Death Among The Diamonds (A Cressida Fawcett Mystery 1) by Fliss Chester @bookouture @SocialWhirlGirl #CozyMystery #BooksOnTour

Title: Death Among The Diamonds (A Cressida Fawcett Mystery 1) by Fliss Chester

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 21st September 2022

Genre: Historical Mystery

Description:

Everyone in 1920s London knows the Honourable Cressida Fawcett: fiercely independent (though never apart from her little pug Ruby), lover of martinis and interior designer extraordinaire. She’s solved many crimes of fashion… so how about murder?

Cressida Fawcett is heading to the English countryside for a weekend of cocktails and partying at her friend’s glamorous mansion, the location of a recent diamond heist. But just hours after her arrival, Cressida is woken by an almighty scream. Rushing to the landing, she looks down into the great hall to find a trembling maid standing next to the body of Harry, the friendly young chandelier cleaner.

Everyone believes Harry’s death was an accident. But as Cressida examines the opulent hall and the beautiful grounds, she thinks something darker is afoot. Why clean a chandelier in the early hours of the morning? And who overheard Harry boasting about coming into unexpected wealth? A small piece of torn silk found near the body has Cressida looking at the guests’ elegant clothes with fresh eyes…

The short-tempered Detective insists that she keeps her curious nose out of the investigation, but it’s Cressida who realises the stolen diamonds were hidden in the sparkling chandelier. Convinced there is a connection between the theft and the murder, the case takes a sinister turn when a guest is killed in his sleep after a brandy-fuelled night of cards. With everyone unable to leave, can Cressida’s sharp eye for detail catch the killer before another life is taken?

An absolutely gripping and utterly charming 1920s murder mystery packed with wit, glamour and intrigue. The perfect whodunnit for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Downton Abbey!

You can buy your copy here (including the audiobook):

Amazon: https://geni.us/B0B5LNRLRYsocial

Audio Links:

UK: zpr.io/5TH6WL7X6AsX

US: zpr.io/CHm3wmGbN8AW

Listen to a sample here:

Review:

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with an ARC copy of Death Among Diamonds. All opinions are my own.

This is the first in the Cressida Fawcett historical mysteries set back in the 1920s. I always love a mystery set around the interwar era, so I was excited to see what this book had to offer.

Cressida is a thoroughly modern woman, for the times. She doesn’t want to be tied down to a husband, much to her mother’s annoyance, and would rather spend her time out socialising or zipping around in her car. 

When she’s invited by her best friend Dotty, invites her to her family’s mansion to meet her fiance, she finds herself mixed up in a murder investigation. With her nosy nature and determination, she wants to get to the bottom of it, even the protests from her friend and the detective in charge. 

What a fun first outing Death Among The Diamonds was! There was plenty of murder, mayhem, and peril for Cressida along the way.

I loved Cressida as a character. Bold, headstrong, with an eye for interior design and snooping out clues. It was so entertaining to watch her get herself in and out of scrapes. 

I felt that it could have done with being a little shorter. It dragged a little for me in the middle, but of course that’s just my opinion. 

An enjoyable start to the series. I wonder what predicament Cressida will get herself into next!

About The Author:

Fliss Chester lives in Surrey with her husband and writes historical cozy crime. When she is not killing people off in her 1940s whodunnits, she helps her husband, who is a wine merchant, run their business. Never far from a decent glass of something, Fliss also loves cooking (and writing up her favourite recipes on her blog), enjoying the beautiful Surrey and West Sussex countryside and having a good natter.

https://www.instagram.com/flisschester/

Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Fliss Chester here: https://www.bookouture.com/fliss-chester

Author: Ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

2 thoughts on “Death Among The Diamonds (A Cressida Fawcett Mystery 1) by Fliss Chester @bookouture @SocialWhirlGirl #CozyMystery #BooksOnTour”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: