go looking for buried treasure only to end up on an island that holds a huge secret. I expect to release at least five books in the next twelve months.

10. Is there a question you’d wished I’d asked and what is the answer?

Perhaps, What do you like most about writing? My answer is: I write books to produce stories that I want to read. I love to think that these stories are now available for others to enjoy too. I really love seeing people add my books to Goodreads. It makes it all worth it every time I read reviews, either good or bad. The fact that somebody has invested their time in to reading my books is great.

About The Author:

Jim was first published in an English School Textbook in 1987. He won a competition to draw a dog-walking machine. Having won an art competition the year before, he felt that at the age of

For 10 years Jim wrote for a number of websites reviewing and interviewing bands in his own unique way, as well as contributing dark poems and comedic features.

He writes dark psychological/thrillers that have endings that you won’t see coming, and favours stories packed with wit. He has written three novels and a novella all released by Crazy Ink. He has also contributed to around a dozen anthologies. He has a new book called ‘Mr Watcher’ coming very soon!

Jim has a very strange sense of humour and is often considered a little odd. When not writing he will be found playing the drums, watching football and eating chocolate. He lives with his long-suffering wife and three beautiful children in Swindon, Wiltshire UK.

#Review (Audiobook) His Third Victim by Helen H Durrant @hhdurrant @JoffeBooks

Title: His Third Victim by Helen H Durrant

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 16th October 2016

Genre: Police Procedural

Type of book: Audiobook narrated by Tim Bentinck.

Description:

A man is shot dead and his body is dumped on the moors. His arm is stamped with the Chinese symbol for sorry.

There have been five unsolved murders with the same hallmark. The police can’t find any motive or connection between the victims.

Bella Richards was close to the murdered man. She lives with her five-year-old son and has begun a new life in the local area. But although clearly grief-stricken, she is not telling the police everything she knows.

Detective Talbot Dyson wants his most trusted inspector on the case. But DI Matt Brindle is out of action. He was badly injured and his sergeant was killed in a criminal ambush. He is drawn into the investigation and must decide whether he wants to go to back to his old life.

What is the real connection between the victims and who will be next?

This is a detective mystery full of twists and turns, with a stunning edge-of-your-seat ending.

If you like Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Mel Sherratt, Ruth Rendell, or Mark Billingham you will enjoy this exciting new crime fiction writer.

Review:

DI Matt Brindle is still suffering after his last case ended up with his partner dead and him seriously injured. He’s sure he’s done with the police but he’s drawn back in after Alan Fisher, a man he knew is found dead at the hands of a serial killer no less!

They’ve been after this killer for months dubbed ‘the Mr Apology killer’ but they’ve got no leads and no idea who he could be.

Bella Richards was the last one to see Alan Fisher alive but she’s not tell them the whole truth. Will Matt get to the bottom of it before the killer strikes again?

So I really enjoyed the second book in this series so when Helen H Durrant asked me if I’d like an audiobook copy of the first I gladly snapped it up.

Now I’m not one for audiobooks, in fact this only the second I’ve ever listened to but I’ve been suffering from terrible headaches recently and this was perfect to close my eyes and lose myself in.

His Third Victim was a really gripping police procedural with plenty of shocks and surprises along the way.

Matt is a great character, damaged yet you just can’t help warming to him. Even though he grew up in a manor house, he’s down to earth and not stuck up like his mother.

My only issue with the narration was the fact I felt it may have been better if there were two narrators, one for the male voices and one for the female. Not that the narrator did a bad job, but it just didn’t sound quite right when he was doing the female voices.

I hope there will be more from Matt Brindle in the future!

About The Author:

OVER 750,000 books sold of her Calladine & Bayliss and DI Greco Series

I’m one of the ‘baby boomer’ generation. I was born in Edinburgh to an English father and Author photo - helen durrantScottish mother. My father was from the North West of England and this was where the family settled.

I know the area well, both the good and the bad, and so I set my books here. Sitting between two counties, Lancashire and Yorkshire, and between the city and the hills, it offers a rich mix of the industrial and the countryside and all the character therein. I always planned to write crime novels — to create the characters in my books. Since my retirement from a busy teaching job in FE, this is what I’ve done — almost to exclusion of anything else!

I have a grown-up family and five grandchildren. They see me as something of an eccentric — always on my laptop writing away. Writing is something of a second career and, despite having a bus pass, keeps me busy, young and tuned in the world as it currently is.

