July/August Book Haul

Hello lovelies! I always see these types of posts about and I realised I’d never done one myself so thought I’d share my July/August ebook haul with you.

Title: The Haunting of Hattie Hastings by Audrey Davis

Some people won’t let a little matter like death stand in their way …

A terrible tragedy leaves Hattie Hastings widowed and heartbroken. But her late husband isn’t about to take his demise lying down.

Torn between delight and frustration, Hattie struggles to convince friends and family of her ghostly predicament.

There’s also the small problem of best friend Cat’s ex-husband trying to worm his way back into her life. And both Hattie’s son, Johnny, and mum, Rachel have their own problems to face.

Bouncing between earth and the Afterlife, Gary discovers he has a mission. But what could it be, and will his beloved wife be able to help?

Title: Murder In G Major (Gethsemane Brown Mysteries #1) by Alexia Gordon 

Winner– Lefty Award, Best Debut Novel

Nominee–Agatha Award, Best First Novel

Chosen one of Suspense Magazine’s Best Debut Novels in 2016

With few other options, African-American classical musician Gethsemane Brown accepts a less-than-ideal position turning a group of rowdy schoolboys into an award-winning orchestra. Stranded without luggage or money in the Irish countryside, she figures any job is better than none.

The perk? Housesitting a lovely cliffside cottage. The catch? The ghost of the cottage’s murdered owner haunts the place. Falsely accused of killing his wife (and himself), he begs Gethsemane to clear his name so he can rest in peace. Gethsemane’s reluctant investigation provokes a dormant killer and she soon finds herself in grave danger. As Gethsemane races to prevent a deadly encore, will she uncover the truth or star in her own farewell performance?

Title: The Penguin Killer by Ste Sharp

Brighton, during the glorious Britpop summer of 1995.

A second hand bookshop becomes the centre of a serial killer investigation when vintage penguin books are left at murder scenes.

Luke Redfern has just inherited the bookshop Red Books from his Grandad and is busy trying to make the big time with his indie band, Beachhead.

When Detective Mellor asks him to help find out who has been leaving penguin books at crime scenes, Luke is drawn into the mystery of what the papers are calling the Penguin Killer.

Title: Publishable by Death A.C.F Bookens

A bookstore, a grumpy newspaper woman, and a murder. Quiet St. Marin’s has just gotten a little more lively . . . and a little less alive.

All Harvey Beckett wants to do is read books, help the residents of St. Marin’s find the perfect book for that moment, and snuggle with her hound dog Mayhem. But when the small, waterside town’s newest resident discovers the body of the community’s persnickety reporter in her bookshop storeroom on opening day, Harvey finds herself bound and determined to figure out the crime. Her task won’t be easy, though, since the town is flooded with visitors for the first annual Harriet Tubman Festival to honor the community’s most famous resident. Plus, a quiet but charming mechanic named Daniel isn’t helping with her concentration at all.

Publishable By Death is the first book in the St. Marin’s Cozy Mystery Series by ACF. Bookens.

Title: Real Murders by Charlaine Harris 

Though a small town at heart, Lawrenceton, Georgia, has its dark side-and crime buffs. One of whom is librarian Aurora “Roe” Teagarden, a member of the Real Murders Club, which meets once a month to analyze famous cases.

It’s a harmless pastime—until the night she finds a member killed in a manner that eerily resembles the crime the club was about to discuss. And as other brutal “copycat” killings follow, Roe will have to uncover the person behind the terrifying game, one that casts all the members of Real Murders, herself included, as prime suspects-or potential victims.

Title: The Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra by Vaseem Khan

On the day he retires, Inspector Ashwin Chopra inherits two unexpected mysteries.

The first is the case of a drowned boy, whose suspicious death no one seems to want solved. And the second is a baby elephant. As his search for clues takes him across the teeming city of Mumbai, from its grand high rises to its sprawling slums and deep into its murky underworld, Chopra begins to suspect that there may be a great deal more to both his last case and his new ward than he thought.

And he soon learns that when the going gets tough, a determined elephant may be exactly what an honest man needs…

Title: Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stephenson

Bryan Stevenson was a young lawyer when he founded the Equal Justice Initiative, a legal practice dedicated to defending those most desperate and in need: the poor, the wrongly condemned, and women and children trapped in the farthest reaches of our criminal justice system. One of his first cases was that of Walter McMillian, a young man who was sentenced to die for a notorious murder he insisted he didn’t commit. The case drew Bryan into a tangle of conspiracy, political machination, and legal brinksmanship—and transformed his understanding of mercy and justice forever.

Just Mercy is at once an unforgettable account of an idealistic, gifted young lawyer’s coming of age, a moving window into the lives of those he has defended, and an inspiring argument for compassion in the pursuit of true justice.

Title: The Creak on The Stairs by Eva Björg Ægisdóttir Translated by Victoria Cribb

When a body of a woman is discovered at a lighthouse in the Icelandic town of Akranes, it soon becomes clear that she’s no stranger to the area.

Chief Investigating Officer Elma, who has returned to Akranes following a failed relationship, and her colleagues Sævar and Hörður, commence an uneasy investigation, which uncovers a shocking secret in the dead woman’s past that continues to reverberate in the present day …

But as Elma and her team make a series of discoveries, they bring to light a host of long-hidden crimes that shake the entire community. Sifting through the rubble of the townspeople’s shattered memories, they have to dodge increasingly serious threats, and find justice … before it’s too late.

Title: Murder She Wrote: Killer in the Kitchen by Donald Bain

In the latest in the “USA Today” bestselling series, someone writes a recipe for murder.

Jessica loves the Leg & Claw restaurant, owned by young couple Brad and Marcie. And the restaurant is the couple s dream come true.

But when famed chef Gerard Pepe Lebeouf decides to open an eatery right next to theirs, tensions rise fast and hot and lead to a nasty confrontation between Lebeouf and Brad. So when Lebeouf is found dead with a knife planted in his chest, Brad becomes suspect number one. But plenty of others had a motive to kill Pepe, and it s up to Jessica to uncover who really added murder to the menu.”

Title: Black Cherry Betrayal (Claire’s candles 2) by Agatha Frost 

Claire Harris is excited to get the keys to her candle shop finally. A foul smell coming from the attic, however, turns her excitement into a living nightmare. There, she finds the body of Jane Brindle, the owner of the tearoom, which had stood in the heart of the village for decades.

Jane’s eventual retirement at eighty after years of fruitlessly hounding her daughter, Em, to take over the tearoom sent her to the south of France, or so everyone assumed. Jane never left Northash, but nobody is admitting to knowing what happened to her. Accusations fly everywhere, with many fingers pointing at free-spirited Em, and even some at Claire for daring to change the status quo.

How did Jane end up dead in the locked attic after having supposedly left the village for a new life under the sun four months previously? How is Jane’s impossibly wealthy 102-year-old mother, Opal, involved? Someone close to Jane killed her, but can Claire find out who before her candle shop dreams crumble around her?

Title: Funland by Richard Laymon 

Step right up to the land of fun…

Funland is another classic horror story from the master of the macabre, Richard Laymon. Perfect for fans of Dean Koontz and Clive Barker.

‘Laymon’s at the top of his form in Funland, his deceptively simple prose becoming by turns humorous, horrific, stunningly erotic. The funhouse climax is not to be missed. This novel belongs on every serious horror fanatic’s bookshelf’ – The New York Review of Science Fiction

The Funland Amusement Park provides more fear than fun these days. A vicious pack known as the Trolls are preying on anyone foolish enough to be alone at night. Folks in the area blame them for the recent mysterious disappearances, and a gang of local teenagers have decided to fight back. But nothing is ever what it seems in an amusement park. Behind the garish paint and bright lights waits a horror far worse than anything found in the freak show. Step right up! The terror is about to begin!

Title: Organized For Murder by Ritter Ames

Starting a small business is tough. Becoming prime suspect when your first client gets murdered is a killer…

A move to small-town New England meant a new start for the McKenzie family. When Kate opened her organizing business and immediately gained a rich client, she thought everything was finally stacked in their favor.

Until her client is found dead. Then the police take a hard look in her direction.

Things only get worse when forensics evidence finds her fingerprints on the murder weapon–and suddenly Kate shoots to the top of the list as prime suspect.

The stopwatch is ticking for Kate to prove she had nothing to do with the murder. The odds are further stacked against her when stolen items turn up in the McKenzie home.

She must trust her methodical skills and expert eye to sort out who is trying to frame her and uncover the real killer before she’s organized right into a jail cell.

Have you read any of these? What did you think?