#BookReview #BlogTour Killer Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks #Thriller #Mystery

Title: Killer Lies by Chris Collett

Publisher: Joffe Books

Date Published: 15th January 2018

Genre: Mystery/thriller. Police Procedural.

Description:

Do you love gripping police procedurals with great characters?

Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.

‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Just when DI Tom Mariner seems to be settling down with his new girlfriend . . . everything kicks off.

First, a badly decomposed body of a young woman is found in a Birmingham sewer. The police can’t identify her and dub her “Madeleine.”

Then an important politician and his wife are shot on an isolated road.

And finally, a bomb explosion in the busy city kills 5 people, causing chaos and panic.

Can Detective Mariner and his team get to the bottom of crimes that will come very close to home for his team.
Mariner will need to bend the rules and risk everything to get to the truth. And in a thrilling conclusion, his own life will be at risk.

Discover an absorbing crime mystery full of stunning twists and turns.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the third book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “WRITTEN IN BLOOD.”

BLOG TOUR BANNER - Killer Lies

Review:

So this is the third of the DI Tom Mariner series and the second I’ve read but it could easily be read as a stand alone without you missing very much.

The story starts with a farmer finding MP Sir Geoffrey Ryland, his wife and his driver shot to death in a secluded spot, a message; Vengence is mine, daubed in blood on the window of the car. Elsewhere, Mariner set to deliver a speech at the annual Christmas carol service when the world around him explodes, literally.

Suffering from the aftermath of the explosion, Mariner is trying to concentrate on a case involving a young woman found in a sewer but a phone call from an old colleague turns his fragile world upside down and he becomes obsessed with Geoffrey Ryland’s case.

Another fantastic book from Chris Collett, that starts with a heck of a bang!

Mariner is still a bit of a headstrong loner, who refuses to let anyone into his inner world, not even his partner Anna, torturing himself over things he can’t control. I still like him even though he frustrates me so much! I kept thinking just talk to someone, tell them what’s going on, but of course he never does! Also he and Anna are considering having children, I’d love to see him as a dad!

There’s also a huge revelation about Mariner in the book, but I’m not going to spoil it for you, you’ll just have to read it and see.

There’s lots of conspiracy theories, about dodgy policemen and drug dealers even the government gets accused of covering up Geoffrey Ryland’s murder. It was so cleverly plotted I genuinely had no idea who the killer was until it was revealed.

My attention did waver a little in the middle, but it quickly pulled me back in and built to a tension packed, satisfying ending.

Overall an explosive read that will keep you guessing until the end.

Rating: 4/5

Author Bio:

Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating inChris Collett - author pic Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.

The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.

Author Links:
Website: www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk

Twitter: @crime_crow

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

Advertisements

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

One thought on “#BookReview #BlogTour Killer Lies by Chris Collett @crime_crow @JoffeBooks #Thriller #Mystery”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s