#BlogTour #Review The Silent Dead by Graham Smith @bookouture @GrahamSmith1972 #TheSilentDead

Title: The Silent Dead by Graham Smith

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 30th November 2018

Genre: Police Procedural

Description:

He’d found an angel for his collection. But one angel at a time was never enough…

Detective Beth Young has just joined the Cumbrian major crimes team when a body is found posed in a ritualistic manner – arms spread and graceful wings attached – at a crumbling castle in the hills of the Lake District.

The entire police force are on red alert. But Beth begins to feel she’s the only one who can follow the disturbing clues left by the twisted killer. Because she doesn’t think like everyone else. To Beth, crimes are puzzles she can solve. Even if real life is a little harder.

As more bodies are discovered in derelict stately homes across the Lake District, she knows she’s in a race against time.

But the killer is looking for another victim to add to his collection… Will Beth be able to save her? Or will he get there first?

A tenacious young detective with scars both physical and emotional, Beth Young will stop at nothing in her fight for justice for the innocent. The Silent Dead is the first book in the series. Set in the Lake District, it is perfect for fans of Joy Ellis, LJ Ross, and Peter James.


You Can Buy Your Copy Here:

Amazon: http://geni.us/B07H2DG957social

iBookstore: https://tinyurl.com/ydhftyxx

Kobo: https://tinyurl.com/y75k5vng

Googleplay: https://tinyurl.com/ybchbhzl

Review:

CONTAINS VIOLENT AND GRAPHIC SCENES.

DC Beth Young has just been transferred to the prestigious FMIT unit, clever and ambitious she especially wants to impress her boss DI Zoe O’Dowd and prove that’s she meant to be there.

A body turns up at a manor house with a pair of wings attached killed in a way that even the experienced officers have never seen before.

More bodies turn up and it’s a race against time to unravel the mystery before the brutal killer claims another victim.

So this is actually my first Graham Smith novel, he’s been on my radar for a while, I even own a couple of his earlier novels that I’ve yet to read (yes, I know I have a problem!). I have also been told that this is first novel featuring a female lead character which I felt was a nice bonus!

This is a solid police procedural with plenty of red herrings, realistic characters and brutal murder. The murders themselves were unusual too, having victims with wings attached to the their backs was definitely a new one for me!

Beth is a forthright and intelligent character. A former model who ended up getting glassed in the face when she was younger but instead of that setting her back, she forged ahead to the career that she really wanted to become a police officer. She also has a problem with her mouth not being quite as quick as her brain, with a tendency to spit out words in no particular order, which happens to me occasionally!

While we get inside the characters head, Beth’s especially, her introspection tended to get a little rambly and threatened to lose my attention. Also and this is just me being picky I didn’t really appreciate the slightly lazy Liverpudlian stereotype of one or the minor characters,.i.e. we’re all troublemakers who put the word like after every sentence.

Overall The Silent Dead is a puzzling yet gruesome mystery with an interesting cast of characters that will keep you guessing until the end.

Blog-Tour-Graphic-The-Silent-Dead

Author Bio:

Graham Smith is the bestselling author of four explosive crime thrillers in the Jake Boulder series, Watching the Bodies, The Kindred Killers, Past Echoes and Die Cold. Watching theGraham Smith Author Pic (1) Bodies spent over two weeks at number one in the Amazon UK chart and Amazon CA charts. Graham is also the author of the popular DI Harry Evans series and has collections of short stories and novellas. His latest novel – The Silent Dead is published by Bookouture and set in Cumbria / the Lake District, featuring DC Beth Young.

He is the proud father of a young son. As a time served joiner he has built bridges, houses, dug drains and slated roofs to make ends meet. Since 2000 he has been manager of a busy hotel and wedding venue near Gretna Green, Scotland.

An avid fan of crime fiction since being given one of Enid Blyton’s Famous Five books at the age of eight, he has also been a regular reviewer for the well-respected review site Crimesquad.com since 2010.

When not working, his time is spent reading, writing and playing games with his son. He enjoys socialising and spending time with friends and family.

Author Social Media Links:

FACEBOOK: https://www.facebook.com/grahamnsmithauthor/

TWITTER: https://twitter.com/GrahamSmith1972

WEBSITE: https://grahamsmithauthor.com/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5446655.Graham_Smith?from_search=true

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s