#BlogTour #Review Keep You Safe by Rona Halsall @bookouture

Title: Keep You Safe by Rona Halsall

Publisher: Bookouture

Date Published: 17th August 2018

Genre: Psychological Thriller

Description:

What if trying to protect your child only put them in danger?

Natalie is desperate to find her little boy. It has been more than three years since she saw Harry. Three long years in prison for a crime she knows she didn’t commit.

But her husband believed the police, and took their son.

Who has gone to such great lengths to destroy Natalie’s life? Everyone she once trusted – friends, family, all the people close to her – what secrets do they hide?

If Natalie finds the truth, will she get Harry back, or lose him forever?

A totally gripping psychological thriller – perfect for fans of Big Little LiesThe Girl on the Train and C.L. Taylor.

Review:

Natalie hasn’t seen her son since he was a baby. She got sent to prison for embezzling money from one of her clients, only this is, she doesn’t remember doing it. In fact she doesn’t remember doing a lot of things in the month before it happened. Nobody believes her and she spends three long years in prison. Prison changes Natalie, especially when she meets a charismatic prisoner called Katya which she doesn’t realise until it’s too late that she puts her son’s life at risk…

So, Keep You Safe is Rona Halsall debut novel, set for the majority of novel in the Isle of Man with a little cameo for The Wirral (which is the other side of the River Mersey from me in Liverpool). We go backwards and forwards in time, between now when Natalie is trying to save her son and her time spent in prison.

Natalie’s paranoia and worry for her son came across so well, that it had me looking over my shoulder! Once or twice I went to check on my son to which he told me to stop acting weird.

I really felt sorry for Natalie, she was a new mum, struggling to cope when she’s arrested. Her family, including her mum and her husband turn her back on her, with access to her son denied she feels so alone. I really liked the fact that instead of prison breaking her, Natalie comes out stronger, although a lot more paranoid than she used to be.

There is so much more to the story but for fear of spoilers I’m not going to write any more, although I have to be honest I did see the twist coming but I enjoyed watching the characters work it out for themselves.

Overall a fast paced, well written debut and I’m looking forward to reading more from Rona Halsall.

Rating: 4/5

You can follow the rest of the blog tour here:

Keep You Safe - Blog Tour

Author Bio:

Rona’s debut psychological thriller, Keep You Safe is out on 17th August and her second novelrona_halsall-095 copy will be out in November 2018.

Rona lives on the Isle of Man with her husband, two dogs and three guinea pigs. She has been a bookworm since she was a child and now she’s actually creating stories of her own, which still feels like a dream come true.

She is an outdoorsy person and loves stomping up a mountain, walking the coastal paths and exploring the wonderful beaches on the Island while she’s plotting how to kill off her next victim. She also makes sure she deletes her Google history on a regular basis, because… well, you can’t be too careful when you spend your life researching new and ingenious ways for people to die.

She has three children and two step-children who are now grown up and leading varied and interesting lives, which provides plenty of ideas for new stories!

Social Media Links:

To find out more about Rona’s novels, go to www.facebook.com/RonaHalsallAuthor or follow @RonaHalsallAuth on Twitter.

 

Advertisements

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s