Mystery At Seagrave Hall by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @Bookouture #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: Mystery At Seagrave Hall by Clare Chase

Date Published:11th June 2020

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

It’s Eve Mallow’s first visit to the local village fair. But amidst the booths, stalls, tables and tents lurks something darker… A mysterious fall means a new case for amateur detective Eve!

The charity fair at Seagrave Hall is a key date in the Saxford St Peter calendar – a chance for the villagers to nose around the house and grounds and cross paths with the rich and famous.

New resident Eve Mallow is particularly excited by this year’s special guest: the explorer Verity Nye, who is engaged to the heir to the Hall. Eve loves Verity’s determination, and she can’t wait to meet her.

But when they talk, Verity hints that she has something troubling on her mind. So after the festive mood is tragically interrupted by Verity’s fall from a third-floor window, Eve can’t be sure that it’s an appalling accident. Especially when one small boy claims he saw someone behind her…

Soon Eve finds herself tasked with writing Verity’s obituary. As she dusts off her notebook and begins her interviews alongside her trusted dachshund sidekick Gus she realises she has a fine array of suspects before her. Could it be a corrupt charity manager, the distraught fiancé, or jealous cousin Cora? And can Eve find out before her questions cause the killer to turn on her?

A charming and gripping page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

Review:

I want to thank Noelle at Bookouture for inviting me on this tour and providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Eve Mallow the obituary writer/ amateur sleuth is back again in her third adventure, it doesn’t matter if you haven’t read the first two in the series as they can easily be read as stand-alones.

Mystery at Seagrave Hall is an interesting twist on the classic country house murder. Famous diver Verity Nye falls from a window at Seagrave hall, it’s classed as an accident until a little boy pipes up and says there was someone behind her. Was she pushed?

Eve can’t leave it alone so with the help of the secretive Robin Yardley and her trusty dachshund Gus she starts digging into the mystery, putting herself in more danger than she’d bargained for.

If you love the British countryside, mysteries that are not too explicit with a hint of romance you really can’t go wrong with this series.

I enjoyed Eve’s growth from the first book to this one, she’s not taking her interfering ex to heart quite as much. Also I’m enjoying the slow burn romance that I feel is building between her and Robin Yardley.

I have to be honest near the sixty percent mark, I felt myself drifting off a little but the satisfying ending made up for it.

Mystery at Seagrave Hall is a light hearted mystery which really kept me guessing throughout.

About The Author:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

#BookReview Mystery At Apple Tree Cottage by Clare Chase @ClareChase_ @bookouture #BooksOnTour

Title: Mystery At Apple Tree Cottage by Clare Chase

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 12th March 2020

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

Obituary writer and amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is enjoying life in sleepy Saxford St Peter – until a mysterious murder lands right at her door…

It’s spring in Saxford St Peter – time to get back in the garden, listen to the birds, and take gentle strolls in the woods. But for some, it’s the season for murder.

Eve Mallow is relishing the gentle pace of the village until a new arrival stirs everyone up. Ashton Foley is back: a teenage tearaway turned interior designer to the stars. He’s mad, bad and dangerous to know, but charming too – as Eve herself can testify – and every house in Saxford opens its doors to him.

So when he’s found murdered in the woods near his mother’s home, Apple Tree Cottage, there’s no shortage of suspects. A jealous husband? A spurned lover? Or has someone from his past life caught up with him?

The police soon hit on a simple solution, and arrest his mother’s partner Howard. Ashton always hated him, and he bears all the marks of a recent fight. But Ashton’s mother, miles away in New Zealand, is convinced he’s innocent, and enlists Eve’s help to prove it.

There’s just one problem. Eve saw Howard sniffing around Apple Tree Cottage on the morning of the murder, and she’s fairly sure he’s guilty, too…

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B082FG57RQSocial

Mystery at Apple Tree Cottage - Blog Tour

Review:

I want to thank Noelle Holten for inviting me on this tour and Bookouture for providing me with a copy Mystery At Apple Tree Cottage in exchange for an honest review.

