#BlogTour #Review Death Remembered by K.E. Coburn @rararesources @KeCoburn #CozyMystery

Title: Death Remembered (A Sleuthing Club Mystery: Book 1) by K.E. Coburn

Date Published: 16th July 2020

Genre: Cozy Mystery

Description:

Summer 1952. 

The sun is shining, the birds are singing, but Charity Nicholls is bored of her quiet life in a tiny English village where nothing ever happens. Other than her nagging, marriage-obsessed mother, all she has to fill the time are her dreams of becoming a writer, and the Sleuthing Club – the mystery-reading book club she attends every week. 

But everything changes the day her father receives a poison pen letter. 

With the help of the Sleuthing Club, particularly handsome Henry Taylor, Charity is determined to find the culprit. But when people start dying and the police arrive, led by the infuriating Inspector James Lawrence, her little village becomes a hotbed of crime. 

Can Charity find the murderer before anyone else dies?

Perfect for fans of Helena Dixon and T E Kinsey.

Purchase Links

UK –https://amzn.to/2LnXba7  

US – https://www.amazon.com/Death-Remembered-Sleuthing-Club-Mystery-ebook/dp/B088FR2J99/

Review:

I want to thank Rachel at Rachel’s Random Resources for inviting me on this tour and K.E Coburn for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

When Charity Nicholls’ vicar father receives a poison pen letter, accusing him of stealing, she thinks it’s her chance to get her teeth into a real mystery.  Unfortunately, her only experience of investigation is through reading mysteries. When the first murder comes along, she quickly finds out investigating crimes aren’t as simple as they seem in books… 

Death Remember is a gentle historical mystery, with plenty of red herrings, an idyllic setting and memorable characters. 

I loved the character of Charity. She’s clever, if a little stubborn, and wants more than anything to become a writer and move away from Harrington Without. Thing is she’s also a little naive, having been coddled most of her life by her parents, especially when it comes to a certain handsome Henry Taylor.

There’s also some great reference to classic mysteries, from the golden age of crime fiction, like Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Dorothy L Sayers and those are just the ones I can remember!

It does take a little longer than usual to get into the murder aspect, focusing on the poison pen letters, getting to know the characters and the village but this is the first in the series so I expected a bit of build up before getting into the nitty gritty of the case. 

Death Remembered is a great start to the series and I will definitely be on the lookout for more from this author!

About The Author: 

K E Coburn lives by the seaside in Kent, England, and spends her time plotting murders and mayhem for her imaginary friends in the Sleuthing Club!

As well as having a master’s degree in history, she’s a huge fan of everything vintage, especially the 1950s, and loves researching this interesting period. Nothing makes her happier than looking at old photographs, drinking old-fashioned cocktails, and doing as little work as possible. 

Her debut novel Death Remembered: A Sleuthing Club Mystery (Book 1) will be published in July 2020.

If you fancy keeping up to date with her murderous plots you can find her on Twitter at @KeCoburn or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo 

or at her website: www.kecoburn.com and on Facebook at: https://bit.ly/2SYgQSo 

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s