#UltimateBlogTour #Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone @C_L_Johnstone @The_WriteReads @ScribnerBooks @WriteReadsTours #BookPromo

Hello lovelies! Today I have a Book Spotlight for the debut novel Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone as part of the Write Reads Ultimate blog tour.

Title: Mirrorland by Carole Johnstone

Date Published: 20th April 2021

Publisher: Scribner Books

Genre: Thriller

Description:

Twelve years ago my life began again.

But it was a lie.

With the startling twists of Gone Girl and the haunting emotional power of Room, Mirrorland is the story of twin sisters, the man they both love, and the dark childhood they can’t leave behind.

Cat lives in Los Angeles, about as far away as she can get from her estranged twin sister El and No. 36 Westeryk Road, the imposing gothic house in Edinburgh where they grew up. As girls, they invented Mirrorland, a dark, imaginary place under the pantry stairs full of pirates, witches, and clowns. These days Cat rarely thinks about their childhood home, or the fact that El now lives there with her husband Ross.

But when El mysteriously disappears after going out on her sailboat, Cat is forced to return to the grand old house, which has scarcely changed in twenty years. No. 36 Westeryk Road is still full of shadowy, hidden corners, and at every turn Cat finds herself stumbling on long-held secrets and terrifying ghosts from the past. Because someone—El?—has left Cat clues all over the house: a treasure hunt that leads right back to Mirrorland, where she knows the truth lies crouched and waiting…

A sharply crafted mystery about love and betrayal, redemption and revenge, Mirrorland is a propulsive, page-turning debut about the power of imagination and the price of freedom. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Daphne du Maurier.

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08BZXHFR2/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/54304146

About The Author:

Carole Johnstone is an award-winning writer from Scotland, whose short stories have been published all over the world. Mirrorland, a psychological suspense with a gothic twist, is her debut novel.

Having grown up in Lanarkshire, she now lives in the beautiful Argyll & Bute, and is currently working on her second novel: a very unusual murder-mystery, set in the equally beautiful Outer Hebrides.

More information on the author can be found at carolejohnstone.com.

Kate In Waiting by Becky Albertalli @beckyalbertalli @WriteReadsTours #UltimateTour #KateInWaiting #thewritereads

Title: Kate In Waiting by Becky Albertalli

Date Published: 20th April 2021

Publisher: Penguin

Genre: YA Contemporary

Description:

From bestselling YA rom-com queen Becky Albertalli (author of Love, Simon) comes a new novel about daring to step out of the shadows and into the spotlight in love, life and theatre.

[PRINCIPAL CAST LIST]
Kate Garfield
Anderson Walker

Best friends, and contrary to popular belief, not co-dependent. Examples:

Carpooling to and from theatre rehearsals? Environmentally sound and efficient.
Consulting each other on every single life decision? Basic good judgment.
Pining for the same guys from afar? Shared crushes are more fun anyway.

But when Kate and Andy’s latest long-distance crush shows up at their school, everything goes off-script.

Enter Stage Left: Matt Olsson

He is talented and sweet, and Kate likes him. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Anderson.

Turns out, communal crushes aren’t so fun when real feelings are involved. This one might even bring the curtains down on Kate and Anderson’s friendship…

Review:

I want to thank The Write Reads Tours for inviting me on this blog tour and the publisher for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I’ve heard such good things about Becky Albertalli books but this is actually the first I’ve read but it certainly won’t be the last!

Kate in waiting was a combination of humour, teen angst and a good dollop of the awws!

Now I’m probably not the age range that this book is aimed at, but it didn’t stop me from enjoying every minute of it!

The story follows sixteen-year-old Kate and her best friend Anderson, who share everything, even crushes. It’s all fun until their summer crush Matt turns up at their school and they both fall for him hard. Their friendship comes into question all to the backdrop of their annual musical.

What I loved about this book was how real the characters felt, their conversations, their friendships and even the language they used. Anderson and Kate’s friendship was the kind that you want, that they know you so well it’s like they can read your mind.

