Murder At The Playhouse by Helena Dixon @NellDixon @bookouture #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: Murder At The Playhouse by Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 30th June 2020

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

The scene is set for murder… and Kitty Underhay’s partner has been cast as the killer.

Late Summer, 1933. After a quarrel with too-plucky-for-her-own-good amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay, dashing ex-army captain Matthew Bryant is nursing his wounds, and a tumbler of brandy, when there’s a heavy knock at the door and he finds himself arrested for murder. The body of aspiring actress Pearl Bright has been found, strangled with one of Matt’s own bootlaces, and the evidence seems to be stacked against him.

The local constabulary might have locked Matt up, but before they can throw away the key, Kitty hears the news and hies to his aid, determined to prove his innocence. And when her investigations lead her to the home of retired theatre impresario Stanley Davenport, and the local amateur dramatics society, Kitty uncovers a web of deceit that stretches far beyond the stage make-up. But Kitty’s digging is bringing her to the attention of the killer. Without her partner in crime-fighting, can Kitty expose them and clear Matt’s name? Or will it be curtains for them both?

A gripping Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T E Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

You can by your copy here: https://geni.us/B085QNNFWHSocial

Review: 

I want to thank Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me on this tour and providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

I have really enjoyed the first two books of this series and so I was looking forward to  Murder At The Playhouse, especially when I saw the absolutely gorgeous cover!

Murder At The Playhouse is a historical cozy mystery set in the 1930’s with a likeable amateur sleuth and plenty of memorable characters. 

Poor Matthew is locked in a cell, accused of the murder of a young woman found dead on the golf course behind his house. He’s banned from looking into the case so it’s up to Kitty to find out more. 

I enjoyed the fact we got to know Matthew a little better in this story, he’s starting to open up after his traumas during the war. We even got to meet his parents which was interesting to say the least! I also love the slow burn romance going on between Matthew and Kitty, I’m rooting for them to get together.

I liked the attention to detail these novels have with nice historical facts and features that makes it stand out from other modern novels set around this time.

There’s also a nice sub-plot building with Kitty’s mother and I’m anxious to see how that pans out.

Murder At The Playhouse is a puzzling whodunnit and a must for fans of golden age mysteries! I can’t wait to read more of this series.

About The Author:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

#BooksOnTour #Review Murder At Enderley Hall by Helena Dixon @NellDixon @bookouture #cozymystery

Title: Murder At Enderley Hall by Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 19th March 2020

Genre: Historical Cosy Mystery

Description:

An escape to the country… ends in death.

Summer 1933. Fresh from the discovery that she has family living nearby, Kitty Underhay has packed her carpet bag, commandeered a chambermaid and set off on a visit to stately Enderley Hall. She’s looking forward to getting to know her relatives, as well as the assembled group of house guests. But when elderly Nanny Thoms is found dead at the bottom of the stairs after papers of national importance are stolen, Kitty quickly learns that Muffy the dog’s muddy paws on her hemline are the least of her problems.

Calling on ex-army captain Matthew Bryant for assistance, Kitty begins to puzzle out the mystery. And when more shocking murders follow, the stakes are raised for the daring duo as never before. Which of the guests stand to gain from the theft of the documents? And which, as the week progresses, stand to lose their lives?

A charming cozy historical murder mystery that fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss won’t be able to put down!

Buy Links: https://geni.us/B0825Z6KBRSocial 

Murder at Enderly Hall - Blog Tour Poster

Review:

I want to thank Noelle Holten from Bookouture for inviting me on this tour and providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

This second ripping roaring adventure with Kitty Underhay but don’t worry if you haven’t read the first, this can easily be read as a standalone.

Kitty is invited to Enderley hall by her Aunt Hortense and cousin Lucy, it’s not long before she’s drawn into a case involving the theft of some important documents from her uncle’s study. If that wasn’t enough Nanny Thoms is found dead.

Suspicions grow and Kitty invites her friend Matthew Bryant to help. Will they stop the murderer before they strike again?

Murder At Enderley Hall is a well written and utterly thrilling historical mystery!

I liked the character of Kitty even more in this book. She’s still her stubborn self, no matter how much Matthew tries to get her to stay out of danger she won’t, with her thirst for adventure and determination to find the truth.

There’s plenty of red herrings glore, intrigue and a little bit of will they, won’t they between Matthew and Kitty. Honestly, there’s never a dull moment in Murder at Enderley Hall!

In these uncertain times, Murder at Enderley hall is a great escape from reality for a few hours.

I cannot recommend this series highly enough. I can’t wait to read more adventures featuring Kitty and Matthew!

About the Author:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same manDSC_7063 copy for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

#BookReview Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon @NellDixon @bookouture #BooksOnTour

Title: Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 11th December 2019

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

A room with a view… to murder

June 1933. Independent young Kitty Underhay has been left in charge of her family’s hotel, The Dolphin, on the tranquil English coast. She’s expecting her days at the bustling resort to be filled with comfortable chatter with chambermaids as they polish the mahogany desk and glittering candelabras of the elegant foyer. Everything must be perfect for the arrival of a glamourous jazz singer from Chicago and a masked ball that will be the cultural highlight of the season.

But when several rooms are broken into and searched, including Kitty’s own, she quickly realises that something out of the ordinary is afoot at the hotel. Soon rumours are flying in the cozy town that someone is on the hunt for a stolen ruby. A ruby that Kitty’s mother may well have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. And when the break-ins are followed by a series of attacks and murders, including of the town’s former mayoress, it seems the perpetrator will stop at nothing to find it.

Aided by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, the Dolphin’s new security officer, Kitty is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the reputation of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Is there a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic page-turning murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson and T.E. Kinsey will love this unputdownable whodunnit.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B07XLM3SM6Social

Murder-at-the-Dolphin-Hotel-Blog-Tour-Poster

Review:

I want to thank Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me on this blog tour and providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have to say I do love a historical novel set in the interwar years, the 1930’s have long held a fascination for me. I always gravitate towards this type of novel, especially when they’re in my favourite mystery/thriller genre!

Murder At The Dolphin Hotel is a cosy historical whodunnit which is a subtle nod to classic crime fiction while still seeming fresh and new. 

Our main characters, Kitty and Matthew were likeable and realistic. Matthew is a first world war veteran who is still suffering from the aftermath of the war and the loss of someone close to him. Kitty on the other hand has her own issues, her mother vanished when she was just a child and she’s never known her father. They come together nicely, with a hint of romance there but it’s not over done.

Now usually find with this type of novel, there’s one, maybe two murders but my goodness there was so much murder and mayhem (not graphic though so if that’s not your thing you don’t need to worry) which I found thoroughly enjoyable. 

I did feel the ending was a little drawn out, I felt I was kept waiting a little too long for the killer reveal but of course that’s just my opinion.

Murder At The Dolphin Hotel is a little gem of a cosy novel and I can’t wait to read more adventures featuring Kitty and Matthew!

About The Author:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same manDSC_7063 copy for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon