#BlogTour #Review The Truth About Murder by Chris Collett @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Title: The Truth About Murder by Chris Collett

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 19th December 2019

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Description:

ATTACK, KIDNAP, MURDER

Stefan Greaves emerges from a coma. He was brutally mugged while investigating a whistleblower complaint at a local hospital. She had feared mortality rates of children on her ward born with terminal illnesses and disabilities were on the rise. Now the whistleblower has disappeared.

PC Mick Fraser is sent in to interview Greaves. His partner, PC Denny Sutton, has just been murdered. 

Then the whistleblower is discovered murdered and Fraser learns that Sutton had been stealing evidence to cover up crimes against those considered to be a drain on society: homeless and disadvantaged people and the mentally ill. 

HOW ARE THESE CRIMES LINKED?

A fiendishly complex puzzle emerges. Can these two detectives learn to trust each other enough to put the pieces together?
 
Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.
 
What readers are saying about Chris Collett

“I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara
 
“Definitely one of the best British crime novels I have read, with a great plot that twist and turns.” Terje

“A brilliantly well thought out mystery with plenty of red herrings.” Jacqueline

“A strong pace and multidimensional characters keep this British procedural moving briskly.” Library Journal

“Cleverly plotted, with an unexpected shock ending, plenty of suspense, and a likably genuine cast of characters, this is a strong new entry in an increasingly popular police-procedural series.” Booklist

“Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.” Yorkshire Post

ALSO BY CHRIS COLLETT

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7: Missing Lies

THE FIRST THREE MARINER MYSTERIES ARE AVAILABLE IN A GREAT VALUE BOX SET: DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3

Blog Tour banner Truth about murder

Review:

I want to thank Jill Burkinshaw at Books n All promotions for inviting me on this tour and Joffe books for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

So I love Christ Collett’s DI Mariner series so when I saw that she was releasing a standalone crime thriller I was intrigued.

Stefan Greaves is approached by Rita Todd about infant death at the hospital she works at. Later on, Stefan is mugged and Rita disappears. 

PC Mick Fraser is assigned to Stefan’s case but without much evidence to go on, the investigation stalls.

Rita’s body turns up and it’s assumed as suicide but Rita’s daughter isn’t convinced. With the help of Mick, Stefan must get to the bottom of a terrifying conspiracy and find out what really happened.

The Truth About Murder is a twisty and complex tale which I found quite unsettling at times, although I do think this would make a fantastic TV series!

The story follows two perspectives, Stefan Greaves, a paralegal who suffers from cerebral palsy and PC Mick Fraser, a Scottish policeman who’s just moved to Charnford. 

They are both really strong characters but Stefan just edged ahead for me. Also Stefan having a disability (although we don’t find out the true extent of this until later in the novel) really added that extra dimension to the story showing some of the difficulties he faces. I also liked Stefan’s emo personal assistant Plum, she’s full of attitude but has a kind heart.

The underlying theme in this story is quite harrowing especially regarding disability and how it is treated. And there are certain parts of the story, in our current political climate, I thought to myself, I could actually see this happening, which were truly terrifying.

I did have an issue with the layout, Stefan’s perspective was written in normal writing but Mick’s was written in italics. I know this was done so you could tell the difference between the two first person perspectives but going from one to the other made my eyes go a little funny!

The Truth About Murder is realistic police procedural which will equally enthrall and chill you to your core.  

I know this is currently a standalone novel but I would love to see some more from these characters.

About The Author:

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to goChris Collett author photo jpg in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Website: http://www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

Twitter:  @crime_crow

%d bloggers like this: