#BlogTour Long Shadows by Derek Thompson @DerekWriteLines @JoffeBooks

Title: Long Shadows by Derek Thompson

Date Published: 1st June 2020

Publisher: Joffe Books

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

A SECRET THAT WON’T STAY BURIED. A KILLER WHO CAN’T FORGET.

Detective Craig Wild couldn’t cut it in London. He swaps the Met for Mayberry, a sleepy Wiltshire backwater where ambition goes to die.

Then Wild is faced with the most baffling case of his career.

THIS IS HIS SECOND CHANCE

Eccentric farmer Alexander Porter is shot dead in his own field. Everyone assumes it was suicide. But Wild knows there’s more to it than that.

Determined to uncover the truth, he teams up with plucky PC Marnie Olsen. They set off on a twisting trail.

The first suspect is Nathan Porter, Alexander’s tearaway son. Wherever Nathan goes, trouble follows.

THEN SOMEONE ELSE DIES

Wild and Marnie must delve into the darkest corners of the family’s history if they are to uncover the truth.

Can they unmask the killer before Wild’s own chequered past catches up to him?

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Robert Bryndza, L.J. Ross, Angela Marsons, Peter May or Alex Gray.

Review:

I want to thank Jill Burkinshaw for inviting me on this tour and Joffe Books for providing me with a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.

Long Shadows is the first in a new detective series by Derek Thompson, having read his spy thrillers before I was excited to see how he would take on a police procedural.

Long Shadows is a solid, well plotted mystery and a really good start to this series.

Craig is an interesting character. Forced out of London he moves to the countryside, where he’s finding it hard to fit in with the close knit community. He’s desperate to prove his worth but still carries scars from his previous case. I also liked Marnie Olsen, an ambitious PC. They make a great team and I feel there’s a bit of a spark between them which I enjoyed.

I did feel that the side story concerning Criag’s past distracted me slightly from the main story.  I thought it could have done with a bit more expanding upon or maybe even its own book altogether but of course that’s just my opinion. 

Long Shadows is a smart and compelling mystery and a definite must if you enjoy a British set police procedural. I’m looking forward to reading more from DS Craig Wild.

About The Author:

Derek Thompson grew up in London and started writing fiction in his teens. After spending a year in the US, he returned to London and subsequently moved to the West Country. He wrote a commissioned piece for The Guardian in 2008 and entered the world of freelance writing in 2009. His short fiction has featured in both British and American anthologies, and can be found online. He has also written comedy material for live performance and radio.

His love of film noir and thrillers began with The Big Sleep, and has never left him. Much of his fiction involves death, loss or secrets. As the saying goes: write about what you know. He writes about Thomas Bladen and his role in the Surveillance Support Unit.

BOOKS BY DEREK THOMPSON 

THOMAS BLADEN SERIES

STANDPOINT

LINE OF SIGHT

CAUSE & EFFECT

SHADOW STATE

FLASHPOINT

SPY CHASER (BOOKS 1-3 BOX SET)

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

One thought on “#BlogTour Long Shadows by Derek Thompson @DerekWriteLines @JoffeBooks”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s