#BlogTour #Review The Guilty Ones by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all #policeprocedural #crimefiction

Title: The Guilty Ones by Joy Ellis

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 9th March 2018

Genre: Mystery/Thriller, Police Procedural

Description:

From #1 best-selling author Joy Ellis, a mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

The most difficult case of Detective Jackman’s life. Who are the guilty ones and is anyone really innocent?

Jackman’s sister-in-law Sarah disappears to London and throws herself into the river. What drove her to this? She was a woman with a seemingly happy home life and two beloved sons.

DI Jackman and DI Evans dig into Sarah’s life. And Jackman realises he knew almost nothing about his sister-in-law’s past.

Then, they discover a woman in a neighbouring village died in similar circumstances.

What is the connection to a convicted murderer whose family are convinced he is innocent? Who is really pulling the strings?

DI Jackman and DS Evans of the Fenland police face a battle against their most dangerous and deadly adversary. And in a case so close to home can Jackman keep his feelings under control?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime mystery that will keep you turning the pages until the thrilling ending. Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens, whose isolated villages hide many dark secrets.

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter, or Ruth Rendell.

THE DETECTIVES
DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues.

ALSO BY JOY ELLIS

THE NIKKI GALENA SERIES

Book 1: CRIME ON THE FENS

Book 2: SHADOW OVER THE FENS

Book 3: HUNTED ON THE FENS

Book 4: KILLER ON THE FENS

Book 5: STALKER ON THE FENS

Book 6: CAPTIVE ON THE FENS

Book 7: BURIED ON THE FENS

Book 8: THIEVES ON THE FENS
JACKMAN & EVANS

Book 1: THE MURDERER’S SON

Book 2: THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS

Book 3: THE FOURTH FRIEND

Book 4: THE GUILTY ONES

BLOG TOUR BANNER - The Guilty Ones

Review:

The story starts with DI Rowan Jackman being thrown into an emotional turmoil with the apparent suicide of his sister-in-law Sarah, leaving his older brother and two nephews heart broken.

Not convinced of suicide he begins to dig deeper and he realises that he knows nothing of his sister-in-laws past. Meanwhile DS Marie Evans is tasked with handling the suspicious death of a tramp who looks to have taken his own life too.

Not believing in coincidences, they believe the two cases are linked but how?

So this is the fourth in the Jackman and Evans series and the first I’ve read but it can easily be read as a stand-alone without feeling like you’ve missed anything.

Another clever and absorbing read from Joy Ellis! From page one it had me intrigued, keeping me on tenterhooks throughout.

You see quite an emotional journey for most of the characters, especially Jackman, who is constantly worrying for his family and has the extra pressure of possibly being taken off the case.

I want to commend Joy on the fact she shows how much of a strain working on high pressure suicide/murder cases can be, especially for your mental well being, a fact I feel is sometimes glossed over. It was also the first novel that I’ve read that actually liked a psychologist, in most of the books I’ve read they are treated with disdain and to be ignored.

My standout character in the book is Evans, she’s clever, intuitive and rides a motorbike, nicknamed Harvey, like a badass.

Although at times I did feel the storyline was a little unbelievable, overall I found it immensely engaging.

Rating: 4/5

Author Bio: Joy Ellis

UK #1 Best Seller with THEIR LOST DAUGHTERS and THE FOURTH FRIEND

700,000 books sold and rising!

“I was born in Kent but spent most of my working life in London and Surrey. I was an apprenticeJoy+and+the+boys+039+jpg florist to Constance Spry Ltd, a prestigious Mayfair shop that throughout the sixties and seventies teemed with both royalty and ‘real’ celebrities. What an eye-opener for a working-class kid from the Garden of England! I swore then, probably whilst I was scrubbing the floor or making the tea, that I would have a shop of my own one day. It took until the early eighties, but I did it. Sadly the recession wiped us out, and I embarked on a series of weird and wonderful jobs; the last one being a bookshop manager. Surrounded by books all day, getting to order whatever you liked, and being paid for it! Oh bliss!

And now I live in a village in the Lincolnshire Fens with my partner, Jacqueline, and our two second generation Springer spaniels. I had been writing mysteries for years but never had the time to take it seriously. Now I can, and as my partner is a highly decorated retired police officer; my choice of genre was suddenly clear. I have set my crime thrillers here in the misty fens because I sincerely love the remoteness and airy beauty of the marshlands. This area is steeped in superstitions and lends itself so well to murder!”

Author: Ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

2 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review The Guilty Ones by Joy Ellis @JoffeBooks @Books_n_all #policeprocedural #crimefiction”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: