#BlogTour Innocent Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all

Title: Innocent Lies by Chris Collett

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Publisher: Joffe Books.

 

Description:

Do you like police procedurals with great characters and real grit?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

Two teenagers go missing on the same day. Just a coincidence?

The two young people are from very different backgrounds: Yasmin is the talented, grammar-school-educated daughter of devout Muslim professionals. Ricky disappears after storming out of his council house after an argument with his mum’s latest boyfriend.

DI Mariner knows Ricky’s mother from his days in uniform. He is furious when his superiors take him off Ricky’s case and reassign him to the more politically sensitive investigation. The press — and his bosses — are convinced that Yasmin’s disappearance is a racially motivated abduction. The Akrams have been the target of a far right group.

But Mariner soon discovers that Yasmin is far from the innocent victim her parents think she is. Can he get to the bottom of a perplexing case where no one is what they seem?

Find out the answers in this crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the second book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD OF THE INNOCENTS.”

DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
More coming soon!

Review:

I firstly want to thank Jill Burkinshaw for organising and inviting me on this blog tour.

So according to the author’s note, the story is set in the early noughties, when mobile phones and the internet weren’t as common place as they are now. DI Mariner is asked by Colleen, a worried mother and someone he has known for years, to look into the disappearance of her son Ricky. But Mariner is pulled off the case to investigate the disappearance of young girl called Yasmin Akram who went missing around the same time.

This is the second in the series but can be read as a stand alone. I want to commend the author on the fact that I didn’t feel I’d missed anything or spoilt anything from the previous book.  

It felt a little weird reading a story set during a heatwave, especially as right now it’s bloody freezing! But this is a good solid police procedural. It’s not exactly edge of your seat suspense and frankly the first half of the book was a little bit slow, but the mystery kept me hooked throughout.

I felt desperately sorry for Ricky. He is a bright kid who had a bad start in life, from his poor background, to the fact his dad used to beat up his mum. Then poor Mariner, the guilt he felt not being able to look for him, instead it was palmed off on a detective with too big a workload and not enough time, it broke my heart.

I did feel that I should have felt more sorry for Yasmin but even though she had quite a Muslim strict upbringing, she came across a bit more of a spoilt little girl, who wanted to get her own way.

I don’t want to say much more as I don’t want to spoil anyone’s enjoyment of this fantastic book!

Rating: 4/5

 

Author Bio:

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (nowChris Collett - author pic defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
Find out more at www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Follow the rest of the tour here:

Blog Tour Banner - Innocent Lies jpg

Follow me:    Twitter    Instagram     Facebook     Goodreads

#Review Environmentally Friendly by Elias Zanbaka #ShortStory #Thriller

Title: Environmental Friendly by Elias Zanbaka

Genre: Mystery/Thriller, Short Story.

Description:

Out of seven billion people, one man has declared war on Mother Nature and plans to bring it to its knees.

Out of all the criminals in Los Angeles, he’s the number one target being hunted by the LAPD tonight.

And out of the entire LAPD, one officer is hell-bent on helping him complete his mission.

Review:

I received a copy of this via the author in exchange for an honest review.

This is a super short story, focusing on the story of police Sergeant Schaefer as he battles with Sergeant Major Alan Bushell, an army veteran who thinks he’s still at war, but this time with nature itself.

The author drops you right into the action without any real background information which was good but I found a little disconcerting. It took me a page or two to grasp what was going on.

I liked the character of Sergeant Schaefer, he’s a good guy who uses his mind rather than violence. It would be interesting if the author could do a full length novel as I’d like to read more about him.

Unfortunately the storyline was a little far fetched mainly because if mental patient in America was welding a flame thrower, a gun, machete and a chainsaw, the police would probably shoot first and ask questions later rather than help them.

Another issue I had is we never really find out why, completely anyway, Sergeant Major Bushell was taking on nature. It would have been nice to get inside his head a little bit.

This story is ideal if you’ve got a spare bit of time and fancy an action packed bit of escapism.

Rating: 3/5

Author bio:

Elias Zanbaka is an author from Sydney, Australia, and has always had a great passion for both teaching and storytelling. Like a lot of people, he grew up on a lot of exciting and engaging stories as if they were another major food group that couldn’t be skipped. This would eventually manifest itself as a love for both devouring and telling the most exciting and entertaining stories as he could.


Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/15072132.Elias_Zanbaka

The eBook is currently available on Amazon for free here:https://www.amazon.com/Environmentally-Friendly-Elias-Zanbaka-ebook/dp/B01CMK5YA6/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1509752453&sr=8-1&keywords=zanbaka

#BlogTour Skeletal by @EmmaStoryteller @Bloodhoundbook #thriller #dystopian

Title: Skeletal by Emma Pullar

Genre: Dystopian/Thriller

Publisher: Bloodhound Books.

Book Description:

Gale City is the last city in the world and under the strict control of the illusive Centrals.

When females reach adulthood, they’re given the chance to compete at Showcase for the honour of becoming surrogates for the Morbihan – a highly intelligent, obese race of people, unable to procreate naturally. All the other girls are excited to become hosts, all except Megan Skyla.

Convinced there’s more to life, Skyla teams up with an unlikely friend and they go in search of a cure for the Morbihan condition. Things don’t go to plan and their journey becomes a harrowing quest fraught with danger and deceit.

How can Skyla discover the truth when everything she’s been told is a lie? Can anyone in Gale City ever really be free?

Skyla is about to discover that freedom has a price and she’s going have the fight to survive.

Skeletal is a disturbing vision of the future and a literary thriller unlike any other.

 

Review:

Set in a dystopian future, it follows the story of a Skel named Skyla. Skels are seen as workers, to use and abused until their usefulness runs out but certain ones are used as ‘hosts’ to bear the children of the so-called superior race called the Morbihan’s. Skyla is selected to be one of these hosts but she has never been good at following rules. With the help of Bunce, a young morb who doesn’t want to become immobile and overweight like the rest of his race, she sets out to find a cure for the Mobihan condition.

Now I’ve been reading Bloodhound books for a few months now, and I can safely say this book is nothing like anything I’ve ever read from this publisher before.

This book was an emotional rollercoaster for me, making me angry, teary and occasionally a little nauseous.

Emma Pullar has created a very disturbing and vivid world. I’m not going to lie, it’s not the easiest of reads and is a little slow to start off with, but stick with it, it’s worth it.

Skyla seems to be a product of this harsh world. Frankly at the beginning of the novel, I didn’t find her that likeable (that’s it’s understandable when you’re seen as either disposable or as an incubator) but as the story went on and we find out more about her, I grew to like her a bit more. I absolutely loved Bunce, he’s clumsy and naive but it’s obvious that he cares for Skyla.

I hope this is not the last I’ll be reading about Skyla.

If you enjoyed the Hunger Games or Maze Runner and are looking for something a little more adult, this is the book for you.

Rating: 4/5

 

Author Bio:

DSC_3665_lowres (2)Emma Pullar is a writer of dark fiction and children’s books. Her picture book, Curly from Shirley, went to number four on the national bestseller list and was named best opening lines by NZ Post. You can read her SJV Award shortlisted horror story, London’s Crawling, in the Dark Minds charity collection and her dystopian sci-fi story, Old Trees Don’t Bend, in The Anthropocene Chronicles. Emma has also written three shortlisted stories for Create50 which are awaiting the winner announcement. Her debut novel SKELETAL published by Bloodhound Books is due for release 27th October 2017.

Links:

Twitter: @EmmaStoryteller

FB Page: Emma Pullar Storyteller

Instagram: @emmapullar_storyteller

Website:http://www.emmapullar.com/

BLOG BLITZ (1)

Follow Me:    Twitter    Instagram    Facebook    Goodreads