The Night Thief (Jackman and Evans 8) by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks #BlogTour #BookReview 

Title: The Night Thief by Joy Ellis 

Publisher: Joffe Books 

Date Published: 18th November 2021

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

FROM #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR JOY ELLIS, A TOTALLY ABSORBING CRIME THRILLER FULL OF STUNNING TWISTS AND TURNS. YOU WON’T BE ABLE TO PUT IT DOWN.

Discover the author who’s sold over two million books globally.

When everyone is sleeping, he comes into their houses.

He takes one thing. A photo of their child.

A thief on a power trip or something even darker and more sinister?

Detectives Jackman and Evans find themselves on the hunt for a highly unusual burglar who seemingly only steals photographs. But then, late one night, an elderly woman falls to her death after seeing someone in her home.

Did she really fall, or was she murdered?

And just how many mysterious intruders are there on the Fens?

With the body count rising, Jackman and Evans have their work cut out for them to track down the night thief — before it’s too late.

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will keep you turning the pages until the shocking ending.

WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT JOY ELLIS:

“Another breathtaking thriller from Joy.” Carole

“Great read from start to finish.” Nerys

“Just a wonderful enjoyable read.” Nicki

“A hugely compelling police procedural, with twists and turns that raise tension and suspense.” Paromjit

“All the twists and turns kept me reading.” Viv

“Another great book from Ms Ellis.” Barbara

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVES

DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues.

JACKMAN & EVANS

Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON

Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS

Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND

Book 4: THE GUILTY ONES

Book 5: THE STOLEN BOYS

Book 6: THE PATIENT MAN

Book 7: THEY DISAPPEARED

Book 8: THE NIGHT THIEF

 Review:

I want to thank Jill Burkinshaw for inviting me on the blog tour and Joffe Books for providing me with a copy of The Night Thief in exchange for an honest review.

The Night Thief is the eighth installment in the Jackman and Evans series, but it can easily be read as a standalone. 

A man is prowling the Fens, breaking into sleeping women’s houses and stealing pictures. At first they think he’s just a nuisance, but the bodies soon pile up and it’s up to Jackman, Marie and their team to find him before he strikes again. 

The Night Thief is a police procedural, a little on the lighter side than the usual gritty type, with plenty of clues and red herrings along the way to keep you guessing.

I love the relationship between the two main detectives, Jackman and Marie, that keeps me coming back to this series. There’s nothing romantic, but their friendship and support of each is just so sweet to read.

The first half of the book was a little slow burn for me, but the story really gets going in the second half to make up for it. It also felt like there were a lot more characters to keep track of in this book, especially new police officers, making it harder for me to remember who was who.

If you enjoy a more gentle mystery with likeable detectives and a cast of quirky characters, then I highly recommend The Night Thief! 

About The Author:

UK #1 BEST SELLER WITH THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS, DARKNESS ON THE FENS, THE FOURTH FRIEND, BEWARE THE PAST, FIRE ON THE FENS, AND THE GUILTY ONES

OVER 2 MILLION BOOKS SOLD!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprentice florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, a highly decorated retired police officer, and our four barking mad Springer spaniels. If I do get any spare time, which is rare these days, my one relaxation is painting, especially using soft pastels. We have been here for twenty years now and although I’ll never be a true ‘Yeller Belly’, a native born to this county, I have adopted it as my own. I love the mists, the big skies and the endless waterways. All my books are set here on the Fens, and why not? The location is perfect for murder!”

Author: Ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

One thought on “The Night Thief (Jackman and Evans 8) by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks #BlogTour #BookReview ”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: