#BlogTour #Review Life or Death by Chris Merritt @bookouture @DrCJMerritt

Title: Life or Death by Chris Merritt

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 23rd January 2019

Genre: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Description:

Never forget. Never forgive.

As a detective in the Metropolitan police, Zac is no stranger to murder cases, but this one is different. This is his daughter’s murder.

Years after Amelia died, Zac is still trying to trace the police office involved in his daughter’s death.

And whilst Zac is prepared to break every rule to find the man responsible, his young and ambitious deputy, Kat, is working on a high profile case of her own. But she knows Zac is keeping secrets from his team so she’s following his every move.

When one of Zac’s informants is killed, he knows he’s close to catching his man, but before he can act, he receives a call about his son which blows his world apart… And this time, he knows he’ll stop at nothing to save his family.

A gripping and addictive crime thriller for fans of Lee Child, Mark Billingham and Mark Dawson, Life or Death is an unputdownable thriller that will have you reading into the night.

You Can Buy Your Copy Here:

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07JPGLHQLsocial

iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/y7vqjoa6

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/y8floql8

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/yawpggg8

life-or-death---blog-tour

Review:

Many thanks to Noelle Holten for inviting me on this tour and Bookouture for my copy of this book.

This is the third in the DI Zac Boateng series, while it could be read as a standalone, I would highly recommend reading at least the previous book, Last Witness (you can read my review here) as certain aspects of the story line overlap.

This is another tense and emotionally gripping read, the perfect addition to this action packed series!

I do wonder if Chris Merritt enjoys torturing poor Zac! He lost his daughter Amelia in a gangland shooting, now his eleven year son Kofi is in danger. Add to that he’s hunting the ruthless Kaiser. the person he feels is responsible for his daughters death. He’s facing pressure from his boss, bending the rules and trying to keep it together for his wife. How much can one character take???

There was a little political angle in there too, with the introduction of the MP for policing Susana Pym, who’s ambitious and a little underhanded. I think she’d appeal to those people who are fans of BBC drama Bodyguard.

Truth be told, my attention did wander a little in the middle of the book but was brought back with a really explosive and action packed ending.

I’d recommend Life or Death to anyone who enjoys fast paced police procedurals with a gripping storyline.

Author Bio:

Chris Merritt is a Clinical Psychologist and former diplomat based in London, who has beenChris Merritt author photo writing on psychology since 2010. In 2014 he decided to combine his Bring Her Back, his debut novel. He currently works on a mental health research project at King’s College London, and part-time as a psychologist in the NHS. When not working or writing, he loves climbing and basketball, and dreams of one day being able to work from home enough to own a whippet.

Author Social Media Links:

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DrCJMerritt

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/17558172.Chris_Merritt

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

4 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review Life or Death by Chris Merritt @bookouture @DrCJMerritt”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s