#BookReview Murder On A Mississippi Steamboat by Leighann Dobbs @leighanndobbs @Bookouture #BooksonTour

Title: Murder On A Mississippi Steamboat by Leighann Dobbs

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 1st June 2020

Genre: Cozy Mystery 

Description:

FROM A NINE-TIMES USA TODAY BESTSELLING AUTHOR COMES A LIVELY AND FUN 1920s COZY MYSTERY WITH A BRAND-NEW DETECTIVE DUO. 

Nora elbowed her way up to the railing and looked down. The paddle wheel was making its last turn, dredging up a mass of turquoise chiffon made almost transparent by the water. A hand, its red lacquered fingernails a contrast to the pale white skin, stuck up from a bejeweled cuff… 

A relaxing cruise down the Mississippi on the Miss Delta Belle steamboat turns to tragedy when celebrity Delilah Dove falls from the deck and is swallowed by the river faster than you can say ‘man overboard!’

It’s touted as a tragic accident, but guests Miss Nora Marsh and her wily great-aunt Julia know a murder when they see one. Can they get justice for Delilah and crack the case without alerting the murderer to their suspicions?

As Nora and Julia hunt for clues it emerges that nearly everyone had a reason to want Delilah dead. And that’s bad news for the two sleuths—who want to solve the case pronto, before Mississippi police chief and Aunt Julia’s nemesis Artemis Leonard comes on board at the next port to launch the official investigation. She’s not letting him get the credit if she can help it.

With multiple suspects and a series of mysterious thefts onboard—not to mention the distractingly handsome Max Lawton turning Nora’s head—this is shaping up to be one tough case to crack. What started as a gentle river voyage is far from plain sailing.

A gripping and witty 1920s murder mystery from bestselling author Leighann Dobbs, perfect for fans of T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss. 

You can buy your copy here: Amazon: https://bit.ly/3gldcMd

Review:

I want to thank Sarah Hardy for inviting me on this blog tour and Bookouture for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I’m a huge fan of Leighann Dobbs’ Oyster Cove Guesthouse series so I was very excited when I heard she had a new book coming out with Bookouture.

Murder on a Mississippi steamboat was a fun, fast paced historical mystery that I absolutely flew through.

It had all the hallmarks of your classic mystery. Puzzling clues, a whole host of suspects, all with something to hide who just happened to be trapped on a boat together. 

Nora was a great character but her Aunt Julia stole the show for me, with her appetite for a mystery as well as leading a double life as a best selling author (published under a male pen name). She was a kind of Jessica Fletcher meets Miss Marple type of character.

The story is set in 1926 and there were some nice historical details that really added to the story, like the fashions of shorter skirts and  prohibition in America making it almost impossible for you to drink alcohol. 

I did wish that there were a few more twists and turns, I had the murderer pegged from quite early on but it didn’t spoil my reading fun too much. 

Murder on a Mississippi steamboat is a great start to this series and I can’t wait to read more adventures featuring Nora and Aunt Julia!

About The Author:

USA Today bestselling author, Leighann Dobbs, discovered her passion for writing after a twenty year career as a software engineer. She lives in New Hampshire with her husband Bruce, their trusty Chihuahua mix Mojo and beautiful rescue cat, Kitty.

Her book “Dead Wrong” won the “Best Mystery Romance” award at the 2014 Indie Romance Convention.

Her book “Ghostly Paws” was the 2015 Chanticleer Mystery & Mayhem First Place category winner in the Animal Mystery category.

https://www.facebook.com/leighanndobbsbooks