#BlogTour #Review The Siren And The Specter by Jonathan Janz @JonathanJanz #RandomThingsTours

Title: The Siren And The Specter by Jonathan Janz

Publisher: Flame Tree Press

Date Published: 6th September 2018

Genre: Horror

Description:

When David Caine, a celebrated sceptic of the supernatural, is invited by an old friend to spend a month in “the most haunted house in Virginia,” he believes the case will be like any other. But the Alexander House is different.

Built by a 1700s land baron to contain the madness and depravity of his eldest son, the house is plagued by shadows of the past and the lingering taint of bloodshed. David is haunted, as well. For twenty-two years ago, he turned away the woman he loved, and she took her life in sorrow.

And David suspects she’s followed him to the Alexander House.

You can pick up your copy here: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Siren-Specter-Fiction-Without-Frontiers/dp/1787580059/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1533818999&sr=8-1&keywords=the+siren+and+the+specter

Review:

When famous writer and sceptic David Caine is invited by his old Chris and his wife Katherine to stay in America’s most haunted house, the Alexander House, he leaps at the chance and the opportunity to write his next book on it. His idol John Weir was last seen at the house, a man also famous for debunking ghosts and demons and he’s desperate to get to the bottom of what happened to him.

When David arrives he soon meets the neighbours Honey and Michael Shelby and their foul mouthed son Mike Jr and sweet daughter Ivy. Something is not quite right about them, in fact there something not quite right about the whole place.

Eerie things start to happen, voice singing in the night time, the temperature dropping for no apparent reason, the feeling of someone or something watching him which makes him even more determined to prove there is no ghosts within the house.

But David has his own ghosts to battle with in the form of his ex girlfriend Anna who committed suicide twenty years earlier. As he starts to explore the surrounding area he finds it’s very familiar, in fact he used to visit there with Anna years ago. Is it just a coincidence or is there something more? Will he get to the bottom of the mystery or will he lose his life in the process?

If like me you’re a bit of a wuss when it comes to anything scary, do not read this book at night time! I made the mistake of doing just that and spent half the night trembling under my covers.

I can honestly say there was never a dull moment in the story. The Siren and The Specter is packed with murder, mystery and the macabre and I found myself, even though I was terrified, wanting to read on. Jonathan Janz has a fantastic writing style that gripped me from the very beginning with it’s fantastically flawed characters and unnerving setting.

At first I didn’t like David that much. He’s a bit of a womaniser who always thinks he’s right and frankly a little bit pompous but as the story goes on you find out more his history which made me understand him a little bit more. Also the fact that he goes ghost hunting when he seems to be terrified of actually meeting a real ghost amused me no end.

The only warning I will is there are scenes of child neglect and talk of abuse which people may find a little upsetting (I know I did).

The Siren And The Specter is a twisted and creepy that I recommend to fans of haunted house mysteries and ghostly tales.

I’m actually looking forward to reading more of Jonathan Janz’s books even though this one scared the living daylights out of me!

Rating: 4/5

Check out the other amazing blogger on the tour here:

The Siren and the Specter Blog Tour Poster

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Jonathan Janz is the author of more than a dozen novels and numerous short stories.Jonathan Janz

His work has been championed by authors like Joe R. Lansdale, Jack Ketchum, and Brian Keene; he has also been lauded by Publishers Weekly, the Library Journal, and the School Library Journal.

His novel Children of the Dark was chosen by Booklist as a Top Ten Horror Book of the Year.

Jonathan’s main interests are his wonderful wife and his three amazing children.

You can sign up for his newsletter (http://jonathanjanz.us12.list-manage….), and you can follow him on

Twitter @JonathanJanz

Instagram @jonathan.janz

Advertisements

#BlogTour #Review #Hellcorp by Jonathan Whitelaw @urbanebooks @JDWhitelaw13 #LoveBooksGroupTours

Title: Hellcorp by Jonathan Whitelaw

Publisher: Urbane Publications

Date Published: 5th July 2018

Genre: Thriller | Supernatural | Humour

Description:

A writer to watch.”
Gareth L. Powell, winner of the BSFA award for best novel

Sometimes even the Devil deserves a break!

Life is hard for The Devil and he desperately wants to take a holiday. Growing weary from playing the cosmic bad guy, he resolves to set up a company that will do his job for him so the sins of the world will tick over while he takes a vacation. God tells him he can have his vacation just as soon as he solves an ancient crime.

But nothing is ever easy and before long he is up to his pitchfork in solving murders, desperate to crack the case so he can finally take the holiday he so badly needs…

This is a perfectly-pitched darkly comic crime novel that is ideal for fans of Christopher Fowler and Ben Aaranovitch.

You Can Buy A Copy Here:

Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2vROT5v
Amazon US:
https://amzn.to/2Knh7bF
Foyles:
http://bit.ly/2r6cklS
Waterstones:
http://bit.ly/2vWLvWU

hellcorp

Review:

I want to thank Kelly at Love Books Group for inviting me on this tour and Urbane Publications for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Devil is drowning in paperwork with a constant headache and he just wants a break.

So he goes to see the Pope, God’s supposed eyes and ears, telling him he wants Hell to become a legit business, a place for arts and culture. Of course when God hears about that he has other plans and proves He can be just as tricky as the Devil.

Thrust into a human body, with the help of Dr Jill Gideon he must uncover the murderer of Anton Baggio but it’s not going to be easy, especially when Hell wants to drag him back again.

I have to say this has to be one of the quirkiest and funniest detective books I’ve ever read! The Devil playing detective is definitely an original concept or at least I’ve never read anything like this book.

I know this sounds a bit wrong but I think I’d like to meet The Devil, if he’s the way he’s portrayed in this book mind. He’s sarcastic, unintentionally funny although he does have the habit of getting himself and those around him into trouble. He also has a bit of a thing for his receptionist Alice, a larger lady (he likes a big bum) who’s in Hell for killing her husband.

Then we have Doctor Jill Gideon who is incredibly likeable. She’s tough but vulnerable at the same time and there were times that I just wanted to give her a hug! I loved the way she and the Devil bounce off each other, trying to show him that humans are just the animals he thinks they are, occasionally he listens to her.

I do wish though there had been a little bit more creepiness, just because he is the devil and all but that’s just me being a bit fussy.

Hellcorp is a very cleverly written book, with plenty of humour, perfect if you’re looking for something a bit different.

Rating: 4/5

About The Author:

Jonathan Whitelaw is an author, journalist and broadcaster. After working on the frontline of Jonathan Whitelaw Author ImageScottish politics, he moved into journalism. Subjects he has covered have varied from breaking news, the arts, culture and sport to fashion, music and even radioactive waste – with everything in between. He’s also a regular reviewer and talking head on shows for the BBC and STV. ‘HellCorp’ is his second novel following his debut, ‘Morbid Relations’.

Social Media links:

Website: https://urbanepublications.com/authors/jonathan-whitelaw/
Twitter:
https://twitter.com/JDWhitelaw13
FB Author Page:
https://www.facebook.com/JonathanWhitelawAuthor/