This is the second in the Eve Mallow series but can be easily read as a standalone.

I’m back with obituary writer/amateur sleuth Eve Mallow and this time she has the tricky job of finding the killer of bad boy done good Ashton Foley, who seems to have no shortage of enemies!

Mystery At Apple Tree Cottage is a solid cosy mystery with an idyllic setting and nosy main character, that is a nod to classic mysteries.

What I love about this series is Clare Chase manages to set a vivid scene while still creating a puzzling mystery.

Eve is still her determined self, even though she is warned off, yet again, from investigating, she can’t help herself using her obituary writing as a cover to interview the suspects. I have enjoyed seeing Eve grow with confidence since the last book and can’t wait to see what is in store for her next.

I think this one improved on the last, not getting quite so bogged down in the details and a good steady pace.

Mystery At Apple Tree Cottage is a great cosy mystery with plenty of red herrings to keep you guessing.

About The Author: 

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London UniversityClare Chase landscape with a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/

Mystery On Hidden Lane (Eve Mallow Mystery 1) by Clare Chase @bookouture @ClareChase_ #BookReview #BooksOnTour

Title: The Mystery On Hidden Lane (Eve Mallow Mystery 1) by Clare Chase

Date Published: 30th January

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

Seasoned obituary writer Eve Mallow has a new assignment: to tell the life story of famed musician Bernard Fitzpatrick. A chance to spend a few days in the sweet little village of Saxford St Peter, walking the country lanes with her beloved dachshund Gus and meeting new people sounds like a dream. But it turns out that Bernard’s life was much less interesting than his death. On the day she arrives, news breaks that the charismatic cellist was the victim of a grisly murder. Could this quaint English village be hiding a dark secret?

As Eve starts to interview Bernard’s friends and colleagues, she finds that he’d ruffled a few feathers. In fact, from the keepers of the Cross Keys Inn to his own staff at High House, there’s barely a person in town who doesn’t have some reason to hate him… is one of the friendly villagers a cold-blooded killer?

Eve hoped Saxford St Peter would be the perfect escape from her busy city life. But there is darkness even in the most sunlit of settings. And when a second body is found, Eve becomes certain that one of the people she’s met must be the murderer. She has never done any detective work before… but is there something in her notes that can crack the case?

An unputdownable page-turner, perfect for fans of Faith Martin, Agatha Christie and Betty Rowlands.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B07ZVYJ8WJSocial

Mystery on Hidden Lane - Blog Tour

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for my copy of The Mystery On Hidden Lane in exchange for my honest opinion.

The Mystery On Hidden Lane is a gently paced cosy mystery, perfect to escape reality for a few hours. 

It has everything a classic cosy mystery should, a determined amateur sleuth, an idyllic setting and of course a puzzling mystery

Eve was a very likeable main character. Half English, half American, she has an exceptionally annoying ex husband and a very cute sounding dachshund called Gus. She works in a school but as a side venture she writes obituaries which makes her a little nosey as every good amateur sleuth should be.

The descriptions throughout the book are wonderfully done, I could almost picture myself in the village of Saxford St Peter, whether it be enjoying a cake at Viv’s tea shop or going down to the beach for a walk. The author also captures the gossipy nature of the village where it seems that everyone knows everyone.

As it is the first book in the series a lot of it was taken up by setting the scene, introducing the characters etc so the pace did slow a little at times.

The Mystery On Hidden Lane is a nice introduction to this series and I look forward to seeing what Eve’s next mystery will be!

About The Author:

Clare Chase writes women sleuth mysteries. After graduating from London University Clare Chase landscapewith a degree in English Literature, Clare moved to Cambridge and has lived there ever since. She’s fascinated by the city’s contrasts and contradictions, which feed into her writing. She’s worked in diverse settings – from the 800-year-old University to one of the local prisons – and lived everywhere from the house of a Lord to a slug-infested flat. The terrace she now occupies, with her husband and teenage children, presents a good happy medium.

As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.

You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/10204574.Clare_Chase

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor/