#Review I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Title: I Found You by Lisa Jewell

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Date Published: 14th July 2016


A young bride, a lonely single mother, and an amnesiac man of dubious origin lie at the heart of New York Times bestselling author Lisa Jewell’s next suspenseful drama that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Paula Hawkins.

In a windswept British seaside town, single mum Alice Lake finds a man sitting on the beach outside her house. He has no name, no jacket, and no idea how he got there. Against her better judgement, she invites him inside.

Meanwhile, in a suburb of London, twenty-one-year-old Lily Monrose has only been married for three weeks. When her new husband fails to come home from work one night she is left stranded in a new country where she knows no one. Then the police tell her that her husband never existed.

Twenty-three years earlier, Gray and Kirsty are teenagers on a summer holiday with their parents. Their annual trip to the quaint seaside town is passing by uneventfully, until an enigmatic young man starts paying extra attention to Kirsty. Something about him makes Gray uncomfortable—and it’s not just that he’s playing the role of protective older brother.

Two decades of secrets, a missing husband, and a man with no memory are at the heart of this brilliant new novel, filled with the “beautiful writing, believable characters, pacey narrative, and dark secrets” (London Daily Mail) that make Lisa Jewell so beloved by audiences on both sides of the Atlantic.


Alice finds a man on the beach. He doesn’t know who or where he is. Lily has just moved from the Ukraine after marrying her husband Carl but he fails to come home from work one day so she sets out to find him. How is this all linked to something that happened in 1993?

Another one of my birthday books read, finally! I’ve been wanting to read this book for ages after seeing pretty much everywhere for months but just haven’t found the time until recently that is.

Before this book I’d never heard of this author before and I was quite shocked to find she’d written several books before this one.

I have to be honest when I saw the cover, coupled with the brief synopsis on the back (nowhere near as lengthy as the one I found on Goodreads above), I was expecting a dark psychological thriller but I was pleasantly surprised that it turned out to be a bit more mystery. Who is this man that Alice’s daughter christens Frank? Where did he come from and why is he there on the beach underneath Alice’s cottage.

It’s written from several viewpoints, Alice, Frank, Lily and teenager Gray back in 1993. I loved the way the writer cleverly alternated the short chapters in different viewpoints which really kept me turning page after page.

I loved the character of Alice, she a little flaky and kind hearted but also very lonely. She has made lots of mistakes and is definitely not perfect. I loved seeing her and Frank’s relationship grow as the story goes along. Lily on the other hand is a little less likeable. She very brusque and seems to have led a very charmed life with a perfect husband and a perfect flat. But she is still a very interesting and tenacious character who in a strange country, far away from friends and family, refuses to give up on her husband even when the police have sort written him off.

I don’t want to say much more, if you are one of the few people who haven’t read this yet but this book has really stuck in my mind (for good reasons of course). It is definitely one of the top books I’ve read this year.

Rating: 5/5

Author Bio:

Lisa Jewell was born in 1968 in London, brought up in Totteridge, in the North of the city, and for ten years she had varying jobs, including in fashion retail, until after a redundancy she became a secretary.

Soon Jewell began attending a part time creative writing course, but not with the intention of becoming a writer, but instead for something to do in the evening. Her writing became more serious after a friend told her that she would take her for dinner if she would write the first three chapters of a novel. Ralph’s Party was the result, and she has gone on to write several more bestselling novels including the follow up to Ralph’s Party – After the party.

Follow Me:   Twitter     Instagram     Facebook     Goodreads


Author: on the shelf reviews

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s