#Bookreview Nightborn by Jessica Thorne @JessThorneBooks @Bookouture #BooksonTour

Title: Nightborn by Jessica Throne

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 26th May 2020

Genre: Fantasy

Description:

Like deep dark water, it pulls them down. The faint fire of magic within them flickers and dies. Their eyes turn black as night. They are nightborn now.

Grace Marchant has been many things: streetwise orphan, rebellious servant, and now beloved companion of Prince Bastien, heir to the throne of Larelwynn. But their sunlit happiness is not destined to last. The golden magic which brought them together in purest passion is threatened by strange and ancient forces. Innocent people are becoming nightborn – cruel, deadly, unrecognisable to their loved ones – and these two young lovers are the only ones with power enough to stop it.

In times of peace, striking a deal with their closest enemy would be unthinkable, but now their only hope is to ally with the neighbouring Valenti royal family: manipulative, cunning, and always with an eye on the Larelwynn throne. The partnership comes at a devastating price… if Grace wants to defeat the nightborn, she must watch Bastien marry a Valenti princess.

Grace knows she must make this heart-wrenching sacrifice for the good of the whole kingdom – but she also fears the magic in her veins, usually so warm and bright, is turning cold as deepest midnight. A beguiling darkness whispers to her from within. Is Grace herself becoming nightborn?

Time is running out. With Bastien promised to another, and a stony distance growing between them, will Grace find the source of the nightborn curse before every last soul is consumed by the darkness?

Combining sizzling romance, courtly intrigue, and heart-in-your-mouth action, this dark and addictive fantasy series is perfect for fans of Graceling and Emily R. King.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B086K22S4VSocial

Review:

I want to thank Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me on this tour and providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Nightborn is the second in the Hollow King series and I would recommend that you read the first, Mageborn just to get a fuller picture of the characters and story line.

Nightborn really improved on the first book. We get to know the characters even better as it strikes the right balance between romance, action and adventure.

I enjoyed the fact the story got a little bit darker for the second outing too, with an almost fairytale quality to it. 

The relationship between Grace and Bastien was more fraught and tense in this novel too, with plenty of roadblocks to their happily ever after.

I do feel like the ending was a little rushed, in fact there were certain aspects that I would have liked to have seen fleshed out a little more and explained a little better but fingers crossed for another book.

Nightborn is a magical fantasy/romance novel that left me wanting to see more from these characters.

About The Author:

Jessica Thorne saw Star Wars at an impressionable age and life was never the same. She’s loved fantasy, romance and science fiction ever since and spends her time looking for adventure – in the pages of her books.

Sometimes she is Ruth Frances Long and won the European Science Fiction Society Spirit of Dedication Award for Best Author of Children’s Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2015.

Author Social Media Links:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JessThorneBooks/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/JessThorneBooks

Website: http://www.rflong.com/jessicathorne/