Reading this made me feel so nostalgic, it reminded me so much of films and TV from my own teenage years (except with a hell of a lot more inclusivity!). I also loved the theatre theme, even though I probably only got about fifty percent of the references.

I would have liked to have seen a bit more of Kate and Anderson’s other friends, Brandie and Raina. I would definitely be up for reading a future book featuring those two!

Kate In Waiting is a charming read of love and friendship that honestly had me smiling throughout.

About The Author:

Becky Albertalli is the author of the acclaimed novels Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda (film: Love, Simon), The Upside of Unrequited, and Leah on the Offbeat. She is also the co-author of What If It’s Us with Adam Silvera. A former clinical psychologist who specialized in working with children and teens, Becky lives with her family in Atlanta. You can visit her online at www.beckyalbertalli.com.

Twitter: @beckyalbertalli

#Ultimateblogtour #Review The Written by Ben Galley @BenGalley #TheWriteReads #TheWritten

written tour cover

Title: The Written (The Emaneska series 1) by Ben Galley

Date Published: 1st December 2010

Genre: Fantasy

Description:

His name is Farden.
They whisper that he’s dangerous.
Dangerous is only the half of it.

Something has gone missing from the libraries of Arfell. Something very old, and something very powerful. Five scholars are now dead, a country is once again on the brink of war, and the magick council is running out of time and options.

Entangled in a web of lies and politics and dragged halfway across icy Emaneska and back, Farden must unearth a secret even he doesn’t want to know, a secret that will shake the foundations of his world. Dragons, drugs, magick, death, and the deepest of betrayals await.

Welcome to Emaneska.

https://www.amazon.com/Written-Special-Emaneska-Ben-Galley/dp/0956770010/ref=sr_1_1?keywords=the+written&qid=1555334839&s=gateway&sr=8-1

Review:

As with my last review I said I wanted to read more fantasy, so I ended up reading two in the space of a week lol!

I want to thank the Write Reads Tours for inviting me on this blog tour and providing me with a copy of The Written in exchange for an honest review.

Farden is a member of The Written, an elite group of magicians. When a book of dark magic is stolen from a group of scholars, it brings Emaneska to the brink of war. Farden is tasked with finding who is behind it. But who can he trust?

Goodness me, The Written is a rip roaring adventure, full of magic, mayhem and talking dragons!

I feel like it’s a real balancing act with the start of a fantasy series, getting the right amount of world building coupled with introduction of characters and leaving enough unanswered questions or storyline threads for the next novel. Ben Galley manages this so well with The Written. It’s jam packed with vivid imagery, great world building and action that I really enjoyed.

My favourite aspect was of course the talking dragons. I love dragons in general, but the way they were written was a new an interesting way, at least to me. Each dragon has their rider, a siren, and they have an unbreakable bond which I thought was kind of sweet.

Now, the main character Farden is not all that likeable. He has a cocky attitude and lone wolf mentality but I think the author explain why he is the way he is well and I still ended up wanting to succeed and actually liking him a bit.

A little warning for those of you who don’t enjoy swearing, drug usage, blood or violence this may not be the novel for you. I personally had no problem with it as it wasn’t too overdone.

I have to be honest there was a bit of predictability with the story, I sussed the bad guy out quite early on, which meant for me certain parts of the story dragged a little, especially near the end but of course that’s just my opinion.

This is such a good start to a series and I’d recommend this to anyone who loves action packed adventures, even if you’re not a fan of fantasy novels.

The Written Banner2

About The Author:

Ben Galley is an author of dark and epic fantasy books who currently hails from Victoria, written tour ben galleyCanada. Since publishing his debut The Written in 2010, Ben has released a range of award-winning fantasy novels, including the weird western Bloodrush and the epic standalone The Heart of Stone. He is also the author of the brand new Chasing Graves Trilogy.

 

@BenGalley