The Woman Inside by Anna-Lou Weatherley @Bookouture @annaloulondon #BooksOnTour #BookReview

Title: The Woman Inside by Anna-Lou Weatherley

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 13th January 2021

Genre: Police Procedural/Psychological thriller

Description:

Daisey Garrett wakes up in a hospital bed. She remembers her boyfriend has left her for another woman but she doesn’t remember what happened to her. The night she was attacked in her own home.

Daisey shouldn’t be alive but against all odds, she’s survived an ordeal most would never recover from. And her new friend and roommate Iris will help her get back on her feet.

But Daisey’s mind is broken. She’s on edge, drinking too much and as she sits across from her cheating ex, Luke, in the beautiful home they once shared together, she can’t shake the feeling that she is being watched.

Yet tiny fragments of Daisey’s memory are starting to come back to her.

The missing pieces of that fateful summer night are beginning to surface…

The lies she told the police.

The lies Luke told her.

Iris will help her find the truth, won’t she?

A tense, twisty, addictive page-turner,The Woman Inside takes you within the tangled mess of people’s lives and the dark secrets they hold close. Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Before I Go to Sleep and The Wife Between Us.

You can buy your copy here:

Amazon: https://geni.us/B08M9YFVSZCover

Apple: http://ow.ly/Yhj850C8LWB

Kobo: http://ow.ly/pJOo50C8LQ4

Google: http://ow.ly/CKaS50C8LZz

Review:

I received a copy of this book from Bookouture, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

So this is actually the fourth in the Detective Dan Riley series, a fact I wasn’t aware of until after I’d finished reading. I’ve not read any of the other books in the series but it didn’t spoil anything for me, in fact I’m even thinking of going back and putting other books on my tbr pile now I’ve finished this one.

The Woman Inside is a great blend of psychological thriller and police procedural that created a very intriguing read.

The story switches between Daisey and Dan Riley. Daisey survives an attack after a night out, an attack she shouldn’t have survived but has no memory of it. Dan is tasked to investigate the crime, but with no leads he and his team are having a hard time cracking it.

Dan is a fairly likeable character, trusting his gut instincts and not always following protocol.  I had mixed feelings over Daisey. On one hand, I found her likeable but there were occasions where I got a bit annoyed with her, specifically when it came to her cheating ex Luke, and I just wanted her to stand up for herself.

The grand reveal of the killer and motive fell into the ‘bit out there’ category for me, but it didn’t spoil my overall enjoyment of the book.

The Woman Inside is a solid mystery with well-drawn characters and a good deal of suspense. 

About the Author:

Anna-Lou began her career as a dancer but a moped accident in Ibiza put paid to those aspirations and so she went back to her first and one true love – writing! She re-trained as a journalist, specialising mainly in women’s interest and celebrity, becoming the Editor of J-17 and Smash Hits as well as writing for a host of women’s magazines.

Anna-Lou has written three Adult Fiction titles – Vengeful Wives and Wicked Wives, both published by Avon in the UK and Bookouture in the US and Canada and Pleasure Island published by Bookouture.

To find out more about Anna’s novels, go to https://www.facebook.com/annalouweatherleyauthor/ or follow https://twitter.com/annaloulondon on Twitter.

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

2 thoughts on “The Woman Inside by Anna-Lou Weatherley @Bookouture @annaloulondon #BooksOnTour #BookReview”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s