#BlogTour #Review The Other Mother by @thewriterjude @Bloodhoundbook

Title: The Other Mother By J.A. Baker

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

Genre: Mystery/Thriller

Book Description:

Three troubled women. One deadly secret.

Lissy and her daughter, Rosie, live a quiet life in Yorkshire, however when events at Rosie’s school come to light, their peaceful existence is shattered.

Meanwhile, middle-aged women Erica and Beverley appear to have perfect lives but behind closed doors things are not as they seem.

All three women are tied together by a dark past that goes back to their school days. A child was murdered and one of the women is to blame.

But is the person responsible for the child’s death the same person who was blamed for it all those years ago?

As secrets from their past begin to surface it becomes clear that someone has revenge in their sights…

BLOG BLITZ (1) (1)

Review:

I’m so happy to be kicking off the Blog Tour for The Other Mother and I’d like to thank Bloodhound books for the advanced copy of this book and Sarah Hardy for organising the tour.

This book is told from the points of view of three very different women, Lissy, Beverley and Erica. Lissy is hiding from her past. Beverly is suffering from terrible guilt. Erica is angry at the state of her life. They are all tied together by incidents in their past.

This is the second book I’ve read by this author (you can read the review for the first, Her Dark Retreat, here) and I can safely say I’m becoming a massive fan of her books.

At first I was a little worried I wouldn’t enjoy this as much as Her Dark Retreat, I found the first few chapters a little confusing and frankly the storyline a little bit slow but I stuck with it and boy did it have me turning page after page by the end. The tension really built up, and goodness me the twists as you got nearer to the end were fantastic!

It’s really difficult for me to review these types of book as I don’t want to say too much and spoil your enjoyment of this wonderful book. I will say this; I found Beverly’s story the most interesting and compelling, watching her slowly lose control as the story progresses.

I feel that this is really a story all about loss, neglect and loneliness coupled with strong female lead characters would really appeal to fans of B.A Paris or Gillian Flynn.

Rating: 4/5

 

Author Bio:

Born in Middlesbrough too many years ago to mention, J. A. Baker developed a deep dmiimlbpigiilldgappreciation of literature and reading from a young age after being introduced to it by her parents. Weekly visits to the library were the norm and after being handed a collection of Edgar Allen Poe stories by her father, her love for the darker side of fiction slowly grew. She is an avid reader of all books but is drawn in particular, to psychological thrillers.

After many rejections (too many to mention!) her debut novel, Undercurrent, was published by Bloodhound Books in March 2017 and made it into the top 100 Amazon chart in both the UK and Canada. She is currently putting the finishing touches to her third novel and working on her fourth one.

J. A. Baker has four grown up children and lives in a village on the outskirts of Darlington with her husband Richard, and Theo, their barking mad dog.

 

Links:

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/thewriterjude/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/thewriterjude

My website – http://www.jabakerauthor.co.uk/

Amazon – https://www.amazon.co.uk/J.A.-Baker/e/B06XSNWB4T/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1505332991&sr=8-1

Follow Me:    Twitter    Instagram    Facebook     Goodreads

Advertisements

Author: ljwrites85

Aspiring author. Mother. General procrastinator. Book Nerd.

One thought on “#BlogTour #Review The Other Mother by @thewriterjude @Bloodhoundbook”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s