Murder In The Belltower by Helena Dixon @bookouture @NellDixon #BooksOnTour #CozyMystery

Title: Murder In The Belltower by Helena Dixon

Date Published: 1st February 2021

Publisher: Bookouture

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

Kitty Underhay’s hymn book is open… at murder.

Winter, 1933. Kitty Underhay is enjoying a restorative break from sleuthing on a visit to her family at Enderley Hall. The only thing marring her peace – aside from the uncomfortable sensation she has of being watched – is the obvious history between her beau, ex-army captain Matthew Bryant and another guest, the beautiful Juliet Vanderstafen. So, when the parish clerk is found dead on her front doorstep, Kitty leaps at the chance of distraction.

The police are happy to conclude that Miss Plenderleith met her unfortunate end on a patch of ice, but Kitty isn’t convinced this was a case of bad weather and worse luck. And when the Reverend Crabtree fails to show for tea the next day, she heads to the church to speak to him. But she arrives to find the clergyman hanging from the bell rope, dead.

With Matt seemingly wrapped up with his alluring Austrian, Kitty must solve the case on her own. But as she snoops into parish affairs, she makes some less-than-saintly discoveries. Just who has broken the sixth commandment? Meanwhile the killer is preparing a churchyard grave for Kitty, and she’ll have to use all her wits to avoid falling in…

An addictive, absorbing and completely unputdownable Golden Age cozy murder mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B08LKT7HSRCover

Review: 

I want to thank Bookouture for providing me with a copy of Murder In The Bell Tower in exchange for an honest review.

It’s so fun to be back with Kitty and Matthew! I absolutely love this series and I can’t believe we’re already on book five! It can be read as a standalone but I would recommend at least reading the previous book in the series, Murder On The Dance Floor first as there’s a little of the storyline that runs over.

It’s Christmas and Kitty has decided to spend it with her cousin Lucy and the rest of her family at Enderley hall, along with of course Captain Matthew Bryant as they are now officially ‘walking out together’. She’s hoping for a nice relaxing but unfortunately for her things don’t quite go to plan as Juliet Vanderstafen, a mysterious woman from Matthew’s past, is also a guest at Enderley hall. Things get worse, Miss Plenderleith, the local Parish clerk is found dead and Kitty gets herself wrapped up in the mystery.

Murder In The Belltower is such an additive read, I always get caught up in the story, feeling like I’ve actually been taken back in time to the 1930s.

What I always love about these stories is the attention to detail that Helena Dixon always puts into them. From the fashions, to the language, to the Christmas traditions and even there’s even a mention of tensions within Europe with a bit of foreshadowing for the Second World War.

I will say it took a bit longer than I remember from the previous books for someone to actually show up dead but I didn’t mind too much as I loved watching Matthew and Kitty navigating their new relationship whilst being surrounded by the tension in the air of Enderley hall.

Murder In The Belltower is a great addition to this wonderful series and I for one can’t wait for more!

About The Author:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same man for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s