#BookReview Swipe Right by Stephie Chapman @imcountingufoz @BOTBSPublicity @HeraBooks #BlogTour

Title: Swipe Right by Stephie Chapman

Date Published: 13th May 2020

Publisher: Hera Books

Genre: Romantic Comedy

Description:

Love could be a click away… Or in the last place you expected.

When Fran meets Ollie, it’s eye roll at first sight. Who does he think he is – with his Ray-Bans, piss taking and artfully styled hair? Forced into working together at Viral Hive, the trendy media content agency, at first they butt heads, but soon realise that they could be BFFs. Fran’s happily settled with boyfriend Lucas, while Ollie is fully committed to girlfriend Lou.

But when Fran’s relationship crumbles, and Ollie sets off with Lou for a round-the-world trip, she decides to start an anonymous dating column, detailing all the perils of dating online – from the bloke who angrily demanded she share the bill when she refused his clumsy advances, to the one that ended their date by weeping into her cleavage – even if it seems that all the good (or even normal?) men are hiding. Maybe there aren’t plenty more fish in the sea?

But, on her dating journey of discovery, Fran’s about to learn that sometimes love can be where you least expect it… you just have to put down your phone.

This hilarious romantic comedy is When Harry Met Sally for the Tinder age – will make you laugh and cry! Perfect for fans of Mhairi MacFarlane, Lucy Vine and Sophie Ranald.

Swipe Right

Review:

I want to thank Sarah at Books On The Bright Side Publicity for inviting me on this tour and Hera books for providing me with a copy of Swipe Right in exchange for an honest review.

I knew when I saw that this novel was a take on Harry Met Sally but brought right up to date, I had to read it as I loved that film!

Swipe Right is a modern love story with likeable but flawed characters.

It’s very much a book of two halves. The first half we meet Fran and Ollie who are obviously meant to be together but each have something standing in their way. Fran an obnoxious boyfriend and Ollie a standoffish girlfriend. The second half you get to see Fran’s disastrous yet hilarious dating journey.

To me, Fran was Bridget Jones type of character. She swears, she drinks, she has trouble standing up for herself but you can’t help rooting for her. Then we have Ollie, he comes across as a little arrogant and overconfident but underneath you can tell he’s a bit of a sweetheart.

I loved the way that Fran and Ollie’s relationship grows throughout the story. They start off as candidates vying for the same position, to friendship, to something much more…there’s definitely no insta love in this story!

I wish there had been a few more funny moments, specifically in the first half of the book but that’s just me being picky.

Swipe Right is a sweet and engaging story and a must if you like a more modern take on classic rom coms.

About The Author:

Stephie was born in England in the mid 1980s, which makes her thirty-something (but Steph_Chapmanif you ask, she’ll probably tell you she’s 27). Now, she lives on the South coast of the UK, has a day job to keep her holiday budget topped up, and two kids and a husband to keep an eye on.

Get in touch on Twitter @imcountingufoz

stephiechapman.co.uk