Twitter: @hhdurrant

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/helen.durrant.12

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Calladine-Bayliss-Detective-Novels/614047648616619?ref=hl

Website: https://www.helenhdurrant.co.uk/

#BlogTour #Review Station Fosaan by Dee Garretson @deegarretson @RRBookTours1 #YA #SciFi

Hi lovelies! Today I have a review of Station Fosaan (Book #1 of the Torch World series) by Dee Garretson. This exciting book is best described as Star Trek: The Wrath of Khan meets Jules Verne’s The Lost World. There’s also a chance to win all sorts of book swag AND a paperback copy of the book (North America only) see bottom of this post but first a bit about the book:

Book Cover (3)

Title: Station Forsaan by Dee Garretson

Date Published: 14th February 2017

Genre: YA Sci-fi

Description:

Scientists and their families stationed on the remote planet of Fosaan were promised a tropical vacation-like experience. But Fosaan, devastated from an apocalyptic event nearly 300 years ago, is full of lethal predators and dangerous terrain. Earthers are forbidden to go beyond the safety zone of their settlement and must not engage the remaining reclusive Fosaanians, native to the planet. 16-year-old Quinn Neen is about to do both of those things.

During an unsanctioned exploration of the planet, Quinn discovers a Fosaanian girl named Mira stealing food from his family’s living unit. But before he can convince her to show him around, scientists are taken captive, leaving Quinn and the other young Earthers at the mercy of space raiders.

Quinn must go from renegade to leader and convince Mira to become an ally in a fight against an enemy whose very existence threatens their lives and the future of Earthers stuck on Fosaan and at home.

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/29439024-station-fosaan?ac=1&from_search=true

Purchase links:

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Station-Fosaan-Torch-World-Book-ebook/dp/B01N6YDB9H/ref=tmm_kin_swatch_0?_encoding=UTF8&qid=&sr=

Amazon UK:

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Station-Fosaan-Torch-World-Book-ebook/dp/B06XSLGJLD/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=station+fosaan&qid=1565858379&s=books&sr=1-1

Review:

Earther Quinn Neen finds a young Fosaan girl by the name of Mira in his family’s living unit, trying to steal food. He’s been told not to mix with the Fosaan’s but Quinn is curious about the world he’s living on and tries to befriend the girl.

Before he gets a chance to explore the world, all the scientists that are based on the planet are kidnapped leaving only their children.

Quinn and his friends, with the help of Mira must fight to stop disaster and find Quinn’s parents. But the Fosaan’s have a lot of secrets…

It’s been a while since I’ve read a sci-fi novel with a sort of adventure/quest storyline so when I read the synopsis for Station Fosaan, I was intrigued.

There were some really good characters. Quinn just seems like a nice person, curious, a little naive but loyal to the core. Mira is a strong and brave, someone you’d want on your side, it’s clear she doesn’t like what is going on with the Fosaan people and wants to help change things for the better.

A little shout out goes to Mags, Quinn’s parrot, who knows a few phrases but provided a little light relief through the story.

The ending rounds it off nicely, so you don’t have to worry about cliffhangers, but also leaves a few questions which will probably get answered as the series goes along.

The world building was quite good, but I felt like I got a little bombarded with it in the first few chapters and didn’t take it all in.

Station Fosaan is a fast paced, imaginative and engaging read and a great start to the series.

Author Bio:

Dee writes middle grade, young adult and adult fiction under her own name and also writes forAuthor Pic (8) the Boxcar Children series under the original author’s name. She lives in Cincinnati, Ohio with her family in a book-cluttered house surrounded by a semi-wild garden. Her two cats Piper and Poppy are her writing companions and the stars of Skype visits with book clubs. When Dee is not writing or reading, she is most likely watching old movies, cooking treats to go along with book reading or trying to learn to make jewellery. 

Social Media links:

Website: http://deegarretson.com/

Twitter: @deegarretson

Facebook: @DeeGarretsonBooks

Instagram: @deegarretsonauthor

Giveaway-

a paperback copy, a key chain/backpack clip and a signed bookmark.

*North America Only

Giveaway Goodies

Link: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/0e7c6a8f96/

Blog Tour Organized By:

R&RButto200x200

R&R Book Tours: http://rrbooktours.com

#Review The Retreat by Sherri Smith #NetGalley #PsychologicalThriller

Title: The Retreat by Sherri Smith

Date Published: 13th August 2019

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Description:

Sherri Smith illuminates the dark side of the self-care and wellness industry in a thrilling ride of revenge perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Nine Perfect Strangers.

Katie Manning was a beloved child star until her mid-teens when her manager attacked and permanently scarred her face, effectively ending her career and sending her on a path of all-too-familiar post-Hollywood self-destruction.

Now twenty-seven, Katie wants a better answer to those clickbait “Where Are They Now?” articles that float around online. An answer she hopes to find when her brother’s too-good-to-be-true fiancée invites her to a wellness retreat upstate. Together with Katie’s two best friends—one struggling with crippling debt and family obligations, one running away from a failed job and relationship—Katie will try to find the inner peace promised at the tranquil retreat. But finding oneself just might drudge up more memories than Katie is prepared to deal with.

