Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase @bookouture @ClareChase_ #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 6th January 2021

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

After the black sheep of the Fulton family is found dead, the village of Saxford St Peter is quick to blame it on his past misdeeds. But Eve Mallow is on the hunt for someone closer to home…

When the down-on-his-luck Emory Fulton moves into crumbling Magpie Lodge, and starts running historical tours, the locals are none too pleased. He’s inventing grisly tales about their lovely little village, and disturbing everyone’s peace.

But then he’s found dead in his bath, and everyone is suddenly running scared. Could something strange be happening? After all, the murder mirrors one of Fulton’s stories about Saxford’s dark past…

But Eve Mallow is sure the answers lie in much more recent events.

Accompanied by her stalwart dachshund sidekick Gus, she starts to dig a little deeper. Could it be Fulton’s snobbish bigwig brother, or the suspicious local academic? Why was his goddaughter handing him mysterious parcels, and why wouldn’t his sister-in-law let him in her house?

As Eve unravels the secrets of the living and the dead, one thing is for sure: Fulton was a haunted, hunted man. And if Eve doesn’t crack the case soon, she might find whoever wanted to keep Fulton quiet on her trail too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B09BDDMH3Xsocial

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with a copy of Mystery at Magpie Lodge in exchange for an honest review. 

I read the first few of this series but it’s been awhile since I picked up an Eve Mallow mystery and it felt kind of like catching up with an old friend that I haven’t seen in ages.

When former ghost hunter and TV personality Emory Fulton is found murdered, obituary writer and amateur detective Eve Mallow is drawn into the investigation. The more she digs, the trickier and more dangerous it gets. 

This is one of those cozy mysteries that has everything you want. A gossipy village atmosphere, likeable sleuth with an adorable animal companion in the form of Gus the dachshund and plenty of suspects to choose from. I genuinely feel that this series is crying out for a TV adaptation.

I enjoyed the hint of the supernatural. Eve is still an ardent sceptic, even though she’s had a few ghostly experiences herself.

I love reading along and seeing if I can guess the culprit, but this book had me well and truly stumped.

Mystery at Magpie Lodge is a light-hearted mystery that will both entertain and keep you guessing until the very end.

About The Author:

Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.

Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.

Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Website: www.clarechase.com 

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/

Author: Ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

4 thoughts on “Mystery at Magpie Lodge by Clare Chase @bookouture @ClareChase_ #BooksOnTour #BookReview”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: