#BookReview No Simple Death by Valerie Keogh @ValerieKeogh1 @Bloodhoundbook

Title: No Simple Death by Valerie Keogh

Date Published: 4th December 2019

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Description:

How can you find someone who doesn’t want to be found?

When Detective Garda Sergeant Mike West is called to investigate a murder in a Dublin graveyard, suspicion immediately falls on a local woman, Edel Johnson, whose husband disappeared some months before. But then she disappears.

Evidence leads West to a small village in Cornwall, but when he checks in to an Inn, he finds Edel has arrived before him. Her explanation seems to make sense but as West begins to think his suspicions of her are unfounded, she disappears again.

Is she guilty? West, fighting an unsuitable attraction, doesn’t want to believe it. But the case against her is growing. Back in Dublin, his team uncover evidence of blackmail and illegal drugs involving Edel’s missing husband. When another man is murdered, she, once again, comes under suspicion.

Finally, the case is untangled, but is it the outcome West really wants?

No Simple Death is a murder mystery with a touch of romance, set in the Dublin suburbs. It will appeal to fans of authors such as Peter James, LJ Ross and Ruth Rendall.

**** This book was previously published under the title That One May Smile ****

Review:

I want to thank Valerie Keogh for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

No Simple Death is the first in the Garda Mike West series and a very intriguing start it was!

Edel Johnson finds a body in the cemetery behind her house, three months after her husband Simon disappeared. Detective Mike West is called out to the scene to investigate. 

Then Edel goes missing.  

Where has she gone? Is she guilty of murder? Why do they find evidence pointing to a small village in Cornwall?

No Simple Death is a mix of police procedural, psychological thriller and a hint of romance. 

It’s told mostly from Mike and Edel’s points of view giving the story that extra depth. Both characters were strong, with their own unique voices so you’d never get the two confused!

Another thing I liked about it was the fact it was set in Ireland. I was wracking my brains before writing this review and I can honestly say I haven’t read a police procedural set in Ireland and it was nice to see how their police structure differed from the UK and the US.

The writing is quite vivid and realistic, which personally I don’t mind, but there were a few scenes that were a little gruesome, so just a little warning there.

Also I felt, to me anyway, the story lost a bit of steam around the middle before building to a great ending, I just think it could have maybe been a little shorter. 

No Simple Death is a complex story full of twists and turns and memorable characters that is a must for mystery/thriller fans!

About The Author:

Valerie Keogh grew up reading Agatha Christie so when she started writing it seemedBetter photo natural to write crime novels.

She writes a gritty series based in the UK featuring Nicola Connolly, a serial killer. The Hudson and Connolly series: DEADLY SLEEP, TWISTED POWER, BITTER BUSINESS, and WICKED SECRET.

Valerie has also written a stand-alone psychological thriller, Exit Five from Charing Cross.

In March 2018, Valerie signed a two book contract with the publisher, Bookouture. The first of these, Secrets Between Us, was published in Nov 2018 and the second, The Housewife, in Feb 2019.

In June 2019, Valerie signed a three book contract with Bloodhound books. The first psychological thriller is due out in Feb 2020 and the second in June 2020. Bloodhound are also publishing Valerie’s Irish Crime series, the first of which is due on Dec 4th.

Like Valerie Keogh’s facebook page: facebook.com/valeriekeoghnovels

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s