Shadows Falls by Wendy Dranfield @bookouture @WendyDranfield #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: Shadow Falls by Wendy Dranfield

Date Published: 25th January 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Description:

You thought your little girl was safe at summer camp. You were wrong…

The little girl drags her eyes open, realizing she’s starting to fade. She tries calling out“Daddy?”using all her remaining strength. But she’s too late and her voice just isn’t loud enough…

When Detective Madison Harper arrives at a remote summer camp in Shadow Falls, northern California, her heart breaks for Jenny, the sweet little girl last seen splashing in the lake with her friends before she vanished. Peering into the silent cabins filled with rows of neatly made beds, Madison knows this idyllic place is hiding a terrible secret.

The girl’s parents are distraught, and the local police have no leads—they desperately need Madison’s help. She’ll do whatever it takes to crack this case, because it’s the only way back to the son she lost to the care system years ago when she was framed for a crime she didn’t commit.

But with the camp staff keeping tight-lipped and her new partner on the edge of a breakdown, Madison can’t find any truth to her instinct that there is more to Jenny’s perfect parents than meets the eye. Until she discovers a disturbing family portrait Jenny drew at the local library. Was this angelic girl more troubled than anybody knew? Was she in danger from those she trusted most?

One thing is certain, if Madison doesn’t find the answers soon, the lives of more innocent children will be at risk…

An absolutely unputdownable crime thriller that will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni and Melinda Leigh.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B08LQLP3FXCover

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with a copy of Shadow Falls in exchange for an honest review.

Madison is an ex cop, falsely convicted of murder. She seeks out Nate, a former priest and former inmate on death row, exonerated of killing his fiancee, to help clear her name. Little does she know that offering to help with his latest case, a girl gone missing from summer camp, will put her in danger.

Shadow Falls is the first in the Madison Harper/Nate Monroe PI series that is a delightful mix of police procedural and psychological thriller.

Madison is an intriguing character. She’s still recovering from her stay in prison and keeping a lot of secrets to herself, obviously not sure who to trust. Nate on the other hand is a very damaged character, clinging to his sanity in hopes of finding his fiancee’s actual killer.

This story contains the old missing child trope common to detective fiction, something I’m not usually a fan of being a mother myself, but the author really did a good job with such an emotional subject.

For me, the first half of the book didn’t quite grip me as much as I would have liked, but the shocking ending made up for that. Also, it doesn’t end on a cliffhanger exactly, but it leaves you with questions that will hopefully be answered in the next book.

Shadow Falls is a well-written detective story with plenty of shocks and surprises along the way.

About The Author:

Wendy is a former coroner’s assistant turned crime writer who lives in the UK with her husband and 3 cats.

As well as her two crime series and the YA crime novel – The Girl Who Died – Wendy has several short stories published in UK and US anthologies. She has also been shortlisted and longlisted for various competitions, including the Mslexia Novel Competition.

Social Media:

Website: https://wendydranfield.co.uk/

Twitter: @WendyDranfield

Facebook: Wendy Dranfield Author

YouTube: Wendy Dranfield Author

Pinterest: Wendy Dranfield

Instagram: Wendy Dranfield Author