#BookReview Why She Ran by Geraldine Hogan @gerhogan @bookouture #BooksOnTour

Title: Why She Ran by Geraldine Hogan

Date Published: 19th December 2019

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

‘Rachel. They must have made a mistake. A mother would know?’ She let her words pour into the emptiness of the kitchen. She began to shiver. ‘I can’t feel anything,’ she said softly and rocked back and forth, as if she was a huge child, seeking solace in the simple gesture.

When young, pretty nurse Rachel McDermott is found murdered in the harsh lights of the hospital kitchen where she works, her mother can’t accept the news, and the small Irish town of Corbally reels in disbelief. Rushing to the scene, Detective Iris Locke vows to find the sick killer, whatever it takes.

The last person to see Rachel alive was her close friend, sixteen-year-old Eleanor Marshall, a troubled teenager, estranged from her family. Eleanor was spotted fleeing the kitchen where Rachel’s body was found and becomes the main suspect. Iris has a search party combing the endless woods near the Comeragh mountains where they believe she is hiding. But Iris is consumed with worry for the vulnerable girl and can’t shake a prickly disquiet that Eleanor shouldn’t be a suspect.

Eleanor’s sister agrees but a day later, when she is found dead in the area Eleanor is hiding, things don’t look good for the runaway teen. Iris can’t see Eleanor, who still sleeps with her childhood teddy bear, as someone who would kill her little sister and her best friend, but all the evidence seems to point that way.

Sleep-deprived and desperate to find the truth, Iris takes a closer look into Rachel’s background and discovers that she was keeping strange, shadowy company the night before she died. Convinced that Eleanor is in terrible danger, Iris sets out to find her, in the icy-cold woods, alone. But what if somebody else makes their way through the darkness and reaches Iris and Eleanor first?

This gripping mystery thriller is perfect for fans of Carol Wyer, Robert Dugoni and LJ Ross.  

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon:  https://amzn.to/2YFZYBm

Kobo: https://bit.ly/2PfIskk

Google Play: https://bit.ly/38wcw2B

Apple Books: https://apple.co/2t7kC1r

Blog Tour - Why She Ran

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

It’s funny in my last review I was saying that I hadn’t really read any police procedurals set in Ireland but now I’ve read two in a row! Funny how that happens.

So this is actually the second in the Iris Locke series, having not read the first I would probably recommend you start there as Iris’ backstory carries over. Although if, like me, you’re too impatient to do that the story works well as a standalone but I still feel like I could go back and read the previous book without worrying too much about spoilers. 

Iris and her partner DS Slattery are called out to Curlew Hall, a place for troubled youngsters, where a young woman Rachel McDermott has been found brutally murdered and her young charge Eleanor has disappeared.

Could this vulnerable young woman be capable of murder? If not why did she run?

Why She Ran is a well written, intense and realistic police procedural.

The story was told from several points of view, mostly Iris and Slattery who I really warmed to. They are both damaged in their own ways but work well together as a team. I also like the way the author managed to weave in the character’s back story seamlessly along with the main story line. 

The pace was steady, maybe a little slow at times, but it really built up the tension until I couldn’t stop turning those pages desperate to know what happens to the characters.

Why She Ran is a solid police procedural with compelling characters that really draws you in and doesn’t let you go. 

About The Author:

Geraldine Hogan was born in Ireland. She gained an Honors Degree in English Literature81pcATwVdDL._US230_ and Psychology from Dublin City University and a Postgraduate Degree in Training and Management from University College, Galway. She is an Irish award-winning and bestselling author of four contemporary fiction novels under the pen name Faith Hogan.

HER SISTER’S BONES is her first crime novel, her second WHY SHE RAN is due out in December 2019.

She is currently working on her next novel. She lives in the west of Ireland with her husband, four children and a very busy Labrador named Penny. She’s a writer, reader, enthusiastic dog walker and reluctant jogger – except of course when it is raining!

You can find out more about Geraldine here:

http://www.Facebook/GeraldineHoganAuthor.com

Twitter @gerhogan

https://www.instagram.com/faithhoganauthor/?hl=en