#BlogTour #Review The Truth About Murder by Chris Collett @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Title: The Truth About Murder by Chris Collett

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 19th December 2019

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Description:

ATTACK, KIDNAP, MURDER

Stefan Greaves emerges from a coma. He was brutally mugged while investigating a whistleblower complaint at a local hospital. She had feared mortality rates of children on her ward born with terminal illnesses and disabilities were on the rise. Now the whistleblower has disappeared.

PC Mick Fraser is sent in to interview Greaves. His partner, PC Denny Sutton, has just been murdered. 

Then the whistleblower is discovered murdered and Fraser learns that Sutton had been stealing evidence to cover up crimes against those considered to be a drain on society: homeless and disadvantaged people and the mentally ill. 

HOW ARE THESE CRIMES LINKED?

A fiendishly complex puzzle emerges. Can these two detectives learn to trust each other enough to put the pieces together?
 
Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.
 
What readers are saying about Chris Collett

“I couldn’t put it down.” Barbara
 
“Definitely one of the best British crime novels I have read, with a great plot that twist and turns.” Terje

“A brilliantly well thought out mystery with plenty of red herrings.” Jacqueline

“A strong pace and multidimensional characters keep this British procedural moving briskly.” Library Journal

“Cleverly plotted, with an unexpected shock ending, plenty of suspense, and a likably genuine cast of characters, this is a strong new entry in an increasingly popular police-procedural series.” Booklist

“Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.” Yorkshire Post

ALSO BY CHRIS COLLETT

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7: Missing Lies

THE FIRST THREE MARINER MYSTERIES ARE AVAILABLE IN A GREAT VALUE BOX SET: DETECTIVE TOM MARINER BOOKS 1-3

Blog Tour banner Truth about murder

Review:

I want to thank Jill Burkinshaw at Books n All promotions for inviting me on this tour and Joffe books for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

So I love Christ Collett’s DI Mariner series so when I saw that she was releasing a standalone crime thriller I was intrigued.

Stefan Greaves is approached by Rita Todd about infant death at the hospital she works at. Later on, Stefan is mugged and Rita disappears. 

PC Mick Fraser is assigned to Stefan’s case but without much evidence to go on, the investigation stalls.

Rita’s body turns up and it’s assumed as suicide but Rita’s daughter isn’t convinced. With the help of Mick, Stefan must get to the bottom of a terrifying conspiracy and find out what really happened.

The Truth About Murder is a twisty and complex tale which I found quite unsettling at times, although I do think this would make a fantastic TV series!

The story follows two perspectives, Stefan Greaves, a paralegal who suffers from cerebral palsy and PC Mick Fraser, a Scottish policeman who’s just moved to Charnford. 

They are both really strong characters but Stefan just edged ahead for me. Also Stefan having a disability (although we don’t find out the true extent of this until later in the novel) really added that extra dimension to the story showing some of the difficulties he faces. I also liked Stefan’s emo personal assistant Plum, she’s full of attitude but has a kind heart.

The underlying theme in this story is quite harrowing especially regarding disability and how it is treated. And there are certain parts of the story, in our current political climate, I thought to myself, I could actually see this happening, which were truly terrifying.

I did have an issue with the layout, Stefan’s perspective was written in normal writing but Mick’s was written in italics. I know this was done so you could tell the difference between the two first person perspectives but going from one to the other made my eyes go a little funny!

The Truth About Murder is realistic police procedural which will equally enthrall and chill you to your core.  

I know this is currently a standalone novel but I would love to see some more from these characters.

About The Author:

I was born and grew up in a Norfolk seaside town, almost as far east as it’s possible to goChris Collett author photo jpg in England without falling into the North Sea. There I worked variously in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). I graduated in Liverpool, then for twenty-five years taught children and young people with learning disabilities, including autism, before going into higher education as a senior lecturer.

Mindful of its reputation, I moved somewhat reluctantly to Birmingham, where I met my husband, in 1981. But just a few years later DI Tom Mariner was created to police its mean streets, and these days I relish the vibrancy and rich social history of the city. After eight outings for Mariner, I still feel as if I’ve barely scratched the surface.

Recently retired from lecturing and I’m currently luxuriating in the time I now have to continue the Mariner series, alongside published short stories and academic works. In my spare time, among other things, I’m a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

Website: http://www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

Twitter:  @crime_crow

#BlogTour #Review Buried Lies by Chris Collett @JoffeBooks @crime_crow

Title: Buried Lies (DI Tom Mariner #6) by Chris Collett

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 3rd September 2018

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner goes to the beautiful Welsh countryside to recover. But he finds himself caught up in a murder investigation . . . with him as the prime suspect.

Grieving the death of his former lover, all Mariner wants is some peace and quiet. But his walking holiday is ruined by the discovery of a body in the woods.

The remote stone farmhouses of this beautiful valley hide many buried secrets.

As more bodies are discovered, can Mariner clear his name and avoid becoming the next victim?

Discover an absorbing crime mystery with an action-packed conclusion.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the sixth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING

Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD AND STONE.”

DI MARINER SERIES

Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Books 7 coming soon

BLOG TOUR BANNER - Buried Lies

Review:

DI Tom Mariner wants a break from it all, after the death of his former lover Anna, so he journeys to the Welsh countryside, a place he visited in his youth. Far from finding peace and quiet, he finds the body of a young farm hand leads him to getting involved in the case.

Another body turns up this time, a fellow walker Tom befriended on his trip and he soon becomes a prime suspect. Can Tom clear his name and find a killer?

This is another series I’ve been dipping in and out of for a while. I will say this can be read as a standalone but I would probably recommend that you read a few of the previous books just so you don’t feel like you’re playing catch up with the different story lines and characters.

Buried Lies did start out as quite a slow burn but soon ratchets up the tension until I got so caught up in the story that time just flew by. Poor Tom has to deal with the deal of Anna, the woman who he was still in love with and to make matters worse, her killer is still out there. He journeys to the rugged wilderness of Wales but as usual trouble is not far behind.

The setting is slightly different in this book, instead of focusing on Birmingham, there guest appearance from Kirby (a suburb of Knowsley near Liverpool) and even Cheshire. But the main one is the rugged Welsh countryside was almost felt like another character in itself, giving the whole book a sort of moody and tense atmosphere.

There is a few subplots too, which are a little distracting, with Tony Knox (a member of Mariner’s team), dealing with the overdose of a teen and a missing woman but I still very much enjoyed them.

Tom has also now been appointed guardian for Anna’s autistic brother Jaime and I’m looking forward to the next book to see how he deals with that complication.

Buried Lies is an atmospheric and complex police procedural that draws you in and won’t let you go.

Rating: 3.5/5

Author Bio:

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (nowChris Collett author photo jpg defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Links:
Website:
www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter: @crime_crow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

%d bloggers like this: