#BookReview Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon @NellDixon @bookouture #BooksOnTour

Title: Murder At The Dolphin Hotel by Helena Dixon

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 11th December 2019

Genre: Cosy Mystery

Description:

A room with a view… to murder

June 1933. Independent young Kitty Underhay has been left in charge of her family’s hotel, The Dolphin, on the tranquil English coast. She’s expecting her days at the bustling resort to be filled with comfortable chatter with chambermaids as they polish the mahogany desk and glittering candelabras of the elegant foyer. Everything must be perfect for the arrival of a glamourous jazz singer from Chicago and a masked ball that will be the cultural highlight of the season.

But when several rooms are broken into and searched, including Kitty’s own, she quickly realises that something out of the ordinary is afoot at the hotel. Soon rumours are flying in the cozy town that someone is on the hunt for a stolen ruby. A ruby that Kitty’s mother may well have possessed when she herself went missing during the Great War. And when the break-ins are followed by a series of attacks and murders, including of the town’s former mayoress, it seems the perpetrator will stop at nothing to find it.

Aided by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant, the Dolphin’s new security officer, Kitty is determined to decipher this mystery and preserve not only the reputation of her hotel, but also the lives of her guests. Is there a cold-blooded killer under her own roof? And what connects the missing jewel to the mystery from Kitty’s own past?

A classic page-turning murder mystery! Fans of Agatha Christie, Elizabeth Edmondson and T.E. Kinsey will love this unputdownable whodunnit.

You can buy your copy here: https://geni.us/B07XLM3SM6Social

Murder-at-the-Dolphin-Hotel-Blog-Tour-Poster

Review:

I want to thank Noelle Holten at Bookouture for inviting me on this blog tour and providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I have to say I do love a historical novel set in the interwar years, the 1930’s have long held a fascination for me. I always gravitate towards this type of novel, especially when they’re in my favourite mystery/thriller genre!

Murder At The Dolphin Hotel is a cosy historical whodunnit which is a subtle nod to classic crime fiction while still seeming fresh and new. 

Our main characters, Kitty and Matthew were likeable and realistic. Matthew is a first world war veteran who is still suffering from the aftermath of the war and the loss of someone close to him. Kitty on the other hand has her own issues, her mother vanished when she was just a child and she’s never known her father. They come together nicely, with a hint of romance there but it’s not over done.

Now usually find with this type of novel, there’s one, maybe two murders but my goodness there was so much murder and mayhem (not graphic though so if that’s not your thing you don’t need to worry) which I found thoroughly enjoyable. 

I did feel the ending was a little drawn out, I felt I was kept waiting a little too long for the killer reveal but of course that’s just my opinion.

Murder At The Dolphin Hotel is a little gem of a cosy novel and I can’t wait to read more adventures featuring Kitty and Matthew!

About The Author:

Nell Dixon was born and continues to live in the Black Country. Married to the same manDSC_7063 copy for over thirty-five years she has three daughters, a cactus called Spike, a crazy cockapoo and a tank of tropical fish. She is allergic to adhesives, apples, tinsel and housework. Her addictions of choice are coffee and reality TV. She was winner of The Romance Prize in 2007 with her book Marrying Max, and winner of Love Story of the Year 2010 with her book, Animal Instincts. She also writes historical 1930’s set cozy crime as Helena Dixon.

Author Social Media Links:

Website: http://www.nelldixon.com

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/nell.dixon

Twitter:      https://twitter.com/NellDixon

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s