#BlogTour #BookReview The Toybox by Charly Cox @CharlylynnCox @BOTBSPublicity @HeraBooks

Title: The Toybox by Charly Cox

Publisher: Hera Books

Date Published: 3rd June

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

You don’t want to play their games…

All around Albuquerque, New Mexico, young women are going missing, seemingly vanished into thin air. With no link between the victims, Detective Alyssa Wyatt is quickly plunged into a horrifying case with no obvious clues.

And when Jersey Andrews, the best friend of Alyssa’s teenage daughter, Holly, joins the list of vanished girls, the case becomes personal.

But this investigation will lead Alyssa and partner Cord into the most sinister depths of humanity; an evil place where life is expendable, and where the depraved can fulfil their darkest desires – if they have the money to pay for it.

As the first bodies appear, abandoned on the streets, Alyssa is forced into a frantic hunt to track down the killers – before more innocent women lose their lives. But when the truth comes out, it seems that the key to solving the case was hiding in the last place anyone expected…

A dark, tension-filled and absolutely nail-biting crime thriller with a twist – this one will have you reading until the small hours. Fans of Robert Bryndza, Melinda Leigh and Lisa Regan will not want to miss this addictive read.

Review:

I want to thank Sarah Hardy at Books On The Bright Side Publicity for inviting me on this tour and Hera books for providing me with a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review.

I absolutely adored Charly Cox’s debut All His Pretty Girls so I was so happy to see that the second in the Alyssa Wyatt series was coming out.

While it can be read as a standalone, I’d still recommend reading the first in the series, not just because it’s so good but because they refer to events in the previous book in this one.

The Toybox is everything I want in a police procedural, fast paced, fantastic characters and an intriguing story line with that added bonus of having an emotional impact on me. 

It starts off with a woman’s worst nightmare. College student Rachel Otis has been drugged somewhere only to wake up in another unfamiliar place, captive with no way of escape. Lucky for her Alyssa Wyatt is on the case.

Alyssa is still suffering from her last case but it’s her partner Cord who really struggles during this investigation with something from his past. I loved getting to know him a little better and seeing part of his back story.

There are some really remarkable characters in this book, some that I liked and rooted for, others that I just loathed.

This novel does cover some upsetting subjects, kidnap and sex slavery are just two, but I think the author handled them with care and gives enough detail without going too far. I will admit I felt a little bit teary eyed watching some of the characters and what they went through.

I will admit I kind of figured out a certain part of the storyline but I had fun playing detective myself.

The Toybox is a dark and gritty thriller that kept me utterly gripped throughout.

About The Author:

Born in the South, raised in the Midwest, Charly now resides in the Southwest in the Land of Enchantment where she enjoys eating copious amounts of green chile and other spicy foods. When she’s not reading, writing, or plotting sinister evils with her antagonists, she enjoys doing jigsaw and crossword puzzles, hanging out with her husband and her spoiled Siberian Husky, visiting her son in Arizona, and traveling, preferably to places surrounded by sun, sand, and warm uncrowded beaches.

Twitter

https://www.facebook.com/charlycoxauthor/

https://www.clcox-author.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/19490745.Charly_Cox

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour #BookReview The Toybox by Charly Cox @CharlylynnCox @BOTBSPublicity @HeraBooks”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s