Mystery On Hidden Lane (Eve Mallow Mystery 1) by Clare Chase @bookouture @ClareChase_ #BookReview #BooksOnTour

Title: The Mystery On Hidden Lane (Eve Mallow Mystery 1) by Clare Chase

Date Published: 30th January

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard’s life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she finds that he’d ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there’s barely a person in town who doesn’t have some reason to hate him… is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she’s met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before… but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B07ZVYJ8WJSocial

Mystery on Hidden Lane - Blog Tour

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for my copy of The Mystery On Hidden Lane in exchange for my honest opinion.

The Mystery On Hidden Lane is a gently paced cosy mystery, perfect to escape reality for a few hours. 

It has everything a classic cosy mystery should, a determined amateur sleuth, an idyllic setting and of course a puzzling mystery

Eve was a very likeable main character. Half English, half American, she has an exceptionally annoying ex husband and a very cute sounding dachshund called Gus. She works in a school but as a side venture she writes obituaries which makes her a little nosey as every good amateur sleuth should be.

The descriptions throughout the book are wonderfully done, I could almost picture myself in the village of Saxford St Peter, whether it be enjoying a cake at Viv’s tea shop or going down to the beach for a walk. The author also captures the gossipy nature of the village where it seems that everyone knows everyone.

As it is the first book in the series a lot of it was taken up by setting the scene, introducing the characters etc so the pace did slow a little at times.

The Mystery On Hidden Lane is a nice introduction to this series and I look forward to seeing what Eve’s next mystery will be!

About The Author:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University Clare Chase landscapewith a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/