Each woman has come to the retreat for different reasons. Each has her secrets to hide. And at the end of this weekend, only one will be left standing.

Review:

Kate Manning is a trouble child star who thinks a wellness retreat, suggested by her brother’s fiancée Ellie, my be just the cure for her car crash of a life. She invites her two best friends, Carmen and Ariel.

When they get there everything quickly turns into a nightmare, until there is only one left standing.

The Retreat is slow burn psychological thriller with a hint of menace and plenty of creepiness running throughout.

Each of the characters were interesting, each with some secret they’re hiding. Ellie seems too perfect, Ariel is running away from something, Kate is struggling, drinking too much  and Carmen desperately needs money to help her family survive. None of them are particularly likeable but I think it works well for this story.

Fair warning there is a fair bit of drug use/sexual scenes scattered throughout the novel which I know some readers may not like.

Then there was the ending. I personally didn’t think it was all that surprising which was a shame because the rest of the story was quite gripping.

Overall The Retreat was creepy and compelling psychological thriller that I’d recommend for fans of this genre.

About The Author:

Sherri Smith has previously written two historical fiction novels for Simon & Schuster UK. Whensherri smith not writing she spends time with her family, three rescue dogs and restores vintage furniture that would otherwise be destined for the dump. She lives in Winnipeg, Canada where the long, cold winters nurture her dark side. FOLLOW ME DOWN (Forge Books, March 2017) is her first thriller.

Double #Review The Puppet Show & Black Summer by M.W. Craven @MWCravenUK

So I actually reviewed The Puppet Show back in May on Goodreads but I never shared it here, so I thought, why not share both my review for The Puppet Show and Black Summer today!

the puppet showTitle: The Puppet Show by M.W Craven

Publisher: Constable

Date Published: 7th June 2018

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

A serial killer is burning people alive in the Lake District’s prehistoric stone circles. He leaves no clues and the police are helpless. When his name is found carved into the charred remains of the third victim, disgraced detective Washington Poe is brought back from suspension and into an investigation he wants no part of . . .

Reluctantly partnered with the brilliant, but socially awkward, civilian analyst, Tilly Bradshaw, the mismatched pair uncover a trail that only he is meant to see. The elusive killer has a plan and for some reason Poe is part of it.

As the body count rises, Poe discovers he has far more invested in the case than he could have possibly imagined. And in a shocking finale that will shatter everything he’s ever believed about himself, Poe will learn that there are things far worse than being burned alive ..

Review:

So I saw lots of fantastic reviews for The Puppet Show last year so I decided to pick up a copy for myself.

Washington Poe is disgraced, living the simple life in the middle of Cumbria when he gets a call. A man the press dubbed the ‘immolation man’ (yes I had to google what immolation meant. Its clever name, perhaps a little too clever for the press of this country) has carved his name on the chest of his latest victim.

He’s dragged into the case whether he likes it or not and with the help social awkward Tilly Bradshaw, he needs to stop the killer before the body count rises any more.

This really started with a bang, a violent and bloody bang to be accurate!

Washington Poe, is just one of the best names I’ve come across in fiction for a while and suits his character down to the ground. He’s complex and more than a little grumpy but what I loved about him was the way he stood up to bullies particularly the ones picking on poor Tilly.

I also loved the relationship between Poe and Tilly. He accepts her quirks and bluntness which annoy pretty much everyone around her and she seems to be the voice of reason for him. Doesn’t stop him from aggravating his superiors and going off to do risky things but there’s not as much fun if the characters follow the rules is there?

Another enjoyable aspect of the book was the setting of Crumbria, both beautiful and at times a little bleak, it was almost a character in itself.

I have to be honest it did take me a while to really get into this book, I felt after the violent and gripping start the story meandered a little before really getting juicy with a gripping ending.

I’d recommend this to any one who loves a gritty and gruesome serial killer novel with great characters.

black summerTitle: Black Summer by M.W Craven

Publisher: Constable

Date Published: 20th June 2019

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

After The Puppet Show, a new storm is coming . . .

Jared Keaton, chef to the stars. Charming. Charismatic. Psychopath . . . He’s currently serving a life sentence for the brutal murder of his daughter, Elizabeth. Her body was never found and Keaton was convicted largely on the testimony of Detective Sergeant Washington Poe.

So when a young woman staggers into a remote police station with irrefutable evidence that she is Elizabeth Keaton, Poe finds himself on the wrong end of an investigation, one that could cost him much more than his career.

Helped by the only person he trusts, the brilliant but socially awkward Tilly Bradshaw, Poe races to answer the only question that matters: how can someone be both dead and alive at the same time?

And then Elizabeth goes missing again – and all paths of investigation lead back to Poe.

Review:

So this is the second in the series but it can be easily read as a stand-alone but I suggest if you’ve got the time, you should read the Puppet show too, because it’s such a good book.

Poe’s past comes back to haunt him as Elizabeth Keaton, a young woman he thought dead, turns up at a local library. Her father Jared Keaton has spent six years in jail for her murder. Jared is complete psychopath, out for revenge and he has Poe in his sights.

Elizabeth goes missing, again, Poe is the one and only suspect. Can he clear his name and solve this puzzling mystery?

It’s nice to be back with Poe and Tilly! I absolutely could not get enough of this dark and disturbing sequel, it really kept me on my toes while I was reading it! Dare I say it’s even better than the first book…

I think this series would make a brilliant TV show. It’s got everything, quirky detectives, great setting and intriguing mysteries…what more could you want?

Poe is the type of character that seems to get into trouble no matter what. He is a brilliant detective but has the ability to rub people up the wrong way, specifically police officers, but just can’t help but warm to him.

Like with the first book, I found the beginning a little slow but it soon picked up the pace and had me gripped.

Black Summer is a dark and thrilling mystery that I couldn’t get enough of. I can’t wait to see what this author does next!

About The Author:

M. W. Craven was born in Carlisle but grew up in Newcastle, running away to join the army at the tender age of sixteen. He spent the next ten years travelling the world having fun, leaving in 1995 to complete a degree in social work with specialisms in criminology and substance misuse. Thirty-one years after leaving Cumbria, he returned to take up a probation officer position in Whitehaven, eventually working his way up to chief officer grade. Sixteen years later he took the plunge, accepted redundancy and became a full-time author. He now has entirely different motivations for trying to get inside the minds of criminals . . .

The Puppet Show, the first in a two-book deal he signed with the Little, Brown imprint, Constable in 2017, was released to critical acclaim in hardback in 2018. It has been sold in numerous foreign territories and the production company Studio Lambert, creators of the award-winning Three Girls, have optioned it for TV. The sequel, Black Summer, follows in June 2019.

M. W. Craven is married and lives in Carlisle with his wife, Joanne. When he isn’t out with his springer spaniel, or talking nonsense in the pub, he can be found at punk gigs and writing festivals up and down the country.

Website: mwcraven.com
Twitter: @MWCravenUK

#BlogTour #Review The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook by Morgen Bailey @morgenwriteruk @BOTBSPublicity

Title: The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook by Morgen Bailey

Genre: Non Fiction/Writing

Description:

Over a thousand sentence starts, three per day, with writing tips at the end of each week to motivate and inspire, providing kick-starts to avoid the dreaded ‘writer’s block’. Useful for any writer at any level, whether they have 10 minutes or 10 hours, to start a new project. Also an ideal tool for writing groups.

With a combination of six first-person, six second-person, six third-person and three non-specific point of view starts per week, there are plenty to choose from. Beginning at ‘Day 1’ this book has been designed to be started at any time of the year, and regardless of whether the sentences are used in order or not. With a choice of three per day a writer can select one, two or all and see where it leads them.

Add a subheading (1)

Review:

A huge thank you to Sarah Hardy at Books On The Bright Side Publicity for inviting me on this blog tour and providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook is a great book that really gives your creative spark a boost!

As the title suggests there are 365 days worth of writing prompts. You can do an exercise every day if you want to or like me dip in and out when you need that extra bit of assistance.

Each day you’re given three lines, in a different tense or point of view which you can use to start a story. The great thing is you can use as many lines as you want, you can even change the POV or names or tense, mix and match lines from different days, there’s endless possibilities!

When I got my hands on this book I was really suffering from maybe not full blown writer’s block but I’d really hit a wall with my writing. I used a couple of the prompts and while the stories I wrote were not the best, it really helped me get back into writing.

The 365-Day Writer’s Block Workbook is a fab little book that every writer should have in their toolbox.

Author Bio:

Morgen Bailey – Morgen with an E – is a multi-genre author, freelance editor, writing tutor, writing competitions magazine columnist and judge, blogger, and speaker.2 Morgen July 2017

Her website is www.morgenbailey.wordpress.com, email is morgen@morgenbailey.com, she is morgenwriteruk on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.

Her books can be found at Amazon.com (http://www.amazon.com/Morgen-Bailey/e/B007SNIBF8, http://www.amazon.co.uk/Morgen-Bailey/e/B007SNIBF8 etc.),

Smashwords (https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/morgenbailey) and wherever books can be ordered.